We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
What travelers say:
Dining room
(11)
Evening meals
(5)
Very good
(5)
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    233
    137
    68
    25
See reviews for
75
387
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (670)
  • Mar-May only
    (190)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (181)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (176)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We ate at Hardy's bistro twice whilst on holiday in Alnwick, the food was cooked to a high standard. I would highly recommend the merguez sausages as a starter. The menu was original and imaginative. The service was impeccable thanks Alex. It was a treat to dine there

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited the hotel restaurant on monday 13th April 15,Took advantage of the special deal on a monday night-2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £29.99.Very good value for money and well worth a visit.The staff were very friendly and attentive,in particular Alex,George and Nick.We even had a tour of the Olympic suite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel & staff were both extremely good, but "the icing on the cake"-excuse the pun-was how very well the chef (Stephen) catered for my problematic eating issues. I have a few health concerns & one of my many things I need to be careful with is how I eat my food. It needs "blending" (to look a bit like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many many thanks for your review and i know Stephen will be delighted to be mentioned. Often the chef's do not get the recognition they deserve but they are very much heroes in a hotel. As a hotel and kitchen team we strive to go the extra mile. We aim to provide true hospitality not just a service.... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thia is a lovely Hotel The Staff could not be more Helpful and Friendly . The Position is perfect Unfortunately the food for The coach Trip I have just returned from was very poor most was like left over food recooked one good thing You did not get much When I read the reviews saying what good food People Ihad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many Thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel however it is disappointing that you where unhappy with the food. The previous 2 reviews where also guests on the same tour as yourself and whilst i appreciate that they commented on portion size they do state clearly that the food was good. I am... More 

Doncaster
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our coach holiday was by Wilfreda Beehive (excellent in itself) and this had some bearing on our review. The hotel was delightful, maybe a little dated but very comfortable and having quite high standards. The staff are all, without exception, welcoming and very eager to help in everyway. Our room (5) was at the rear of the hotel, ground floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we have stayed in a lot of hotels on our coach holidays and this one is amongst the top. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was very clean and if you like fine dining the meals were good. If you want a meat and two veg meal this isn't the place for you! We had a three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the hotel offers a warm welcome and has rooms on two levels but for those with mobility issues it is worth noting there is no lift. The rooms are a nice size and are kept very clean. Parking is available through the arch off the main street. Our evening meal was extremely good. The main dinning room features panels from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Seen better days? Some of it probably. But that is part of the charm. It's a proper hotel, offering proper hotel services, by friendly professional staff and at a good price. Only thing that would improve it would be some double glazing on the front windows! We will stay here again and I hope it doesn't change at all (apart... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many Thanks for your great review. i hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the White Swan in the future. Kind Regards James Thompson More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wanted to book here for my partners birthday and wanted to eat in the Olympic Diningroom as we are both intrigued by all things Titanic related. I wanted to eat at lunchtime as we were on our way to Lindisfarne but unfortunately there was a party on the evening and they were busy setting up the Diningroom for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many Thanks for your recent review and we are absolutely delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back soon, Kind Regards James Thompson More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow amazing stay at the White Swan Alnwick. We were there celebrating a friends Wedding. Our room was in the top floor. Was very clean and tidy. Housekeeping obviously take pride in the keeping of the rooms. Would definitely stay again. Service was all round fab too. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Many thanks for you '5 star' review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding day and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind Regards James Thompson More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question