We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Pot-a-Doodle-Do to your Saves list
Borewell Farm | Scremerston, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2RJ , England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (153)
  • Photos (70)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Pot-a-Doodle-Do
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    31
    9
    10
    5
See reviews for
65
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came on 25th August for 2 nights. When we arrived we went straight into the art and craft room as my daughter and niece wanted to make something to take home. It takes to days and we wouldn't have been able to do it f it had been next day. The things are excellent they made and cost 14... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here recently and was impressed by the wig wam, heater, lights, kettle and a fridge. Nice and cosy at night, and made for a relaxing stay. The location is perfect for exploring the local area, we tended to just use the campsite as a base for sleeping. Great walk from the campsite down to the beach! Was surprised at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very rude 'welcome' made us almost turn around and leave before we even got to see the accomodation. Didn't let the staff spoil our holiday and stayed well away from any of the on site facilities such as the cafe so as not to have to deal with any more confrontation. Take note of arrogant responses to feedback! Owner blames... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The site is in a great location, a 5-10 minute walk from the beach and only a short drive to the nearby attractions. The facilities are good, each wigwam has a bed, heater, fridge and kettle and there is a fully equipped kitchen, no need for a stove. The showers each have their own room like a bathroom at home... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second visit and we were very disappointed and left a day early! The wigwams themselves are fine, it's the cleanliness of the rest of the site that lets it down. The kitchen smells and the distractors don't work, the lighting is poor and bordering on dingy. The utensils & crockery were dirty, the cooker looked like it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Potadoodledo W, Owner at Pot-a-Doodle-Do, responded to this review

We do appreciate all feedback, whether good or bad. Based on your review we have added strip lights into the kitchen area and replaced one cooker with a brand new one. However, we feel that your comments on the cleanliness of the kitchen and shower area is very much a contradiction of previous reviews. You did have a lengthy conversation... More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this is our second visit to Pot a doodle do and it was just as good as the first time, even though the weather was awful it did not spoil our short break, There is so much to do around the area and the beaches are second to none, we walked along the coastline to Holy island and the children... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potadoodledo W, Owner at Pot-a-Doodle-Do, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and appreciated everything on site. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, hopefully with better weather next time! More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Glamping for first time for friends 50th excellent site,accommodation toilets shower facilities super location wonderful local swimming pool nearby minutes from Berwick upon Tweed Alnwick castle not too far. Suitable for singles couples and families. We were a very large party ( 15 children 3- 14 years) adults 22 adults 27-51 years this site fits all. Just so sad that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potadoodledo W, Owner at Pot-a-Doodle-Do, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As far as breakfasts are concerned, the menus with prices are in the wigwams for people to see so I would presume that your friends had looked at these and knew the cost before they came to the café. The café is optional to use... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A must see place for kids. Great food and service. We had a full English breakfast that had all we wanted to set us up for the day. They did chocolate pancakes so my son was impressed. Great play area too! Definitely worth a visit if your in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potadoodledo W, Owner at Pot-a-Doodle-Do, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Yes a Borewell Full English Breakfast can set you up for the day and we are glad that you found it great value for money. We try to source our ingredients locally as much as possible so that we are helping others businesses but also to ensure... More

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a couples nights here after a recommendation from my brother. Went away for 2 nights with the boyfriend, was very nice, really relaxing. Easy to get to as just off the A1 but far enough away so traffic noise didn't bother you. Wigwam was warm and cosy. Paid a pound for electric but only used 40p in the 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potadoodledo W, Owner at Pot-a-Doodle-Do, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to put a review on here. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I would agree with you that if you have any questions about the site and where the wigwams are situated then please ring us at the booking office and we will help. Look forward to seeing you again More

Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited for 2 nights with 2 adults and 3 kids, the whole experience was excellent, all the staff were friendly and helpful and gave us great local information like drive to beach instead of walking. The pod, toilets showers and communal kitchen were all clean and tidy as was the whole site. The pod was spacious and warm at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potadoodledo W, Owner at Pot-a-Doodle-Do, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do feel that there is enough space between the wigwams but not too much so that children can play together if they are coming as a group. The site is a very safe environment for children so they can play in the play park until dusk... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pot-a-Doodle-Do, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pot-a-Doodle-Do? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pot-a-Doodle-Do

Address: Borewell Farm | Scremerston, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2RJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Also Known As:
Pot-a-Doodle-Do Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staying in a purpose built wigwam is a fun, different and comfortable alternative to a traditional camping holiday. Situated on a working farm just two miles from Berwick upon Tweed our wigwam village is ideal for families and groups. There are many facilities on site as well as being accessible to some of the regions top tourist attractions. There is access to many wonderful walks from the wigwam village in some lovely countryside and beaches.We have 26 wooden wigwams, two of which have ensuite facilities, and we also have three canvas yurts. Onsite facilities include Shower and toilet block, fully equipped kitchen, bbq huts to hire,Licensed cafe Bistro, Licensed Country shop, Country and Coastal Walks,Interactive Art Centre,Fishing and Childrens Play Area. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
29

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pot-a-Doodle-Do staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer