We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cleveland Tontine

Certificate of Excellence
Nr Northallerton, Staddlebridge, Northallerton DL6 3JB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Cleveland Tontine
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This was our first visit to The Tontine after the arrival of the new chef and we were interested to see how things had changed. We phoned last minute to book a table for two for the midweek special ( between 6-7pm) as we had the opportunity for a quick meal out without children. On arrival we had the choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Celebrated our daughters 18th birthday with a family meal at this lovely restaurant last Saturday evening. Only the bistro was open due to a wedding reception taking place upstairs, but that was fine as the bistro has a lovely ambiance with it's soft lighting and the way it is set out. The food was just beautiful, the scallop starter was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. We had called by chance for a meal on the way home from visiting family last year and had decided then we would love to stay here. I got a great deal "sleep sound for £20" on a Sunday night. If you eat in the restaurant and spend a minimum amount the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shazzer1966
Cleveland T, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back again. More 

Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four couples, terrible service,waited an hour and a half for the main course,meal very expensive for what it was, and for example when compared with Headlam Hall,very small ,and only average tasting portions,,really disappointing. The manager did apologise for the slow service and did give a discount. Will not return

Helpful?
3 Thank andrew t
Cleveland T, General Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback, which we greatly value. Whilst we always strive to deliver meals as quickly as possible to our guests, inevitably there will be the occasional delays due to unforeseen circumstances. We can only apologise again for the fact that, on the night in question, you waited forty minutes for your main course. This is clearly not... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On Saturday we celebrated our Dad's 90th birthday at the Tontine. It was such a lovely afternoon, the staff were fantastic (nothing was too much trouble) and the afternoon tea was really delicious. Being in the conservatory was a great suggestion by Rachel on reception and everyone in the party had a truly fabulous time. An unforgettable experience - thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
Cleveland T, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, and many happy returns to your Father! We're delighted that we could help make your celebrations even more special and we do hope that we will be welcoming you back to the Tontine again very soon. More 

kent england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on 2 January as a similar reviewer and had very similar experience - my first time here and my partner took me for what should have been a very special evening - disappointed with our steak - service and serving was lacking but we are keen to go back soon as we feel this was a blip and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LYNS69
Cleveland T, General Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

We are terribly disappointed to hear that your experience did not live up to expectations. The issues raised in a separate communication have been discussed and we are delighted that you have decided to return to the Tontine and very much look forward to that. More 

Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never fails to impress. Enjoyed lunch here many times and the service, ambiance and food are always first class. Particularly excellent are the Sunday Lunches with traditional and more adventurous options.

Helpful?
Thank Will P
Cleveland T, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We're delighted that you have been consistently impressed and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Tontine soon More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

This restaurant is a favourite of my Father's and as it was a special occasion to celebrate him being awarded the Legion D'Honneur medal it was a natural choice for the family to get together to celebrate.From being welcomed by the friendly staff, one whom was dedicated to looking after us, we were given the conservatory to ourselves where we... More 

Helpful?
Thank thewrights2015
Cleveland T, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, and many congratulations to your father. We're delighted that you chose us to celebrate such a special occasion, and we hope that we can look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Tontine soon More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Having eaten at the Tontine many times we were very disappointed with tonights meal.My starter of scallops were burnt on the outside and the charcoal taste ruined the delicate flavour of the scallops.My partners prawn cocktail was mediocre.The blue cheese dressing for the salad accompanying the steak tasted of vinigraitte with a few lumps of very mild blue cheese mixed... More 

Helpful?
Thank smoggy1975
Cleveland T, General Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to the Cleveland Tontine. We are very concerned to learn of your disappointment particularly in light of the many good reviews we receive. We're very proud of our lovely menu and the wonderful dishes that Paul and his team create, and we're very sorry that you didn't experience the normally high standards... More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Choosing a venue for the "Works Do" is always something of a compromise- you can't please everyone. Unless that is you select the Cleveland Tontine for afternoon tea. From the moment we walked in we felt special, the service was excellent but unobtrusive and everything from the welcome glass of bubbly to the superb passion fruit curd that accompanied the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kit L
Cleveland T, Sales & Marketing Executive at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're delighted that you had a great time and that we could contribute to a successful staff party! We'd absolutely love to have you all as regulars - hopefully we will be welcoming you back again very soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staddlebridge
19.7 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 stars 3,695 reviews
22.5 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 6 in Northallerton
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
12.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay