We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Redesdale Arms

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
A68 | Rochester, Otterburn NE19 1TA, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Redesdale Arms
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    115
    52
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
105
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped off here last Monday en-route to Scotland for some lunch, a pleasant and welcoming lady greeted and seated us, the menu was substantial and from this we choose burgers, quiche and chips and fish fingers for the little one, the food was fantastic, all home-made and well presented, I would recommend this place to anyone and the quiche... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Sam7723, Thank you for your kind review of the Redesdale Arms. I’m delighted you enjoyed your meal (especially the homemade quiche), and were made to feel welcome. Thank you also for your recommendation. Regards Carrol More 

york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here last Sunday night and had another very enjoyable evening. The pub was buzzing when we arrived with lots of local diners and holiday travellers enjoying the excellent home cooked fare on the Sunday menu - including various Sunday roasts and a plethora of home made puddings like fruit crumbles, sticky toffee pudding, cheesecakes and a wonderful lemon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear millyYork, Thank you for another lovely review of the Redesdale Arms. We look forward to seeing you soon. Regards Carrol & Mark More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a meal here with my husband and can honestly say it was fantastic value for money and my steak was cooked to perfection. The starters were enormous and really delicious.The service was very efficient and friendly and the restaurant was very clean and tastefully decorated, This place does not pretend to be something it is not. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Linda C, Thank you for taking the time to review the Redesdale Arms. It’s great to know you enjoyed your meal and found us to be value for money. We also appreciate your recommendation! Kind regards Carrol More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very pleasant place to stay. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and well kitted out with tea and coffee, water, hairdryer etc. Free wi-fi throughout which worked consistently. Lots of choice for breakfast and well cooked. Staff were friendly and helpful. The temperature of the water in the bathroom was a little up and down, alternating between very hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Gemm H, Thank you for your kind review of the Redesdale Arms, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed Northumberland. Regards Carrol More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Admittedly we did not book well in advance but telephoned and arrived a couple of hours later. Although we viewed Room 9 before accepting it,( as the window was closed and we did not check the view), we did not realise there was quite loud noise coming from kitchen extractors etc outside. We checked with the staff and were told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Greeneyes, I’m sorry you found your stay at the Redesdale Arms to be so disappointing. I agree the view at the back of the hotel isn’t the best, but I believe you were offered a room at the front which has stunning views, but the traffic may have been a problem? I was in the lounge socialising with visiting... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

We did arrive at the Redesdale Arms without a reservation but we were eventually shown to a table. This happened to be in the porch area of the bar which wasn't ideal but I suppose we were grateful as we didn't book in advance and didn't really have any alternative. I ordered the chicken and ribs platter which came out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Vicky-C I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal. It sounds as though we were really busy (it’s that time of year), which explains why you were offered a table in the bar, the alternative would have been to say we were full. All customers are valued so I don’t know why you would say “unwanted by staff”.... More 

Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We stayed for just one night, but will definitely stay there again. The staff were extremely friendly the room was very comfy and breakfast perfect. We ate there in the evening and again everything was perfect, even making room for 3 courses. The wine was served at room temperature, good coffee altogether a perfect meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Lesley M, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Redesdale Arms. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay, were made to feel welcome and enjoyed your food. We look seeing you again. Kind regards Carrol More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Stayed here as a base for a nearby wedding. Accommodation is as you would expect from a pub with rooms everything you need provided in a clean environment. Yes you could nit pick but where this place came into its own was the excellent service and the brilliant homemade food - Dinner and breakfast fantastic! Disabled facilities could be 'tweaked'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Jill L, Thank you for your kind review of the Redesdale Arms. I’m delighted you enjoyed your food and the service, you comments are much appreciated. Just so you know for future reference, we do have a disabled facilities room, unfortunately it was already occupied when you were here– but I’m glad you got to grips with the chair... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights last week. Lovely place, with good sized room. Very clean and looked like it had recently been refurbished. The food and service was excellent and very reasonable. The staff could not have been more helpful. Really lovely area with lots to do. I'd definitely recommend this charming place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Julie M, Thank you for your lovely review of the Redesdale Arms. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Northumberland. Kind regards Carrol More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We spent 2 nights here in order to visit Kielder Forest experience the 'dark skies'. The owner and her staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the pub well situated for visiting the national park. Our room was quite basic but had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. As other reviewers have said, the food was excellent both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedesdaleArms, Owner at The Redesdale Arms, responded to this review

Dear Caroly17, Many thanks for your kind review of the Redesdale Arms. I’m glad to hear you found our rooms to be comfortable and clean, and that you enjoyed your food. Thank you for your recommendation, much appreciated. We hope to see you again. Regards Carrol More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
0.0 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay