We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Olde School House

Certificate of Excellence
17 North Lane, Seahouses NE68 7UQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Olde School House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a wonderful time we had at The Olde School House. It's a lovely old Northumberland stone building that has been beautifully restored. Our room was bright, modern, and warm (we stayed in January) with a sparkling clean bathroom. Our hosts couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Chatting over breakfast made us feel more like family friends than hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank John R
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were shown to our rooms ( as I booked 2). We went to have dinner. Upon returning, we were approached in the street and accused of trying to steal a room. I reminded the man that he showed us to our rooms. I then produced my booking receipts for the 2 rooms. When we entered the building we found... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trish B
TheFarnes, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review

We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I am sorry for the mix up with the rooms. This was my error. We have to maintain our rooms so close for 3 weeks early December to decorate. It is the only time of the year we can do this. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were driving home from the highlands back down to Yorkshire and this B&B was around 2/3rds of the down. We arrived late around 7pmish and were greeted with a warm welcome. The room was stunning and relaxing. Short walk into Seahouses for an evening meal and provisions after over 8 hours of driving. The breakfast was gorgeous and our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire F
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. Many thanks. More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Myself and partner/family have stayed here several times now and always have a wonderful break. Joan is always very accommodating and cooks a great breakfast! The rooms are comfortable and clean and in a great location, would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
TheFarnes, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review

Thank you Ellie. It's always a pleasure looking after you and your family. e are so pleased you enjoyed your stay again. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

We booked this b&b for a two night's stay over the New Year period, we were not disappointed a very warm welcome from Joan and her family, room was spacious and clean on ground floor, breakfast was plentiful you could mix and match to your requirements and tastes, very well run b&b establishment, A short 15 minute walk into centre.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DEB M
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope you had a good New Year and hopefully we might see you in 2016!! More 

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We booked The Olde School House as we were going to a wedding nearby. We were given a ground floor room as we have a new baby and received a very warm welcome. The proprietors were so kind and helpful throughout our experience from booking to departure. Our room was lovely and we will definitely return. Bed was very comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank kimberleys476
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish you all the best for 2016. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

Excellent room. Breakfast second to none. Will definitely return. Joan Is a lovely person who couldn't do enough for you. Short walk to all amenities. Nearly all shops open as usual. Even the dog enjoyed her stay

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

Proprietor was very helpful when we booked and we had excellent service during our 2 night visit.Our upstairs room was spacious and comfortable.It is a little way out of the village but we walked it in about 15 minutes.Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank David P
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the old school house for 4 nights Monday to Friday. We are 3 contractors working in Bamburgh. Guest house was spot on very clean .owners great.Breakfasts on a morning were great with plenty of choice . Definitely worth a visit if wanting to explore the Northumberland coast.

Helpful?
Thank Philip C
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

Stayed here when doing some diving. Very comfortable room (Room 5), neat and clean.The bathroom has good facilities and a hot, powerful shower. Good, varied choice of breakfast served up with tea and coffee. Small amount of off road parking available Very good stay and would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Jonjoc
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
5.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#20 of 25 in Seahouses
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Megstone House
Megstone House
#4 of 25 in Seahouses
5.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#