We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Vale House

Hotel website
off Railway Street | House (not seen from road) is down driveway to left of station entrance., Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1NF, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Vale House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castle Vale House
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were lucky to have three nights stay at Castle Vale House given to us as a Christmas present We had never been to Berwick before and had the most lovely time staying in a very quirky and very friendly home. We were greeted on arrival and shown to a very spacious room with magnificent views Being able to choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our weekend retreat at Castle Vale was in itself a real treat. The welcome from host Margaret was very good, showing us to our room (room 2, book if you can,very spacious and excellent views) and advising on places to see and where to dine. Breakfast was a delight, food excellent with lots to choose from. A very friendly atmosphere,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Berwick Upon Tweed and to Northumberland and we were very impressed by Castle Vale House. Margaret was waiting for us upon arrival and was most welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. It's a beautiful quaint quirky B&B and was very clean and tidy. Therefore, I was very surprised to read the review by AmandaTD4.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
west yorkshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived and non one there to greet us. We found our room ourselves! The Owner Margaret apologised later on. The bedroom was a little dusty. Bathroom clean but dated. A very homely place. Order the night before the breakfast. There were loads of dogs hair despite no dogs allowed. Fresh fruit salad had banana in it. I am poorly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
berwickbonus, Owner at Castle Vale House, responded to this review

As these guests arrived well before 3pm and had not requested an earlier check-in, we were astounded that they'd found (with a lucky guess) their allocated room, left their bags, taken the key, and gone off to spend the day in Berwick. We were busy at that time with laundry and weren't expecting anyone. This is not a hotel with... More 

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We were made really welcome by Margaret and her mother, comfy room and superb breakfast. but what made it really special was the view out of our window of the river and the Royal Border bridge (hubby is a railway buff).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Lovely service, the host, Margaret, was very informative and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely, with a choice of options, which included home made bread and food from local suppliers. The room was very cosy, but the only negative was that the double bed was too small although very comfy. Wifi was available though at times it was hard to connect.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We were not quite sure what to expect at first, but upon arrival at Castle Vale House, we were very pleasantly surprised. Margaret and Justin were extremely welcoming and friendly, as was their assistant, Will. Nothing was too much trouble, and Margaret was happy to explain places to go in Berwick upon Tweed. Our room was comfortable, spotlessly clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
maidstone
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I didn't want to leave. Welcoming and comfortable B&B with lovely home cooked breakfast. Perfect location to visit Berwick and enjoy river and coastal walks in clean crisp air. Plenty of bird and train spotting. Highly recommend for a relaxing break

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights Jan/feb. We felt very welcome and had a lovely big room overlooking the Tweed. It was bad luck that the boiler went wrong the day we arrived, but Margaret did everything she could to make sure that we as comfortable as possible with convector heaters. And kindly offered us a discount because of that. Ideally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanctuary Point, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

(Belated review due to the length of time overseas) I stayed at Castle Vale House from the 14th through to the 16th of October (3 nights). The house is located within a couple of minutes walk from the railway and the town centre, ideally positioned overlooking the River Tweed. I was welcomed by Margaret with a beaming smile and taken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question