We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 43 Hide Hill, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kings Arms Hotel
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
41
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Washington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a night at this refurbished hotel rooms clean ,spacious bathroom,Good location for sightseeing or like us visiting family on the other side of the border.Breakfast excellent friendly staff ,The restaurant in the hotel closed early on Sunday otherwise we would have eaten there. Well worth a visit.Possibly they hotel could have reserved spaces for guests parking ,Disc Parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aveley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here just for the night, I wanted to stay in the town centre so this was ideal for me and the restaurant I visited was just across the street. Check in was pretty simple which is what I want after a long drive. The room wasn't great, but the price reflected that I think. One point worth noting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We're pleased to hear the location of our hotel was ideal for the purpose of your stay. However, we are disappointed that you weren't that pleased with your room. It would of been good for you to elaborate on this so that we could see where we went wrong and allow... More 

Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights at end of November.. Receptionist very friendly and helpful, lovely warm welcome after a three hour drive....room gorgeous and bathroom very modern and cosy...staff all very pleasant... Great setting in town... Only downside was breakfast in restaurant waited ages even though we were only people there but it was lovely when we got it....two young boys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very kind review. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room comfortable, modern and cosy. Also we're very pleased to hear that our reception staff were able to provide you with a warm welcome. We apologise that you had a bit of a wait for your breakfast... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was a little put of by the reviews of what people were leaving, but we had a great time from start to finish, including the restraunt for evening meal and breakfast both were fantastic, room was good nothing to complain about its exactly what you need, don't be put off by the not so good reviews regarding fixtures and fittings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your lovely encouraging review. We're very happy to hear you did not allow previous not so good reviews put you off - we're sure you understand that we cannot please everybody all of the time. We so happy to hear you enjoyed you breakfast as this is something we've been trying very hard to... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked this overnight stay from Groupon and booked with the hotel without problem. Arrived to a friendly reception, nothing a problem, showed us where everything was that we needed. From the room to the food there was a friendly face, ample help regarding the surrounding area and amenities. The room was slightly small but beautifully decorated and immaculately clean....exactly what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are already arranging your next stay with us, hopefully this will be soon. Your kind comments about your experience at Limoncello restaurant have been passed on to them. We're very happy they were able to make a positive impact on... More 

Swindon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

like most of the other reveiws the hotel is quite nice staff seemed frendly enough it's a little sad has someone had spent a lot of money of fixers an fittings but the attention to detail and finishing has let it all down I do understand the bar is seperate to the hotel but we paid for breakfast with our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments in regard to your room, we will certainly look at ways we can improve our rooms over the coming weeks. We sincerely apologise for your very poor breakfast experience. This has been addressed with the breakfast staff immediately and the appropriate action has been taken, It is... More 

Swindon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took my grandparents here for a surprise as this was where they met working here some 58 years ago . We got them a superior room as we wanted the best experiance for them . They loved the room . Me and my partner had the standard room which was ok quite basic for a hotel room , they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us. It is lovely to learn of your grandparents return to the Kings Arms after 58 years and we sincerely apologise that it let down with a poor breakfast experience which the hotel take full responsibility for. Your feedback... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a two night stay at this hotel and before booking, as always, checked out Tripadvisor. After our stay I was puzzled that the reviews seemed so diverse. This hotel is ideally situated in the centre of town and there is free parking only a two minute walk away. Our room had obviously been recently refurbished and was spotlessly clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much taking time to leave feedback of your recent stay at Kings Arms hotel. We are very pleased that you didn't let any negative reviews put you off staying with us and you gave us a chance to prove them somewhat wrong. Thank you for your wonderful feedback in regards to your room, your right... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to have a two day stay in Berwick and as there was a deal we booked the Kings Arms. As usual read reviews before booking and there was a bit of a mix but trusted the good ones. Easy to find and there was free parking a couple of minutes away (don't understand the disc parking thing!). Nice staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very kind review. It is always a pleasure to hear such good feedback from our guests. We are very happy to hear you found our staff very friendly and helpful and your room clean and comfortable. We're very sorry for confusion with breakfast on your first morning, I am pleased that the lads we're... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A convenient clean and modern hotel in a windy and bleak town. Fairly classy hotel with nice rooms and big bathrooms with modern fittings and furnishings. Wifi only on first foot and not overly busy throughout the winter months. The hotel restaurant 'Limoncello' was bright and spacious but let down by 'difficult to read' blackboards with a limited choice of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review of your stay with us. We're very grateful for your kind feedback in regards to your stay with us, we are pleased we were able to ensure you received a clean and comfortable stay. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the restaurant and bar, we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 43 Hide Hill, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kings Arms

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Other (36)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay