We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Longhorsley hotels

Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Hotel amenities
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Judith H Sunderland, United Kingdom
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    224
    163
    72
    51
See reviews for
138
429
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (863)
  • Mar-May only
    (204)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (226)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (256)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (177)
All months
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel service is excellent, Food is excellent, staff are polite, friendly and very attentive. would recommend the hot sones full body massage in the spa. Location is a good central point in Northumberland.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMLinden, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Judith H Thank you for your fantastic review, It’s good to hear you enjoyed your break with us and I must agree the location of Linden Hall is fantastic for visiting the North East coast and surrounding areas. It is also great to hear all staff you encountered during your stay were friendly, polite and attentive. Our hot stones... More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Amazing place, amazing in every way can't say anything else about it!!!! Every member of staff we came into contact with were the best. Spa was great, pool and facilities were first class Will be back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMLinden, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear 399eh Thank you for your 5 star review, It’s always nice to read guests speaking so highly of our staff at Macdonald Linden Hall. It is fantastic to hear comments like (amazing in every way) I will certainly pass on your comments to the team. It’s great to hear you will be back. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Broke our journey at this fabulous location, staff and facilities were excellent, including spa facilities. Slight gripe that the Wifi seems to require signing up with Sky which wasn't worth it. Breakfast was exceptionally good

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMLinden, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear JoDo92 Thank you for your glowing review, it’s a real pleasure to hear you found Macdonald Linden Hall to be a great stopping off place on your long journey. Our wifi is supplied by The Cloud and you are correct it does require sign up, however it is completely free once you have signed in. It’s fantastic to hear... More 

Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An overnight stay to celebrate two family birthdays on 11 & 12 December. Very few guests when we were there so we were surprised at the lack of attention from the staff - they simply weren't interested in the guests. Dinner in the Dobson restaurant was very disappointing - lack of variety and extremely poor for the vegetarians in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMLinden, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear chuckienewcastle Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the level of service you experienced during your visit. It does surprise me you found our staff to be uninterested as we usually receive very positive feedback towards our members of staff. Again feedback from the Dobson restaurant has been impeccable recently, I will certainly pass on your comments regarding the vegetarian... More 

edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed on the nights of the 5th and 6th Dec. The hotel itself is really nice and looks impressive when you drive up to it. The bedroom was spacious with a good sized bed which was very comfortable to sleep in. The bathroom has an over the bath shower which was a little cramped for us.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMLinden, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Peter1952 Thank you for your review, It certainly sounds as though on the whole you had a good experience and enjoyed your break with us at Linden Hall. It’s fantastic to hear you found the food to be vey good in The Dobson Restaurant. I will pass on your comments to our Restaurant Manager regarding the inconsistency of the... More 

Larbert
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Barr food service disappointing with wait of 45 plus minutes for a Club sandwich which was cold when served and had to be redone-but simply re-toasted. No attempt to compensate as I was charged in full despite my complaint.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMLinden, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear normanj698 Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the level of service you experienced during your visit. I can assure you this is not the usually very high standards we adhere to and a full investigation will be carried out by my General Manager. We do take all feedback seriously and use it to improve our standards for future guests... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently visited for a spa day for a friends birthday celebration. We arrived and were checked in by a rude, bored and unfriendly Irish girl; not exactly the welcome we expected. After she struggled to solve a mistake with our booking we were left to find our own way around the facilities, luckily a friendly young fitness girl named Jenna... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMLinden, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear carol d Thank you for your review. I must apologise sincerely for the frosty welcome you received I can assure you this is certainly not inline with our very high company core standards and I will certainly liaise direct with the spa management team to improve the welcome. It is great to hear Jenna saved the day with her... More 

UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful two nights stay for my husbands birthday. We arrived and were quickly checked in to our spacious pleasant and comfortable room with lovely views of the garden. The evening meal was excellent with lots to choose from, presentation was appealing and the wine enhanced the food. Next morning at breakfast my husband was wished "happy birthday"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMLinden, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear patsylandin Thank you for your review, It’s great to hear you enjoyed your two night break with us at Macdonald Linden Hall, and it certainly sounds as though your husband enjoyed his birthday. I am pleased to hear you found your room comfortable with lovely views of the gardens. It’s also fantastic to hear our guests say things like... More 

Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night recently and had a pleasant stay. The receptionist gave us a nice Northumbrian welcome and the room was modern and clean. That's all we can really say as we didn't eat in the restaurant or use the spa. We did have room service breakfast and again it was perfectly pleasant. A good efficient hotel but maybe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMLinden, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear RMcharlie Thank you for your review, It’s fantastic to hear you received a great Northumberland welcome from our front of house team. Next time you must treat yourself and make full use of our spa facilities as our spa is a great place to relax and unwind. We will certainly take on board your comments regarding the lack of... More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The stay was a complete surprise for my wife's 60th birthday and all the plans agreed with the staff worked. Food excellent. Room comfortable. Spa great. Staff friendly and courteous. We will come again !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMLinden, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear David D Thank you for your review, Its great to hear your wife’s 60th Birthday all went to plan and you found our food to be excellent as well as our staff to be friendly and courteous. It’s fantastic to hear you will return and we hope to see you again soon Yours Sincerely Guest Services Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay