We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cleveland Tontine

Certificate of Excellence
Nr Northallerton, Staddlebridge, Northallerton DL6 3JB, England
Hotel amenities
The Cleveland Tontine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staddlebridge
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
smithy1967 Stockton On Tees
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    24
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
83
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Stockton On Tees
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Took a good friend for a treat.... staff were brilliant, food was brilliant, venue was brilliant. For such an upmarket venue, the price was very competitive. I would certainly do this again. Tempted to book in for a stay........ but it's so close to home that would be really indulgent. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Brilliant, brilliant and yet more brilliant - that'll do! Thanks so much for your brilliant review and, as for that overnight stay, we won't tell anyone if you don't! More 

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for afternoon tea for my daughters birthday as a family of four. We were impressed with the setting and the service offered. The afternoon tea is lovely with everything made fresh and you get any left over cakes boxed up to take home. We would have preferred a few more savoury items as there were a lot of cakes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review of our Afternoon Tea, I don't think anyone has ever managed to finish it yet! I will pass on your comments to the kitchen about more savoury items; we change the menu seasonally along with our Bistro menu so it is always useful to get constructive comments. Keep an eye on our website for... More 

Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for my friends 40th Birthday celebrations and could not fault it ... From the moment we stepped into the hotel nothing was a problem ... And we were fussy!! The private dining was amazing, the food was out of this world ... Probably the best quality of meal I have ever had. A huge thank you to the chef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving such a fantastic review, it means a great deal to everyone at the Tontine to get such positive feedback. I will pass on your comments to the Head Chef and his team and I hope we will see you at the Tontine some time soon More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this for a one night treat for my husband's birthday. We had the Gertrude Bell room which was very nice. Comfortable bed and huge bathroom with roll top bath overlooking the A19 and countryside beyond which we found very amusing, sitting in the bath watching all the cars go by. Loved it! The staff are very warm and welcoming,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thanks for another great review, we really appreciate your feedback. I completely agree with you about the view, it's so lovely to see the world carrying on while you laze around in the bath! I am delighted you liked your room and the overall atmosphere at the Tontine, we think it is very special so I am very pleased you... More 

Northamton, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the first time we had visited the Tontine and what an experience. We stayed for 3 nights in the coach house, excellent room and facilities. As for the food, well what can we say, it was some of the best we have ever had and served by amazing staff. In fact all the staff could not have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a great review, what a lovely way to celebrate your anniversary. I will pass on your lovely comments to all our staff, it means a great deal to get such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming back to the Tontine some time soon More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first visit to the Cleveland Tontine was to celebrate my sisters 40th birthday. We were upgraded to a room which was great! The decor was amazing although unfortunately the room was cold as the heating wasn't put on for our arrival. The food looked amazing, we all had different starters and everybody seemed very happy with their choices. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the food so much and were pleased with your room. Poor service is never acceptable and I am sorry you felt that we weren't quite up to scratch in this department. Please don't be put off from trying us again, I am quite sure we can improve on... More 

Thirsk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having eaten at the Tontine several times over the last few years i was intrested to see how the accommodation met with my expectations. Well, a warm welcome by the staff and then shown to our room (Hambleton ). This was nicely fitted out with a mix of quirky furniture wich all looked great, the bathroom was nicely fitted with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your review. I am so pleased that you liked Hambleton and felt that the rooms lived up to the food. I will pass on your comments to the staff and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked three nights at this hotel as recommended by a friend, and I was not disappointed ! I was looking for a special place for a short break, as a birthday surprise for my husband's 60th birthday. When I made the booking, I explained what I wanted, and they were very helpful. Other members of the family were traveling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your review. We love a surprise, especially when we get to be involved! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that the party went with a bang. Keep an eye on our website for details of lots of exciting events and offers coming up and we hope to see you at the Tontine... More 

Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon as a stop over on our way to Scotland. The inside of the hotel is beautiful and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant after delicious champagne cocktails and the food was fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We are very honoured that you chose to start your honeymoon with us and delighted we made the grade! I hope you had a wonderful time in Scotland and we look forward to seeing you again some time for more Champagne cocktails! More 

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here following a wedding reception. The food, atmosphere and staff were great, however being a wheelchair user, I was very surprised and disappointed to find no disabled access and not even a disabled toilet. I had to be assisted everywhere and did put a bit of a dampener on my stay. Such a shame as it's a beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, which we are pleased to read is mainly of a happy experience during your stay with us. We are sorry that the lack of disabled facilities took the shine off your visit. You will be pleased to hear that we are currently taking professional advice to find the best possible solution to what is always... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities