We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Arms Hotel

43 Hide Hill, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kings Arms Hotel
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    46
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
12
62
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Would not normally review a hotel like this, but we have to give a warning to people considering this place. It is just terrible. There was indeed a welcoming woman greeting us as we arrived, and the rooms (a superior double and a family room) were very nice looking, but that's where the fun stops. If you're looking to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was booked to stay for 5 nights in this hotel during the last week. Initial impressions were good, I had a newly refurbished room. However, I'm afraid that is the end of the favourable part of this review. I have to echo the comments of a Previous reviewer. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever encountered. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stumbled on the Kings Arms by chance on a trip to Northumberland and glad we did. A gem. Firstly, we recieved a genuine warm welcome from a friendly efficient and helpful reception. The place is spotlessly clean, and perfectly situated to visit Berwick. We can only speak about a refurbished room, which was excellent in every way. Spacious ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
56 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The King's Arms is something of a paradox. It's a rather grand old hotel in the middle of town, where, according to the plaque, Charles Dickens did a reading. There is a bit of a Dickens theme running through the ground floor. Bedrooms are comfortable and can be reached via an elevator. The restaurant, however, doesn't reflect the theme, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Normally don't bother with reviews but in case of this 'hotel' thought I needed to. Stayed 4 nights in a so called superior room on business and tried to move after night 1 however all local hotels full. Incredibly noisy and ill fitting curtains means light floods in. Bed terrible and had to double over duvet so as not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay at our hotel. We recall you mentioning to us that your had an uncomfortable first night and we immediately offered to change you to an alternative room at the back of the building, unfortunately you chose not to take us... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

'My friends and I were looking for a nice hotel to meet up for our 50th birthday get together and the Kings Arms was an inexpensive, pleasant. clean exceptionally friendly establishment right in the centre of town. We were coming from North and South, so Berwick on Tweed was handy for both because of rail station. The room was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us recently and found your room clean and comfortable. It is also lovely to hear that our staff members made a difference to your stay, we like to look after all of our guests and ensure they are made... More 

Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't let the outside put you off.Rooms are a bit small ,but nice hotel and good service. Still work being done inside .The coffee shop when it opens will make a big difference. Rooms are clean and well presented

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to leave your short but sweet review. We understand that the facade of our building has not been most welcoming in the past but we are currently making some drastic improvements to make our entrance more welcoming, we're sorry this was not in place in time for your stay with us. We're pleased... More 

Newcastle
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night on an away day in Berwick. The hotel is newly refurbished (still some work on going at the time we were there). The reception area is very modern with some strange decorations. I didn't quite get the theme. Our room waqs small but clean and tidy. En suite bathroom spacious. We dined at Lemoncello the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We're very sorry to hear that you found our reception decor strange - normally we get a lot of compliments! Sorry it was not to your taste. We also apologise for the disturbance from the ground floor bar - had we have known of the disruption caused to... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was travelling with a colleague and were in town to work at an event. Having had our accommodation fallen through at short notice we need to find somewhere to stay on short notice. The staff at the Curfew had done all they could do to help us out but had drawn a blank. We left with a last couple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking time to leave us a review. We're thrilled to hear that our team were able to assist you in ensuring you had a comfortable night stay at our hotel after your other accommodation had fell through. We're also very grateful to the staff at Curfew for pointing you in our direction. We're very sorry... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Driving up to Edinburgh with a couple of stops on the way, my intention had been to press on after all I was only just over an hour away. Then I realised it was dark my eyes were drooping and a spooky fog was rolling in so I decided to stop at Berwick for the night and arrive fresh in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. We're pleased to decided to stop off in Berwick on your way up to Edinburgh and chose to stay at our hotel. We're thrilled to hear we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Its good to hear... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities