We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hog's Head Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF , England
The Hog's Head Inn
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    67
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
97
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (253)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our second visit here .once again a very pleasant stay.comfortable rooms good food.very friendly and helpful staff. Really cannot understand why people write laborious complaints.But of course ,you can't please all of the people all of the time...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for at around 5:30 for a family tea on bank holiday Monday night, ordered food promptly at the bar at 5:40. 45 minutes passed and still no food - kids starters of breadsticks but nothing else this wouldn't be as bad but we were seated nearby a large table of around 15 who arrived after we had ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

This complaint is connected to another review left in our restaurant review page. Once again, sad to read this as your table left understanding and happy of the incident that had occurred. Again, the truth has been bent to make the incident appear more favourable for you. We did not say we were serving a bigger table first. We told... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hogs Head for a couple of days as we went around Alnwick and surrounding areas. We picked the Hogs Head as it is in a great location. The hotel is very clean and modern which we all liked. We ate in the restaurant and the food is nice better than you would expect. but the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review - we are very grateful for this - many thanks and hope to welcome you again in the future. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 1 night here would have been happy to spend longer. It looks lovely from the outside and we weren't disappointed on the inside. Had a lovely spacious room on ground floor with a huge super king bed. Very clean. Restaurant part of hotel was great too. Lovely food and the staff were all so nice and friendly. Would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

That's what we like to hear! Thank you so much for troubling to leave a review and for your words - much appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for the five stars too! More 

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

My family an I booked into the Hogs head in for a special celebration,my parents 60th wedding anniversary of which the hotel were aware off, although the rooms were very good the staff very helpful and friendly, the evening was ruined because despite booking a table for 7.30 our food was not actually served until 9.30, by which time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Sunderland. Co. Durham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We last visited the Hog's Head some six months ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Since then my wife has had a triple by-pass (with problems!) and we needed just a short break from what has become our everyday routine. We so enjoyed our last visit that we chose this hotel once more for our single night away. Our request... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - we are delighted you and your wife enjoyed a relaxing break away - particularly after her health issues. We are always happy to help and our wonderful team of staff are always on hand to make sure our guests and customers are well looked after. We hope you will return again soon!... More 

east devon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Recently stayed here, on a first visit to the North East. Although the surroundings were somewhat disappointing, the hotel itself was lovely. The staff went out of their way to help us and were consistently cheerful, kind and helpful. The rooms were brilliant, we had requested quiet ones and that is what we got. The food was good, well cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving a review - we are thrilled you stayed with us for your first visit to the North East and do hope it won't be the last! Come and visit again soon! We appreciate the five stars too! More 

Stamford, Lincs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Just got back from a 2 night stay for a family get together. The location is very handy for sightseeing (not a pretty location, but that's not so important) Excellent service from the staff. Rooms nice and very spacious. Food very good in the restaurant. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks indeed for your review - we hope to welcome you back again in the future. More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Regular stop over for me. Good homely atmosphere, good breakfast buffet (sometimes a bit cold) - but major gripe is warm not hot bathwater. Management insist water temperature is due to health and safety regs - does not seem to apply any other hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Went into the Hogs Head for lunch. Excellent spacious sitting area and reasonably comfortable seats although in certain spots the tables are very close together. One appreciates that the place has to pay. A good range of food or sandwiches available until 9 pm. The menus are good with a reasonable choice of specials and steaks although I did feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks indeed for a lovely and comprehensive review which has been thoughtfully written. We really do hope to welcome you back again soon in the future. Thank you for the five stars as well. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question