We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   43 Hide Hill, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
68%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Althea B Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (75)
  • Photos (40)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
34
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had an excellent room on the second floor, very quiet in spite of looking out on the main street and staying over a weekend. Lovely wide beds and a huge room with an en-suite bathroom which actually included a bath. We didn't bother with breakfast, but enjoyed the lie-in instead. An excellent relaxing weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are thrilled to hear such lovely feedback of your stay with us, thank you very much. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with a comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing weekend break. We very much hope to see you again in the future and hopefully next time you... More

UK Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

On the positive side, both the hotel and the rooms were nice and clean, and there was a pleasant welcome when we arrived. The negatives however are quite serious, the main one being noise, if you are contemplating trying to sleep anytime before midnight. There is constant ventilation/pipework thrumming that goes on until about midnight and then when that stops... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your review of your recent stay at The Kings Arms Hotel. We're happy to hear we were able to provide you with a warm welcome upon arrival and found your room clean. We have reported to droning noise up on the second floor to our plumber who is investigating this with immediate attention, I... More

Stirling
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Never slept a wink. Room number 4 directly above the cocktail bar. Very loud music from 5pm till after 12am both nights we stayed. Very poor refurbishment. Bed was very uncomfertable and hard Loose taps. Blocked sink, warm water only. Threads from new carpet all around edges. Old windows not double glazed a lot of noise from outside. Room only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. We are sad to hear such a negative review regarding your recent stay with us, we're very sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. We sincerely apologies for the disturbance from the cocktail bar, the bar closes at 11pm every evening in which they are open and from 11pm onwards there should... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My finance and I stayed in the Superior room and couldn't find a negative. We ate both nights at limoncello which was lovely and drank in the cocktail bar...good prices and good service throughout! We would happily return again and again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your 5 stars and wonderful review. We're over the moon to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to stay with us again in the future - we look forward to welcoming you back very much. We will be sure to pass your kind words regarding the restaurant and bar... More

Bergen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A classic building on a nice spot in a beautiful historic city, but with rather poor service: rooms a bit shabby, no wifi in the rooms, expensive cooked breakfast, reception not very friendly: in relation to the room price insufficient value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay. We're sad to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us and are very disappointed you found your room shabby as we have only just completed a multimillion pound refurbishment on our building. We will certainly be looking into this and improving areas necessary immediately. We... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We my boyfriend and I stayed in August 24th and 30th, for one night each time, the only thing I can complain about is the screaming seagulls in the morning! A part from that, the rooms are great, very clean and tidy, and the service is fantastic! Great welcome at the reception, the girl at the reception "Alex" recognised us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests return to stay with us for a second time and we're thrilled to hear we gave you a comfortable and enjoyable stay on both occasions - except the noise from the seagulls which we know are an absolute nuisance! I... More

Cwm-twrch Uchaf, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The outside does not do it justice. First impressions, we would have driven past had it not been recommended. Welcome was nice and friendly. We stayed in room 17 and it was stunning. Although we were late checking in (6.45pm) the room rate was rather expensive (£136).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for leaving us your review. We apologise that you were a little of put by our exterior however am happy you were willing to look past that and come inside and give us a chance - we're more happy that you weren't disappointed upon entering the building. Thank you for your kind compliments in regards to... More

Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Certainly the outside and entrance are not good. Outside looks run down and no signage at front meant I was not sure if it was the right place! The entrance is a little dark and dingy and unwelcoming and parking is none existent. Despite these comments the room was good, clean and well presented and the staff very helpful. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks very much for leaving feedback from your recent stay with us. We are fully aware that the outside of our building does not do us much justice, this is something we are in the process of working on and we can only apologise that the work had not been carried out before your stay with us .... More

Alexandria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night en route to Newcastle. From the outside its a little shabby looking but once inside the décor was bright and modern. The hotel looks as though it has recently undergone a makeover, as everything seemed quite new. The room was quite nice, although some of the finishings were poor. The wall sockets were loose,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking time to leave us a review of your stay with us. Thank you also for bringing the issues in your room to our attention, we have raised these issues with our handyman to be repaired immediately, we can only apologise for any inconvenience caused. We're sorry to hear you were... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelling to Scotland on business unexpectedly late of Monday, I needed to find a hotel on route and came across the Kings Arms hotel, made the call and secured a room with ease. On arrival the outside does not fill you with confidence a grey old building with a small sign stating that Charles Dickens had stay at the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for leaving us such a positive review. We're thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with an enjoyable, memorable stay. To be compared to a 4star hotel is extremely flattering. I am very pleased to hear your enjoyed your meal at Limoncello as well... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 43 Hide Hill, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kings Arms

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Berwick upon Tweed with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
29

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kings Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer