We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alnwick Youth Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
34 - 38 Green Batt, Alnwick NE66 1TU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alnwick Youth Hostel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Alnwick Youth Hostel
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    41
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
19
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Ostersund
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had some very nice days in Alnwick. A city with very good activities for the hole family. We also hade a good time in the playing room. We also very much likes the homemade breakfast from with bacon, eggs, sausage and more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A great hostel with friendly, helpful staff. Nicely placed for an evening stroll into town centre after a day on the bike. Must be the most secure bike shed in the UK, apparently it used to be a jail for prisoners awaiting trial! Tim

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

16 in group of Walkers, enjoying Bank holiday in Northumberland. Good base for access to Cheviot, coast and to Hadrians wall walks. Good value. Comfy en suite rooms. Good food, breakfast and evening meal. Helpful and cheerful staff. Free public car park to rear.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We could not have felt more welcome at Alnwick Youth Hostel. We had cycled from Edinburgh, had lots of punctures and battled the wind so we arrived late, hungry and cold. The hostel had waited almost 4 hours later than planned to feed us a fantastic hot pasta dish with delicious fresh salad followed by rhubarb crumble and custard that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was the second time we have stayed here and it was great. Kitchen really well stocked and matresses better than average, so a good night's sleep. The hostel is clean and warm and is well placed in the centre of Alnwick so easy to walk around. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. We had s great time... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not what you would expect for a hostel. Everything was superb. The room. The people. The food. The staff. We were well looked after. We usually stay in hotels and B&Bs but as we were with a walking group stayed here with them. Great choice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very comfortable stay, with good facilities. We were cycling around Northumberland and stayed two nights in Alnwick. We didn't pay to visit any of the local attractions which we considered way too expensive but there is so much to do in the great outdoors there is no need to rob the purse.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice Hostel, but very unfriendly member of staff meant we wont be coming back....sarcastic and abrupt with the customers, seemed to have no time to waste on its lifeblood/ customers...wont be back!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
alnwickyh, Manager at Alnwick Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry you felt you did not have the welcome you expected. In order to fully investigate this further, would you please take a moment or two to let me know a little more about your experience, such as the date you stayed and the room you stayed in,... More 

Wallsend, Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were thrilled with this hostel as we had not been youth hosteling since the late 60's. My school friend was over from Australia and wanted to see some of Northumberland. We had a wonderful time both at Alnwick hostel and at Wooler. Although on the review for Wooler I suggested an update to Aalnwick's standard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

1min walk and you're in the town centre and a short walk to Alnwick castle too. We stayed with our 2 kids in a room with 2 bunks and en suite bathroom,all really clean. Great place from which to discover all the local villages/beaches, though we did have a car. Staff were all very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities