We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 43 Hide Hill, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kings Arms Hotel
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
37
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is massively let down by the attached bar and restaurant which are no where near the standard of the rest of the hotel. If you like a nice breakfast in the morning to start the day and a quiet drink in the evening then this probably isn't the hotel for you. I've previously went into more detail on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just stayed at this hotel for the second time in two months and found it to be first class. The recent renovations have been tastefully undertaken and rooms are stylish and very comfortable. The reception staff are very friendly and Alex and the team on both occasions offered to carry luggage from our car to our allocated room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is always amazing to hear that our guests return to stay with us time and time again, we hope to see a lot more of you both in the future. Thank you for your kind compliments in regards to our recent renovations, it is our aim to provide our... More

Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Usual issues, Parking - 1/2 mile down the street on the river bank. Lack of signage - Listed building problem, drove up and down the street twice driving past it both times. I don't think that there is much they can do about that. Breakfast - poor service, wasn't the best, pricey. Dinner - better service, distinctly average food. Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We have very recently had our sign erected and we can only apologise that it was not up in time for your stay with us resulting in a struggle to find us. Also I am very sorry to hear you found breakfast poor, we have addressed this to our breakfast staff and we... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Rang up and asked if I could possibly be put through to the restaurant to make a booking. Was abruptly told that the restaurant was a separate business and would have to go online & find their number. Secondly while there ,after lunch asked him to ring a taxi, was asked if I was a hotel resident, I said no,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, It is unfortunate that you weren't able to leave us a review of a genuine stay at our hotel however felt the need to take time out of your day to leave us a negative review. The member of staff who you spoke to advised you over the telephone that the number for the restaurant was available online... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Excellent Town Centre Boutique Hotel. As cost effective as National Chains, but with a much better quality offer. Have stayed here 3 times, and highly recommend this Hotel, which has been recently refurbished to a high standard. Negatives : No Coat hangers inside Bathrooms, which would need to take the Anti-theft Coat Hangers & other clothes. Kettles not cordless, otherwise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for you kind, encouraging and constructive review. It is always a pleasure to hear our guests are returning to stay with us time and time again and it is wonderful to hear we've been able to impress you on all 3 occasions. We look forward to welcoming you back for the fourth time. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We were almost put off staying here because of some of the negative reviews and comments about noise. In fact we had a really great time. Two of us had a superior double room which overlooked the street which was spacious and caught the late afternoon sunny weather in spades through the high Georgian windows. There was a bit of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and 5/5 rating. We are very happy to hear that you did not allow previous reviews put you off staying with us and during your stay we were able to prove any negative comments wrong. We're also happy to hear we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

My wife and i stayed here and found the hotel to be lovely and clean, the reception staff were excellent, helpful and very friendly. We stayed in room number 4 and the bathroom was huge and immaculate, the bedroom was also of a good size but at home we have a king sized bed and we found the bed a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your very kind review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We're also very happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly. We're are sorry to hear that you were unable to get... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

This Hotel has been opened far to early and is still needing a lot of work doing the front has been untouched the furnishings in the bedrooms are extremely poor for a first class establishment probably purchased from a house clearance auction room my room was situated directly next to the boiler room which awoke me with its continuous throb... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for leaving feedback of your stay with us, we're sad to see you have only given us one star. As we have explained in previous guest reviews, the outside of our building has not yet received any attention due to restrictions caused by our Grade II listing - we understand that it is very off putting to... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We had an excellent room on the second floor, very quiet in spite of looking out on the main street and staying over a weekend. Lovely wide beds and a huge room with an en-suite bathroom which actually included a bath. We didn't bother with breakfast, but enjoyed the lie-in instead. An excellent relaxing weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are thrilled to hear such lovely feedback of your stay with us, thank you very much. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with a comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing weekend break. We very much hope to see you again in the future and hopefully next time you... More

UK Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

On the positive side, both the hotel and the rooms were nice and clean, and there was a pleasant welcome when we arrived. The negatives however are quite serious, the main one being noise, if you are contemplating trying to sleep anytime before midnight. There is constant ventilation/pipework thrumming that goes on until about midnight and then when that stops... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your review of your recent stay at The Kings Arms Hotel. We're happy to hear we were able to provide you with a warm welcome upon arrival and found your room clean. We have reported to droning noise up on the second floor to our plumber who is investigating this with immediate attention, I... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 43 Hide Hill, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kings Arms

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay