We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windsor Guest house

56 South Parade, Northallerton DL7 8SL, England
Hotel amenities
Windsor Guest house
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #18 of 30 Northallerton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015
Colin C
Add Photo

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    10
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
6
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

Seven of us stayed as we cycled C2C. Very clean, comfortable. Very friendly and welcoming. Peter & Moraig offered lots of advice and useful info to help us. (Murphy's law we had a major change of plans at the last minute) but they took it in their stride and just smiled. The full English was a great breakfast which helped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PETER G, Owner at Windsor Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, glad to help. Moraig More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Stayed here for one night, and my room was lovely and clean and modern. Only downside was as it was a single room, the bathroom was separate but this wasn't too much of a problem. Welcoming owners, who were very helpful and let me use their iron in their lounge! Lovely breakfast as well. Would stay again if I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PETER G, Owner at Windsor Guest house, responded to this review

Hi, glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope the interview went well. Regards Moraig More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

Lovely staff,very clean and tidy,rooms very nice.only let down was the smell of cooking oil that lingered throughout the whole place.it was especially bad when breakfast was being cooked.would put me off staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PETER G, Owner at Windsor Guest house, responded to this review

Hi, sorry the smell of cooking breakfast was unpleasant, I change the cooking oil every Saturday morning, the only thing we fry is the bread, unfortunately the only alternative is don't serve breakfast. Regards Moraig More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Stayed for 5 nights during Feb 15. Moraig and Peter were very welcoming, and the room was warm, comfortable and excellent value. A superb breakfast also. Convenient for the town centre, and also NYCC offices where I was visiting. Will definitely be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PETER G, Owner at Windsor Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review, hope all goes well with boiler and tank next week. All the best Moraig More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

What a wonderful welcome in a true "home from home" style guest house!! The bedrooms and en-suites are immaculately clean and maintained to the highest standard. Excellent selection of breakfasts and all freshly cooked - the scrambled egg is just the best ever!! Moraig and Peter are so kind, nothing is too much trouble, it's just like staying with your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PETER G, Owner at Windsor Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review,see you soon, moraig More 

Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

The alarm clock failed to wake us, so we reported for breakfast at 9:05 am. The "last" breakfast is 9:00 and Moraig (landlady) informed us that "it's all switched off". When we said that we'll just go without, she said that the sausage and bacon was cooked and "I suppose I can do a couple eggs". The confrontation was rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PETER G, Owner at Windsor Guest house, responded to this review

Peter,when you choose from the breakfast menu I said breakfast 8 till 9, I tell all my guests breakfast times,hence why you chose 8:45, you didn't come down till 9:15, but because you have been several times before, I agreed to throw in a couple of eggs(Scottish turn of phrase), and happily served your breakfast, all the time you have... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Stayed here in December for two nights. Bossy, controlling land lady. Wanted money upfront. The room was clean but cold. No view from window. Bathroom was very cold and the shower was freezing and no water pressure. On the day we were leaving, she knocked on our door at 9.55 and said you have got to be out by 10.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PETER G, Owner at Windsor Guest house, responded to this review

All my guests pay up front, if that means I am a bossy controlling landlady, so be it. Sorry there was no view from your window ,the fire escape requires special glass , and is a legal requirement. as you were here two nights why not mention the shower, I would have happily shown you how to use it. The... More 

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Just spent 3 nights again at this excellent B&B visiting friends just round the corner.My Room was spotless just like the rest of the building.In the breakfast room you are not sitting on top of anyboby.The breakfast was again high standard with local produce and cooked to perfection. Moraig & Peter are very friendly and it is just like being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PETER G, Owner at Windsor Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for a great review and your continued support. look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Peter. More 

Lutterworth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We have just returned from a night here, what a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our room was spotlessly clean, on the back of the house so also quiet. The hosts were welcoming and friendly and on hand should you need any help at all. The location is very good, just a short walk to all the amenities, the road is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PETER G, Owner at Windsor Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, its always nice to be appreciated. Sorry about the frosted glass in your room, but fire regs required it for this room. Peter. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The owners were as nice as pie until we tried to cancel one of the nights stay. We gave 48 hrs notice.but they wouldnt accept even when we offered to pay their cancellation fee.They wouldn't accept this and demanded the full money.Downright rude. Wouldn't let us stay the previous night until they had my card details. Then low and behold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PETER G, Owner at Windsor Guest house, responded to this review

You were part of a large party that booked all my rooms for three nights in June. The booking was made at the end of February . I turned down a lot of bookings for those rooms. Andy the organiser phoned several times adjusting the bookings. At the end of May ,he cancelled all the rooms for one night ,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay