We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holly Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
The Avenue, Alnwick NE66 1UL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holly Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

We had a short break and stayed a few nights. Loved it and will go back there again if a room is available. Welcome with cake and sherry was great. Room was large clean and warm. Breakfast--what can I say- put a new hole in the belt! Parking easy. We ate at the Oak(?) pub most nights and that is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip T
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

My partner surprised me with a two night stay at Alnwick Oct 26 and 27th. As I'm from the states and love the beauty and history of England it couldn't of been a more perfect trip.I loved the Holly Lodge that he had chosen to stay at. It was spotlessly clean and newly refurbished. We had an upstairs room with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveljo2014
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Excellent location modern comfortable b&b, parking, good food and very welcoming hosts. Would definitely go back again. Alnwick well worth a visit to Barters boks, Hardy's fishing shop/museum, Alnwick Castle & gardens.

Helpful?
Thank annette p
notts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Perfectly located for a short walk into the town centre, castle and gardens, our room was beautifully clean with a lovely en suite with shower, the breakfast which you pre order the night before is lovely and plentiful and the service excellent. A perfect base to explore Northumberland and very reasonably priced, wouldn't hesitate recommending holly lodge to anybody.

Helpful?
Thank rufusblue
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Stayed here for two nights prior to a few days in Berwick on Tweed. Can only confirm what others have said in their reviews. Lovely rooms, spotlessly clean, friendly staff, superb breakfasts and without doubt excellent value for money. If thinking of staying in Alnwick look no further you will not be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Dartsmadstevie
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

The room was very clean with good facilities, Excellent shower room. The breakfasts were also very good. .However the living room one evening was unavailable after 9 o'clock with the door to the breakfast and living door being wedged shut, We found this a bit confusing because we were told is was available for residents the to use. Therefore the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
george s, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at Holly Lodge . I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and our breakfasts , but am disappointed that because the door had become wedged on one night that it spoilt your whole stay. I remember apologising for this that night , when you were actually in our Lounge... More 

london
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

This is a really friendly B&B, Well located for Alnwick and the surrounding area. 5 minutes walk into town for restaurants. The breakfast is excellent and all cooked freshly having pre ordered the night before. Large choice of fruit. Complimentary bottled water to take out and a free beer or sherry in the evening. We plan to return next year.

Helpful?
Thank pandjwhite
george s, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this review

Jackie and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Many thanks for the excellent review - we hope you can return soon. More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

We have just spent 2 nights in Holly Lodge and we found the whole experience first class. Beautiful room, very comfortable and clean. George and Jackie could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. Fantastic breakfast with lots to choose from. Would highly recommend Holly Lodge to anyone wishing to be near to the town, castle/gardens and who want a... More 

Helpful?
Thank elaine27102015
george s, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your excellent review of your recent stay. Jackie and I hope to see you back again in the future. More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

We've just spent two nights in the luxurious accommodation of Holly Lodge and found it to be absolutely excellent. George and Jackie are excellent hosts, very warm, friendly and customer focussed, and eager to offer advice as to places to see and where to travel for a worthwhile experience. The breakfast is simply superb, with cereals and all manner of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff B
george s, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review . We do hope you can return and visit us again next year. More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

We stayed two nights to visit the Gardens & Castle. Easy to find with such a warm welcome. We stayed in an upstairs room overlooking the back garden, which was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was lovely. We would definitely recommend Holly Lodge .

Helpful?
1 Thank W12400
george s, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this review

I must thank your for your super review of Holly Lodge following your recent stay with us. Many thanks again George & Jackie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
7.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#38 of 70 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#24 of 70 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay