We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Junction A1 / A66 Richmond | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    138
    51
    15
    15
See reviews for
55
151
15
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (421)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my friend for one night we booked a executive room as a treat for our self's the bed was massive the too was clean a little noise as at the front but then the air con did not work. The sink was blocked so we called the desk and someone came up to check it out it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review following your recent stay. It was a pleasure to speak with you yesterday on the phone and I am glad we were able to resolve the various issues you had during your stay, once again I'd just like to extend my apologies for the inconvenience these issues must... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here on a Friday night with friends and all of our kids so we could go to a football match at Middlesbrough. The hotel is clean and despite the fact that our room wasn't ready on our arrival, the staff seemed mostly efficient and friendly. In fairness the hotel sent a box of chocolates up to our room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review of your recent stay here at the hotel. It is great to hear that you visited en route to the Riverside stadium. I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the delay in servicing your room, despite this being rectified quickly by the team. As for the... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We would be happy to return knowing what to expect next time.. Executive room was very roomy indeed, curtessy of IHG Platimnum membership.. The main resturaunt, which also hosted breakfast, was a close quarters in that there was not space to make your way to breakfast buffet. Evening the resturaunt where service is good just like the food, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the hotel. I am delighted that you were issued with your complementary room upgrade, courtesy of your Platinum Elite IHG Membership status. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the dining experience, our Fratello's restaurant can only seat up to around 80 people, however during busy breakfast... More 

Ely, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice Hotel, very clean, very good choice of cooked breakfast,plus fruit, juices and toast, Restaurant and bar to choose to eat in.Friendly staff, safe parking. The only thing we found was the bed had a rather hard Mattress.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at the hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had for the most part, an enjoyable stay. We have made a lot of positive changes to several areas of the hotel, with breakfast being one of them. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed... More 

East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a bit Faulty Towers, the service isn't great, they don't know what they're doing with business customers. Modern decor as you'd expect but it's situated on a massive noisy roundabout 50m from the A1 with a strong smell of pigs outside. You have to enter your car number plate on an ipad type device at reception or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review following your recent stay here at the hotel. It is disappointing to be alluded to as Faulty Towers, I am really sorry to see that you felt like this. We're working on adding a third pane of window glaze to front facing bedrooms which should further reduce any... More 

Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To be honest I am a IHG Platinum member so use a lot of their hotels. I have used this one a couple of times recentley ... The rooms are great, the staff and friendly and the health and fitness suite is good... BUT the Wi-Fi is absolutely useless...as a business man I need this .. so I ended up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review of your recent stay here at the hotel. It is great to hear that you have used us frequently over recent weeks, and thank you for your kind comments regarding the rooms, staff and gym facilities. I am delighted to inform you that we have recently hard our... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked into this hotel as it was the nearest available hotel to a friends wedding. I stayed overnight and the experience was satisfactory. I had left a card swipe on arrival and when I checked out asked if that was enough or whether I needed still to pay. I was told I needed to pay still, which I did,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glossop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I reviewed this hotel last year I commented on two shortcomings, useless WiFi & a bedside lamp not working due to the lack of a bulb. This time, things were better - the non-working lamp did at least have a bulb in it! The WiFi, I'm pleased to say is much better. Speed for the free service is now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us following your recent stay here at the hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had an improved return stay with us, especially when reflecting upon the simple issues we had over looked on your last stay. There is currently ongoing maintenance checks being conduction throughout all of... More 

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great find it is an interesting building not sure what it was before or whether it was built as a hotel. BUT what a great place the staff are second to none they make you feel at home and the waiting staff are very professional experienced and polite especially Mikey who explained the menu very well and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your thoughts following your recent stay here at the hotel. I can confirm that the hotel was built to be a hotel, despite the unusual appearance of the building facade. I am delighted to hear that the team here made you feel at home, it is wonderful to hear positive... More 

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel, shame about the location. Excellent staff but really noisy not just from the traffic continually passing outside but the bar/central reception area which transmits a lot of noise upwards. The food in the restaurant was good. As a one night stay it was OK but I would look for something better in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback here at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you didn't whole heartily enjoy your most recent stay with us. We feel the hotel is in the perfect location for corporate customers, although understandably we are situated on a reasonably busy roundabout. You will be happy to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay