We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Board Inn

Market Place, Hawes DL8 3RD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Board Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Board Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    30
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
62
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a very nice meal here served by the very pleasant and happy Georgia, She made sure every thing was ok. Got quite a good sized meal, took my time eating it and managed to finish it. Was'nt staying in the hotel side so I can't make a comment there. It was full house though because quite a few people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed Saturday night and were made really welcome, our room was lovely , comfy beds and there is a great selection for breakfast. The meat was top quality. Great location in the middle of the dales. The board inn is in a row of 3 good pubs. Free WiFi. We ate on Saturday night and enjoyed proper pub food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I grew up visiting Hawes, and came back this week with my partner to show him how lovely it was and for a bit of nostalgia for me. We decided to eat here... Do not be fooled... I ordered Steak & Ale pie. We waited an hour for our food then when it came the realisation started the unfold. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice room comfy bed which is a pity as we were kept awake until nearly 3am. It seemed the staff had decided to let the bar customers have a very rowdy after hours party directly below our room. To allow people to sing shout and scream when they know they have guests trying to sleep in the rooms above shows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
junkeep1, Owner at The Board Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were kept awake during your stay. Unfortunately the noise was not from our Inn but the beer garden of our neighbours. We were also kept awake. We try to ensure our guests enjoy their stay, however, on some ocassions this is beyond our control. I can only apologise that your stay was less than perfect. More 

Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here a number of times during our stay in Hawes and enjoyed the ambiance of travellers mixed with locals. Food was fresh and tasty with some interesting things on the menu. It did take a while to arrive (only problamtic for a hungry post-walk Miss 8), so we learned to get there and order at 6pm before playing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Newly refurbished since Ann and her parents took over. The large clean and comfortable rooms have everything you'd need. Jane's freshly cooked breakfasts are delicious with lots of choice. Evening meal for 13 freshly cooked to order by Jane and all good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We stayed in this very friendly pub last weekend. We were made to feel very welcome. We ate in the pub I had the home made steak and ale pie which was lovely, very tasty, my husband had the Yorkshire burger. The pub is Cask mark and the drinks are excellent. The rooms are clean and staff are excellent. we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
junkeep1, Owner at The Board Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon! More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Very clean Inn, excellent drinks. However, the food was inedible. We ordered Steak & Ale Pie £9.99 each, we had 2 drinks each, waited 1 hour until 6pm when service started. The steak was grey,tough & dry with rock hard pastry. 25% refund given.

Was this review helpful? Yes
junkeep1, Owner at The Board Inn, responded to this review

You can't please everyone all of the time! The pie is one of our best selling lines and most people are very satisfied. You were asked if your meal was ok before you had finished and you all said it was. If at this point you had made your feelings known we would have addressed the problem; unfortunately you didn't.... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

We stayed over on a whim at the Board and found it to be friendly accommodating, clean, welcoming and actually could find nothing wrong with it. even our dog had a lovely restful night. We are actually a bit picky and they even provided us with a jug of soya milk for the lovely range of muesli (and other cereals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hull
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Looking for somewhere laid back but good food this is a good choice. Times for food are limited so quickly fills up but great pub with great atmosphere. We stayed in a cottage a few doors away and loved this pub. Ate there once, drank there every night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bulls Head Hotel
Bulls Head Hotel
#11 of 24 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 24 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay