We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   43 Hide Hill, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Colin B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (60)
  • Photos (40)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
27
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location wise, ideal - right in the centre of Berwick Outside could do with a facelift and more information. You would never know there was step free access unless you asked, which is poor. Inside all looked promising My husband's company booked the hotel for a work's stay. He stays at 100's of hotel rooms a year and I accompany... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. I would firstly like to point out that the hotel very clearly advertises both sole occupancy rates and double occupancy rates both directly through ourselves and all of our online bookings sites. It is very rare that we have situations where the incorrect rates are booked especially through... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Kings Arms in June 2014 just for one night. It has recently been refurbished and is very stylish but unfortunately, when we stayed, not quite finished off. They must (or at least should) have a huge snagging list! We had three rooms and there were lots of minor issues - particularly with the bathrooms. The long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving us feedback from your stay with us in June. The hotel is fully aware of the issues throughout our building and are currently working through them one by one. The hotel places a damage charges sheet in our room to make guests aware that charges do apply should any damage occur in... More

Fifield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked 3 rooms at this hotel and advised when booking that my 90 year old mother is infirm and in a wheelchair. Although there is a lift, you cannot access any of the rooms without encountering at least 2 stairs. With a struggle we managed to get into our rooms and I tried to phone reception to use the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We wish to inform our readers and potential guests that this review is being dealt with privately between the hotel and guest. We appreciate and respect the opinion of others and understand we cannot please everybody all of the time. We do not doubt for a second that upset and distress was caused to the guest which we take full... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the whole a nice place to stay, they need to get some sort of sign up outside though! Food and service was good for the evening meal in the restaurant. Rooms nicely refurbished, shower was intermittent, but I understand the plumber has been called. Again, no chef at breakfast, food was still fine though. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal at Limoncello restaurant. Thank you for your kind feedback regarding the refurbishment of our rooms and I can reassure you that the issue with your shower has been... More

newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

£95 for double room not including breakfast. The bathroom looked pretty but the floor has not got non slip tiles so dangerous. Man on reception rude. No wifi in room and a price list should anything get damaged! Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very disappointed to hear that you have branded our hotel a "rip off". For the standard of the rooms provided we feel that our prices are more than reasonable. The price of the room did not appear to be an issue when booking the hotel nor was it an issue when you were informed breakfast was... More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic hotel just refurbished brilliant rooms and town centre position. Pity chef didn't make it to cook breakfast this morning! Not happy with this service. No bar only Restaurant, it was busy at night but didn't try it as I wanted a beer and they only had bottled yuk!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your stay with us earlier in the week. I firstly must offer my sincere apologies that you were unable to have breakfast as planned before your departure. We see how this affects our hotel and guests and the members of staff have been spoken to about their punctuality... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you are thinking of going to berwick for business or short break , I would definitely recommend king warm hotel. The service was amazing, excellent room and it was well cleaned, and welcoming receptionist. Some colleagues and I stayed here for business and the manager at the desk named jag was very helpful when it came to checkout, jag... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your amazing review. It is always so rewarding to hear such fantastic feedback from our guests regarding our staff, rooms, refurbishment, cleanliness and so on. I am over the moon to hear that you were provided with a clean, comfortable and memorable stay. We thank you on behalf of the whole team and... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had three amazing nights at this wonderful hotel.When we arrived the General Manager introduced himself to us & welcomed us - what a great start. i must say this is one of the most courtesy, helpful and friendly service places we have ever stayed. the reception manager that we met during our stay we're very helpful and friendly, always... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review. I am pleased to hear you found the members of staff on duty exceptionally friendly and helpful during your stay with us. Customer service is very important to us and we work extremely hard as a team and individually to ensure all of our customers are provided... More

Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First of this is a good hotel in a nice location and near the A1. Berwick-Upon-tweed is a lovely place. The hotel is like I said a good hotel. You can clearly see it has had a recent refurbishment however with little effort could be so much better. I was on a business trip and one of the reasons I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind and encouraging review. I sincerely apologise that the Wi-Fi was down during your visit and it affected your stay with us. Our Wi-Fi currently does not reach the bedrooms as of yet which will be installed very soon however the Wi-Fi normally works perfectly well on the ground floor. I will... More

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay at the hotel,no parking but only a few minutes walk to a long stay free car park,due to the time I arrived and was leaving the receptionist gave me the permit for parking out side,outside isn't the greatest and really it would look so much nicer and inviting due to inside is clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kings A, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks very much for your review of your recent stay with us. We understand that the exterior of our building doesn't quite do the interior justice, we try our very best to keep the outside of the hotel looking as presentable as possible until we can begin the major work on the front of the building. I am... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 43 Hide Hill, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kings Arms

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
29

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer