We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grapes Inn

Certificate of Excellence
A171 Main Rd | Scaling Dam, Easington TS13 4TP, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grapes Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Grapes Inn
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Grapes Inn
See the most recent reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My colleague and I were given the name of the property as it was close to an inspection visit that we had to carry out in the area. We have stayed all over the world with the work that we do and can honestly say that nothing was as bad as this. Even a mud hut in Bolivia with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a fantastic stay here. The hosts are wonderful people who just want to make your stay a great one. The food was fantastic and I recommend the gorgeous fish cakes and fish pie without exception. There was a rumour of 'possible visitors in the night ' but this didn't happen in fact I don't believe that this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Staffs
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We were delighted that we could take the dog when we went for a meal recently. The place was very welcoming and the food was very good, huge portions and very good quality. The play area is lovely for children and we had a lovely evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Newcastle, England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed in July with the wife and our little Border Terrier. This was a great stopping off point enroute to Whitby (and to miss the TDF Traffic). Nice Scenic walk across the road to the lake, Room had a great view of the lake (above the sign) and it was comfortable. Breakfast next morning was ok. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

this place is the best around i have already recommended to my bestest friend who are staying their next week. i stay their again it is so near whitby it would be amazing for all children different ages i would most recomend this place for a lovely family as good as mine x

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My partner Kath and i booked in at The Grapes for Saturday night..We needed to be near Whitby for sunday the following morning.we were not due to arrive at the inn untill 1700 hrs so we had a very pleasent break in Sands end nr Whitby.then we set off for the Grapes which was just a 20 min drive from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I have to say in astonished by some of the reviews on here, I've just left the Grapes after a almost a week staying there. I've got to say my stay was flawless, mark and Lynn were lovely as were all of the other staff, just to temper this review I am critical when eating out and am not afraid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I come from a family of professional cooks and no way is this food cooked fresh as claimed in previous reviews the chips taste like cardboard as if they had been warmed from the day before the meat does no way taste fresh more like tinned you claim it from a local source I really think you should change your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
whitby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

where do i start with this place.from ordering are starter which was spicy prawns was horrible NOT fresh prawns coming from whitby i should no between fresh n frozen.some of the prawns were discoloured.my sister said the starter wasnt very nice to the girl that came to clear the plates.we waited an hour for our main meal chips looked like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at The Grapes Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that your visit did not meet either your expectations nor our usual high standards. We serve 200+ meals a week and the vast majority of these are to returning customers so your experience is not typical. The service you received is, however, unacceptable and the member of staff involved has been disciplined appropriately. Your comments about our... More 

Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We booked four rooms here with friends as we were going to a nearby wedding. The owner and bar staff were really friendly, the bar was cosy, and the location ideal for us. The rooms were small but very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast the next morning was fab, a full English all round cooked how we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question