We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Knaresborough hotels

BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
68%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Knaresborough
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Margo B Walall
  • Overview
  • Reviews (337)
  • Photos (111)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (76)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    113
    50
    41
    17
See reviews for
41
174
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed at Dower House for two nights during the Tour de France. My partner had stayed there before but did not know he had been upgraded to a superior room with generous dimensions so we were disappointed by our tiny room. No light shades on the bedside lights and they were uplights so it made reading... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

No frills ! Expensive for what you get ! Dont go !!!! Staff indifferent Smells Dirty ! Beds need replacing Painting general maintenance very very poor ! We were charged for 2 slices of toast and too expensive for the basic accommodation In short the worst Best Western iv ever stayed at !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Firstly - i am sure Dower House is a lovely hotel, its just a pity our experience wasn't great. We booked a room through booking.com which was on special, and when we checked in found we were in a disabled access room, might explain why the room was on special. The room was fairly basic, but it was also directly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent feedback, your comments have been fed back to the team and we are all very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, for this we sincerely apologise, We do hope that you would consider the Dower house in future for us to demonstrate our true capabilities as we really do care about all of... More

Yorkshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although a little late I must say we had a fantastic valentines stay at the Dower House Hotel. The room we were allocated was huge with its own living room. The gym and spa facilities were brilliant, as was the dinner. We had a lovely chat with the chef afterwards in the bar. Nothing was too much trouble during our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for such lovely feedback, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us over the valentines period, and we look forward to you returning to the Hotel in the future, Kindest of regards, Nick Kilmartin, General Manager. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving on a Friday afternoon for a two night stay we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist & check in was straight forward. On arriving at our room I should of demanded a different room or left the hotel but we were due to meet friends & don't know the area, the room at a cost of £243.00 room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to discuss your experience further with me this week, I do hope that I have restored your faith in the Dower House and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future, Kindest of regards, Nickj Kilmartin, General Manager. More

Binningup, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very comfortable stay in this hotel and spa very close to the centre of Knaresborough. We were lucky enough to be there during the annual bed race and had a great view of the fun from the garden of the hotel. There is plenty of parking space and it is only a short walk to the market... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel during the bed race weekend, which was truly amazing, and we do hope to see you again very soon, Kindest of Regards, Nick Kilmartin, General Manager. More

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a weekend at the hotel. Reception staff and restaurant staff were very friendly and chatty - no complaints at all. The room was clean and had everything needed, although no little extra touches, bearing in mind that the cost was quite expensive. Bed comfortable and had a good night's sleep. Shower very disappointing, not much water pressure at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello, and many thanks for feedback on TA and for your lovely comments regarding the staff here, may I take this opportunity to offer my apologies regarding the pressure of your shower, this is an issue that has been identified and will be rectified shortly, your feedback is vital to us as we genuinely do action any issues that are... More

wirral
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Used to stay regularly when working , and this was second visit with my wife. Firstly on arrival it was nice to be recognised by the receptionist, who had allocated us one of thier best rooms (28) though it is furthest from reception. Its better to be at the back of the hotel rather than the front due to traffic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello again, as discussed in our emails the issues that you did bring to our attention have been dealt with and we thank you for that feedback, we are delighted that you will be returning to the hotel in the future and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back, Kindest of regards, Nick Kilmartin, General Manager. More

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just got back from a weekend in the lovely town of Knaresborough.The Dower house is well situated just a short walk from the town centre.It is a little dated, but the friendly helpful staff more than make up for it.We had a small problem with our room, the receptionist was very helpful and offered to change rooms for us.The breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello, and many thanks for your feedback it is very much appreciated and thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, your comments have being forwarded to all concerned, we genuinely do care about our guests at the Dower House Hotel & Spa and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to welcoming... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Number of rooms
29

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer