We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Redesdale Arms

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
A68 | Rochester, Otterburn NE19 1TA, England
Offers & Announcements
BEST RATES, BOOK DIRECT!
The Redesdale Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #2 of 4 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Gemma H Colchester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    113
    51
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
104
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A very pleasant place to stay. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and well kitted out with tea and coffee, water, hairdryer etc. Free wi-fi throughout which worked consistently. Lots of choice for breakfast and well cooked. Staff were friendly and helpful. The temperature of the water in the bathroom was a little up and down, alternating between very hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Admittedly we did not book well in advance but telephoned and arrived a couple of hours later. Although we viewed Room 9 before accepting it,( as the window was closed and we did not check the view), we did not realise there was quite loud noise coming from kitchen extractors etc outside. We checked with the staff and were told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Greeneyes, I’m sorry you found your stay at the Redesdale Arms to be so disappointing. I agree the view at the back of the hotel isn’t the best, but I believe you were offered a room at the front which has stunning views, but the traffic may have been a problem? I was in the lounge socialising with visiting... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We did arrive at the Redesdale Arms without a reservation but we were eventually shown to a table. This happened to be in the porch area of the bar which wasn't ideal but I suppose we were grateful as we didn't book in advance and didn't really have any alternative. I ordered the chicken and ribs platter which came out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Vicky-C I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal. It sounds as though we were really busy (it’s that time of year), which explains why you were offered a table in the bar, the alternative would have been to say we were full. All customers are valued so I don’t know why you would say “unwanted by staff”.... More 

Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for just one night, but will definitely stay there again. The staff were extremely friendly the room was very comfy and breakfast perfect. We ate there in the evening and again everything was perfect, even making room for 3 courses. The wine was served at room temperature, good coffee altogether a perfect meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Lesley M, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Redesdale Arms. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay, were made to feel welcome and enjoyed your food. We look seeing you again. Kind regards Carrol More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as a base for a nearby wedding. Accommodation is as you would expect from a pub with rooms everything you need provided in a clean environment. Yes you could nit pick but where this place came into its own was the excellent service and the brilliant homemade food - Dinner and breakfast fantastic! Disabled facilities could be 'tweaked'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Jill L, Thank you for your kind review of the Redesdale Arms. I’m delighted you enjoyed your food and the service, you comments are much appreciated. Just so you know for future reference, we do have a disabled facilities room, unfortunately it was already occupied when you were here– but I’m glad you got to grips with the chair... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights last week. Lovely place, with good sized room. Very clean and looked like it had recently been refurbished. The food and service was excellent and very reasonable. The staff could not have been more helpful. Really lovely area with lots to do. I'd definitely recommend this charming place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Julie M, Thank you for your lovely review of the Redesdale Arms. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Northumberland. Kind regards Carrol More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights here in order to visit Kielder Forest experience the 'dark skies'. The owner and her staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the pub well situated for visiting the national park. Our room was quite basic but had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. As other reviewers have said, the food was excellent both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Caroly17, Many thanks for your kind review of the Redesdale Arms. I’m glad to hear you found our rooms to be comfortable and clean, and that you enjoyed your food. Thank you for your recommendation, much appreciated. We hope to see you again. Regards Carrol More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came across this lovely pub restaraunt while staying in Otterburn , after entering the pub , we were greeted by 2 friendly staff , and decided to order for the menu, I had the hodgepodge pie , and my friend had the fish pie, both meals were superb, the hodgepodge pie was exceptional ,and I can honestly say it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Shaun S, Thank you for your lovely review of the Redesdale Arms – I’m delighted you enjoyed you meal and our hospitality. It’s great to know you will come and stay next time you are in he area. We look forward to seeing you then! Many thanks Regards Carrol More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped on road to our b n b accommodation to see if the dining room was still open at approx 15.00 on Friday 3 rd July and yes it was! We were ready for a bite to eat by then! The hostess was great when it came to gluten free products and she was award of cross contamination donation with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Nan 1960, Thank you for your kind review of the Redesdale Arms, we’re delighted you enjoyed your food, and we were able to offer you gluten free options. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks Carrol & Mark More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just travelling past on way to Dundee. Decided to stop for a break, then decided to stop for the night. Fully expected it to be like "The Slaughtered Lamb", but no, it wasn't. Staff were very helpful and amenable. Room was clean and bright. Pretty much a pub with rooms, but somehow so much more than that. Food good, well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Threep53, Thank you for taking the time to review the Redesdale Arms. We are a pub with rooms, but your acknowledgment that we are more than that, is greatly appreciated. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again. Regards Carrol & Mark More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.0 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay