We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Bamburgh B&Bs / inns

The Sunningdale

21 - 23 Lucker Rd, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Sunningdale to your Saves list
The Sunningdale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
Ranked #5 of 11 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Fiona W Durham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (143)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    43
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It looks like the hotel is going through a bit of a refurb and if our room is the standard of all of them then I would definitely recommend it - only £110 for B&B and a very pleasant stay. Breakfast was very good as well and came from the kitchen, not on hotplates (which is a pet hate of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Everyone was very friendly, the breakfast was excellent but the room (room 10) was just too light, white curtains and lots of windows made it feel like daylight most of the night. We got more sleep camping the week before for £75 less. Because of all the windows it was very hot too so had to open the windows meaning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us. Your review simply proves that we can't please everyone. It was only a few days before you stayed that I showed a lady to the room who loved the brightness of it . We have decided to relook at... More

Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed 2 nights over the Bank Holiday. We found the staff to be welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were offered the choice of a twin or double room, both were quite small, we chose the double. The room although small offered everything we needed for a short stay and was very clean and comfortable. There is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Half a dozen or so of my scubadiving friends and I stayed here for one night and were very pleased at the service provided. We were greeted politely at the reception and were given clean spacious rooms. The breakfast was plentiful, the english nicely cooked and there was a good variety of continental style options. The staff were very helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

After cycling for 78 miles from newcastle me n my mates got to our destination, the sunningdale. Omg outstanding quality bnb the bedrooms were spacious full of decent quality stuff. My room had a view of the castle warm comfortable and affordable. Breakfast had everything but for me on a personal note just fancied some tinned toms but hey that's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
justlikejamie, Director of Sales at The Sunningdale, responded to this review

Dear Dollyeight, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are sometimes a little cautious of taking groups of males as we've had issues in the past. However, what a great bunch of lads. Out for a few days on their bikes and a few pints between stops. If there was a tripadvisor for customers... More

Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Made a last minute booking so had to book an ensuite twin room, quite small but adequate for our needs. Clean, warm and comfortable. Good quality bed linen and fluffy towels. Attractive modern dining room and lounge. We ate dinner on both nights and found it excellent on both occasions, breakfast also very good. Staff friendly and attentive. Very well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale, responded to this review

Hi Jude, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was lovely to meet you both and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Next time give us a call and I'll place you into one of our newly refurbished rooms. Keep an eye on line for our special offers. regards... More

Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Went for short weekend break to visit Northumbrian Coast. The hotel was very good value for money, nice and clean with adequate facilities. Situated in Bamburgh so very near the pubs and restaurants, my room had a view of the Cheviots , it was relatively basic but clean , my friend had a room with a castle view. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale, responded to this review

Hi Gill, I'm pleased that you found our rooms at a standard to rate it a 4/5.....I appreciate that our single rooms are small and therefore I'm limited to what improvements I can make. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Next time you visit give our restaurant a try, we serve delicious home cooked food to... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at the Sunningdale for 3 nights. The accommodation was basic enough. The shower door was broken and fell in on me twice and the door to the room was not secure. Breakfast was fine. I was given a bedroom overlooking the back yard so it was a room without a view. I don't really understand the glowing reviews... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale, responded to this review

This is the perfect example of why customers should speak up. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. On three separate occasions I personally spoke with you and not once did you care to mention your issues you had whilst staying. However, you'd rather write a review. The shower door was loose, it took all of 1 minute... More

Stanley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lovely little hotel. Received a friendly, warm welcome from all of the staff. Had our evening meal in the hotel and the food was delicious. Breakfast the following morning was also amazing. Small but comfy rooms led to an excellent nights sleep. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep an eye out for special offers direct on our website. Regards Paul More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just back from a two night stay. This was a very nice and friendly hotel. We had our small border terrier dog with us and he was also made most welcome. The room (Room 1) was very clean and had good views, The bed was very comfy and the food (dinner and breakfast) was very good. The staff were also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
justlikejamie, Owner at The Sunningdale, responded to this review

Dear robertd19m, We do love dogs in the hotel, I know that it doesn't please everyone but a dogs part of the family so why shouldn't we welcome them too. Many thanks for your kind comments. All too often review sites are used to challenge hotels over there standards. Its actually nice to receive kind comments. Its makes the staff... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Sunningdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Sunningdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunningdale

Address: 21 - 23 Lucker Rd, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Sunningdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunningdale Hotel Bamburgh
Sunningdale Hotel Bamburgh
The Sunningdale Bamburgh, Northumberland

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer