We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Foxfields Country Hotel

Whalley Road, Billington BB7 9HY, England (Formerly Mercure Blackburn Foxfields Country Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Foxfields Country Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got a group on voucher for a spa visit followed by afternoon tea for two so thought I would give it a go. Great decision, really friendly staff throughout, couldn't do enough for you, good pool, steam room and sauna. Afternoon tea was absolutely great, have paid twice as much for inferior and didn't get a swim and sauna thrown... More 

Helpful?
Thank ozandang
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my partner recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding. We brought with us an iron to iron our clothes, in case the hotel did not have availability to borrow an iron. Upon checking out we thoroughly checked our room and left nothing behind, only to realise when we got home that the iron was not in our... More 

Helpful?
Thank 291frequenttraveller
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife went here and stayed over as part of her christmas night out, they had also had a meal. The rooms were a good size, some were better decorated than others but I believe they are being improved on a rolling programme. The cleanliness was ok but could have been better in the bathrooms. The staff were very friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank eduardandkate
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are staying here at present 15thJanuary . This evening we have experienced an excellent meal Our starters of Moules and Wild mushrooms were delicious. We both then had Fillet steaks that were tender,full of flavour and excellently cooked. The desserts were of the same high quality. The evening was made even more special by the attentive service of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine L
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic time. Food excellent. Hospitality exceptional. Stayed overnight. Room magnificent. Thank you Jean, Charles, David and all you Staff for giving us a thoroughly wonderful night. Will definitely be visiting you again.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
Foxfields_Hotel, Owner at Foxfields Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie, We were delighted that you decided to celebrate New Year with us and thank you for your lovely comments. All the best for 2016 More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful day spent at the Foxfield Country Hotel. Bought as a gift on Groupon for 4 adults with access to the spa facilities and afternoon tea with mulled wine. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and attentive. The food was lovely and the atmosphere and scenery was great. Couldn't fault the hotel and would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
Foxfields_Hotel, Owner at Foxfields Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natalie G, Thank you for your lovely comments and glad you enjoyed your visit and I sincerely hope that you and your friends will visit us again. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Went with a party of 10 on Christmas Day, couldn't fault it, everything from the food, service n atmosphere was amazing. And although the place was packed everyone seemed to have a great day. Well done the Foxfields and we'll be back next year.

Helpful?
Thank James H
Foxfields_Hotel, Owner at Foxfields Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and glad that you all enjoyed Christmas Day with us I wish you all the very best for 2016 and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Jean More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed every minute of our stay at Foxfields for the New Years Eve party night. From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and helpful, lovely big rooms, impeccably clean, great food, great service, great night. Thank you to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Janet W
Foxfields_Hotel, Owner at Foxfields Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and delighted that you enjoyed celebrating New Year with us. All the best of 2016 and sincerely hope that you will return to us during the year. Kind Regards Jean More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

Just had Christmas meal and I really would not recommend this hotel for the food.The meal was awful, starters cold and unappetising, vegetables tasteless, meat inedible, The whole meal was spoilt and we certainly will not be returning.

Helpful?
4 Thank Trevor B
Foxfields_Hotel, Owner at Foxfields Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trevor B We are sorry that you did not enjoy your Christmas Meal with us. On the day I offered you an another or alternative dish but I can appreciate that this is not what you wanted. I tried to rectify the situation and sorry that you were not happy. Although you state you will not return I have... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
684 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

I think they are in the process of undertaking a refurb - which is much needed. We'd booked a suite - not impressed at all. Very dated, I don't think I've ever seen light switches so antiquated in my life!

Helpful?
4 Thank Jilllian
Foxfields_Hotel, Owner at Foxfields Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jillian, Yes we are refurbishing the hotel - unfortunately we cannot do it all at once but do appreciate all of our guests comments as this highlights particular areas of concern. I do sincerely hope that you will return to us on a future occasion so that you can see the progress that we have made. All the best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Billington
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
0.7 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
10.1 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay