We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Knaresborough hotels

BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
66%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
lunalovegood17 Leeds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    119
    60
    49
    19
See reviews for
50
184
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (376)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my friends came here for a mini break, and we had an amazing time at a really good price. We were in room 9 and it was lovely, really comfy beds, amazing bathroom and a lovely hot shower. The evening meal (included in the spa weekend package) was lovely, the waiter was really attentive, especially with the list... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Absolutely fantastic staff, could not have been more helpful. Upon arrival I was met with a printed menu for the restaurant that had been highlighted with dishes that were safe for me to eat (due to nut, fruit and fish allergies). The food in the restaurant was nice and with the £25 meal allowance included in the spa break deal,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying for a week on a business trip - it would be two, but I've requested to change hotel for the second week! The showers are awful - due to non-existent water pressure and hair-trigger mixer taps, the restaurant is steeply overpriced at £22/£25 for 2/3 courses, the bar is expensive (£3.60 a beer), the rooms are dated, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah R, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Woody E, Thank you for your feedback and once again please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay. As already discussed we are looking at the issue with the shower in the room you stayed in and we have already introduced our new and improved menu. I do hope that you decide to return to... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best feature about this hotel was the staff, they were all super friendly and could not do enough to help. Other than that the hotel was excellent, with great food and drink. The spa was good, but swimming pool on the smaller size. We stayed in a four poster room (at no extra cost), which was massive, clean, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah R, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear WilfMoralee, Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I have passed your kind comments on to the team here who were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Kind Regards, Sarah Ramsdale Assistant Manager More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff, excellent location. But, room was too hot, hot water temperature was dangerously hot and couldn't switch off the cold tap properly. All room lights had to be on if we wanted to use the bathroom. Limited choice of five on dinner menu which hardly changed, not ideal if you're not a veggy and staying for more than three... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah R, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rayb2378, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience and for the kind comments regarding the team here at the Dower House. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. The issues you have... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were given the bridal suite in the hotel which was lovely and had just been refurbished with a stunning wet room. Breakfast was great, service was professional and attentive and the spa was an added bonus. Restaurant was overpriced and limited compared with local restaurants so unsurprisingly had few diners.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah R, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Clare P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Opted to stay here for a night on business, struggled to book a room at first and surprisingly the hotel was quiet? so to be honest the staff could not have been nicer, dinner was ok the room (a twin) was well poor to say the least, it needed a good clean and updated as the pictures will show, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah R, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Craig D, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for the kind comments regarding the team here at the Dower House. It is extremely disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I apologise for the issues you had with your room, this is not to our usual... More

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I arrived at 3pm and the room was not fully made up as the linen was late arriving. When it was eventually made up at 4pm there was still loads of laundry in the corridors. I would also question if I'd like to call it a superior room???? I booked a 10.30am spa appointment two weeks in advance but when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah R, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Craig B, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience and I am sorry that you did not have a 100% positive stay with us. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay with you as we commited to "getting it right" for all our guests. I do hope you will consider returning... More

clayhall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We have just spent 3 days in Dower House and thought how lovely all the staff were. From Alison on Sunday changing our room to a much bigger room to when we left we couldn't have had better service. The breakfast was cooked individually and fresh, and the dinner was beautiful. The only comment I have is that the Menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah R, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your comments regarding the service you received are lovely and I have passed them on to the rest of the team. I am sorry that the menu choices were too repetitive, I have discussed this with the chefs to ensure we offer more variety to our guests in future.... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 7 due to a mix up with the surname we had a normal room when we had booked a superior. We were offered a change for our second night but decided against it. On checking out the receptionist although apologetic tried to charge us the normal room rate until I asked for discount due to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah R, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the disappointment with regards to your bedroom. Although of no consolation for yourselves room 7 is at this moment being completely refurbished. In view of this we would like you to return and experience the improvements and have therefore arranged for a voucher to be sent to your home... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (84)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay