We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Junction A1 / A66 Richmond | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    131
    45
    15
    15
See reviews for
53
147
14
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (406)
  • Mar-May only
    (118)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We gave this hotel a second chance and had a really lovely room. The staff were much more efficient than last time and everything ran smoothly. The management have done an excellent job with turning this hotel round in such a short space of time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

First of all, thank you very much for reviewing your most recent stay with us here at the hotel. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had a much improved stay with us this time around. We have worked hard on empowering the team to make decisions and even with some more work to do, it is fantastic to... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I must commend the staff at the Holiday Inn at Scotch Corner for a super guest experience on Friday 10th/ Saturday 11th April. The standard was extremely high with all staff displaying first class customer service skills, extremely polite even when other guests were quite rude. I have stayed at many other Holiday Inns and this one was the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review of your stay here at the hotel. I am delighted to read your comments regarding the customer service you received and witnessed during your stay with us. I will ensure that your feedback is passed onto all departments within the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you... More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Usual Holiday Inn quality. Clean , comfortable and with a good breakfast. So why am I rating this average? Check in was confused with an assumption we hadn't pre paid even though the print out clearly stated we had. This was fairly quickly resolved. We were offered a free drink at the bar with Platinum ihg membership. "Is that any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us with a review of your recent stay here at the hotel. I am dissapointed to read that you only reviewed us as average, but understand that there was some confusion surrounding various parts of your stay. Unfortunately mistakes like this do happen and it seems unfortunate that in this case you fell victim to three... More 

Wincham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the Gatwick Airport Crowne Plaza last week and left a good review but in my opinion this hotel was better. Of course there are differences but I found this hotel very comfortable with the lounge and lounge food being great. When you stay away on business very rarely do you find comfortable seats in the bar /... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us following your recent stay at the hotel. It is great to be compared to the Crowne Plaza at Gatwick airport and I thank you on behalf of the team for your kind comments regarding this. We have some fantastic lounge, booth and formal seating arrangements here at the... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On Easter Sunday my son very kindly offered to take us out for lunch what should have been a lovely family outing was spoilt by the terrible array of food offered to us. We were given a plate with beef but very little else to put on it, no mashed potato and none available and the few vegetables that were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review following our recent Easter Sunday event. Having helped organised this event myself I am terribly dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy yourself. This was only the second event of this type which we have held and there are obviously still some issues to iron out moving forward. None of the carvery items... More 

Beckermet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Living in Cumbria, we have passed this hotel many times over the years. On this occasion, we decided to stay overnight on our way to visit family in Sheffield. The hotel itself, had never seemed appealing to us, but after reading reviews we decided we would try it. We were not disappointed. We had an 'Executive' room, which was immaculate.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback following your recent stay with us here at the hotel, of which I am delighted to see for the most part is positive! It isn't unusual for guests to overlook the hotel due to its outward appearance, but more often than not are surprised at the interior decor... More 

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a frequent user of the Holiday Inn Hotels I must say that this is by far the best one yet ( Beating Even Barnsley ) Check inn was quick and efficient with the girl on reception very informative and helpful . Great Dinner on the Second evening , but why served on a piece of chopping board ????? must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us here at the hotel. As a frequent user of Holiday Inns I strongly recommend taking advantage of our IHG Rewards club, which features a points system and member perks which I'm sure you would be able to take advantage of. We do serve some of... More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
95 hotel reviews
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've passed this hotel countless times in my life and always knew at as The Scotch Corner Hotel. So we decided to try it for a one night stopover en route to Aberdeen and we were very impressed! Plus point - The ivy has gone!!! Check in was smooth, efficient and friendly, and done with a very impressive art-deco chandelier... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us here at the hotel. I am delighted to hear that we were an ideal stopover for your trip to Aberdeen, you picked an ideal weekend with the weather being so nice! It is great to hear such positive feedback regarding the decor of the hotel, the hotel had... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we had a standard double and executive twin, interconnecting. Both bedrooms were huge, with a lovely large shower room and a smaller bathroom with a shower over the bath. Beds were very comfortable. Unfortunately, we were over the function room with a wedding reception in full swing, but although this meant some noise, the hotel was buzzing with people both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us here at the hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, despite you having to stay over the function suites on this occasion. I am sorry for the inconvenience that this must have caused. It is good to hear that you had... More 

Catterick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended the Scotch Corner Hotel for Sunday Lunch on Easter Sunday 2015. As a family of adults, Elliott placed us in the restaurant away from the disco, entertainer and bouncy castle. The food was beautiful and bountiful. It tasted lovely and was reasonably priced. Huge big thank you's to Elliott for ensuring we had a peaceful lunch

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliot N, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to the hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch carvery, I will pass on your kinds words to the F&B and Kitchen staff who deserve the credit. Our next Sunday carvery event will be held on Sunday 3rd May and we hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question