We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hog's Head Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF , England
The Hog's Head Inn
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    70
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
100
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel gives everything it promises. It is clean and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The staff are outstanding and we really appreciated their efforts. Gary and the team are as good as it gets!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights and the room was nice and spacious with a great view and free onsite parking. Easy location to Alnwick castle and gardens which was the reason for visit. The food was spot on! Great service by staff especially Leanne for her excellent customer service and always at hand to help. Would return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very enjoyable stay at the Hog's Head ,excellent food,friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast. The location, just off the A1, was convenient for local golf courses. This was an excellent golfing deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located next to a services on the A1 so isn't in the prettiest of areas however it is a very short car journey to Alnwick and surrounding areas and free parking. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean. It's a great hotel as a base for exploring this beautiful area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were two families with children aged 8-12, and wanted somewhere convenient to stay to visit Alnwick Castle. The hogs head inn was very easy to find, loads of parking, big and spacious rooms and friendly staff. It's connected to a newly built large pub so all the meals were very handy and good quality for the price ( its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived at this hotel I thought it was just another 'premier inn' type place. Wrong. The rooms are large well equipped and comfortable. The staff are so friendly and helpful,nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant food is lovely and the breakfast was yummy. I would deffinately stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a meal here with three friends and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The venue is fairly new but has very nice decor and a great atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was of a high quality and was good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have just spent two nights B.B at the Hogs Head with 20 of my friends playing golf in the area . Can only have good things to say of the place . Well equipped clean comfortable rooms full choice at breakfast with a good varied menu for evening meal a real plus were the young well trained and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our second visit here .once again a very pleasant stay.comfortable rooms good food.very friendly and helpful staff. Really cannot understand why people write laborious complaints.But of course ,you can't please all of the people all of the time...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Called in for at around 5:30 for a family tea on bank holiday Monday night, ordered food promptly at the bar at 5:40. 45 minutes passed and still no food - kids starters of breadsticks but nothing else this wouldn't be as bad but we were seated nearby a large table of around 15 who arrived after we had ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

This complaint is connected to another review left in our restaurant review page. Once again, sad to read this as your table left understanding and happy of the incident that had occurred. Again, the truth has been bent to make the incident appear more favourable for you. We did not say we were serving a bigger table first. We told... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities