We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Vale House

Hotel website
off Railway Street | House (not seen from road) is down driveway to left of station entrance., Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1NF, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Vale House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castle Vale House
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    57
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Stayed here one night in May Extremely warm welcome from Margaret who was informative about the local area. Stayed in room 4 clean and tidy, lots of tea and coffee making facilities Good en suite bathroom and a welcome hair dryer ! Comfortable bed and a spectacular view of river and viaduct, which is lit at night. Good home cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blidworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is in a lovely location and we got allocated room 3 overlooking the river. The room is very cozy and Margaret and the other lady made us really welcome and breakfast was lovely. I have to say that the whole experience was perfect - thank you ladies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Castle Vale House is situated in a beautiful scenic position, from the front you can look to the left for views along the River Tweed as far as the town centre bridges. Look to your right for views along the river and through the spectacular ‘Stephenson Viaduct.’ Besides the views the car park has plenty of space. We had Room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I was doing the Sustrans Coast and Castles bike ride and spent one night at this excellent B & B. For cyclists this is very convenient as it is situated only a couple of hundred yards off the route. The room was very comfortable - full of interesting knick knacks, a chandelier and a space age shower that resembled the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We were lucky to have three nights stay at Castle Vale House given to us as a Christmas present We had never been to Berwick before and had the most lovely time staying in a very quirky and very friendly home. We were greeted on arrival and shown to a very spacious room with magnificent views Being able to choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Our weekend retreat at Castle Vale was in itself a real treat. The welcome from host Margaret was very good, showing us to our room (room 2, book if you can,very spacious and excellent views) and advising on places to see and where to dine. Breakfast was a delight, food excellent with lots to choose from. A very friendly atmosphere,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This was our first visit to Berwick Upon Tweed and to Northumberland and we were very impressed by Castle Vale House. Margaret was waiting for us upon arrival and was most welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. It's a beautiful quaint quirky B&B and was very clean and tidy. Therefore, I was very surprised to read the review by AmandaTD4.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We arrived and non one there to greet us. We found our room ourselves! The Owner Margaret apologised later on. The bedroom was a little dusty. Bathroom clean but dated. A very homely place. Order the night before the breakfast. There were loads of dogs hair despite no dogs allowed. Fresh fruit salad had banana in it. I am poorly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
berwickbonus, Owner at Castle Vale House, responded to this review

As these guests arrived well before 3pm and had not requested an earlier check-in, we were astounded that they'd found (with a lucky guess) their allocated room, left their bags, taken the key, and gone off to spend the day in Berwick. We were busy at that time with laundry and weren't expecting anyone. This is not a hotel with... More 

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We were made really welcome by Margaret and her mother, comfy room and superb breakfast. but what made it really special was the view out of our window of the river and the Royal Border bridge (hubby is a railway buff).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Lovely service, the host, Margaret, was very informative and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely, with a choice of options, which included home made bread and food from local suppliers. The room was very cosy, but the only negative was that the double bed was too small although very comfy. Wifi was available though at times it was hard to connect.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay