We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Belford hotels

Purdy Lodge

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Purdy Lodge to your Saves list
Purdy Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
77%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Belford
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Lauradennison Leeds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    74
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
106
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely little hotel. Was only expecting travel lodge quality due to previous reviewers but got much more. Booked last minute as we decided to add an extra night to our trip away, we arrived just 4 hours later and was allowed to check in early (so gets an extra star). The room was lovely and clean with a view out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights and found it very comfortable and pleasantly quiet. Within easy driving distance to Bamburgh and Alnwick Castles, went to both, and highly recommend a walk on Bamburgh beach, stunning..... Plenty of tea and coffee in the room and oodles of hot water, very friendly and helpful staff. I would recommend eating in the adjoining café,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ive passed Purdy Lodge dozens of times while going up and down the A1 and thought it was just a truck stop with rooms. However this is far from the truth, it is a little gem if you are prepared to drive to the abundant tourist spots which are all within twenty minutes from the Purdy. You can eat in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are especially pleased that you enjoyed your meals! We hope that we get to welcome you back again in the future. More

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights over the weekend, wasn't expecting much but we were pleasantly suprised! The rooms were simple but clean and had everything we needed( little personal touches were lovely) breakfast was plentiful and nothing was too much trouble for the attentive and friendly staff although rushed off their feet it was hard to notice as everybody was well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much look forward to meeting you again in the summer! More

newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

lovely welcoming room nice, bed very comfy, glad we took some alcohol for our room instead of drinking in the bar as we were the only ones there so not a very good atmosphere,and there was nowhere walkable nearby we dined in the restaurant and the food was delicious but we were unimpressed with the breakfast to me an all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your meal that you had with us in the restaurant on the evening, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast. Please accept our apologies as we should have explained what was on the breakfast for you as... More

Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

we stayed here last month so we didn't have to drive back to teesside after visiting bamburgh castle. we only paid £40 or £50 with a living social voucher but I really wasn't that impressed. the sheets were a bit starchy and the kettle was filthy. basic accommodation. atmosphere in restaurant terrible as we were the only ones dining there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your time with us. I am sorry that you were not impressed with your stay. We were very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your food that you had with us; the vegetarian option of field mushrooms with Mediterranean vegetables is one that we usually get... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This was a late last minute booking for us, we wanted a place to rest our heads while on a long drive the length of the A1, was wasn't expecting luxury for what we paid. We were presently surprised, we had a quick swift checking, was told the procedures for ordering dinner in the evening, and told about checkout. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased to hear that you will be staying with us again in the summer; if you keep an eye out on our website we will have some special offers that will be running that may be of interest to you. We look... More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Last minute decision when a room became available. Fantastic reception and efficient check in. Really friendly staff throughout our stay. Room was really clean and spacious for the price paid. Loads of really hot water, room really warm and fabulous view across the fields to Bamburgh Castle. Breakfast was great, again with lovely staff. Only slight glitch- bar was closed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind words about the staff, it always makes us happy to know that our guests have enjoyed themselves. I am very sorry that the bar was closed... More

Fife
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had a one night stay just after New Year. Bit of a confusing drive up to the entrance to the lodge through a petrol station over a road with some rather deep pot holes. Check in was brief but information handed over on a print out with the key. We had a double room (Room 8) on the ground floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your meal with us, I can only apologise for this and I hope that you will give us another chance in the future. More

Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We acquired a brilliant deal for the new year at Purdy Lodge from Groupon. Although this deal was fantastic value we were very impressed with our stay. With views of Banburgh Castle and the North sea this oasis of excellence alongside the A1 was the perfect centre for East Northumberland. The politeness of the reception, the cleanliness and comfort of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your kind words about the staff and the food. We hope that we get to welcome you back in the future. More

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland
Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.