We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Scunthorpe B&Bs / inns

Normanby Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   9 / 11 Normanby Road, Scunthorpe DN15 6AR , England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (35)
  • Photos (6)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • More
Normanby Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Scunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scunthorpe
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
1
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was informed that they cannot cater for vegans so my booking was abruptly cancelled. How hard is to provide a breakfast for a vegan from the range already available I am sure - Beans on toast, fruit, herbal tea - even if they don't want to go to the expense of buying a carton of soya milk!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for just a single night while away with work. Rooms are clean and well decorated, everyone was pleasant and they made sure that you had everything that you needed. Free wi-fi is good and the breakfast was excellent too. Parking can be a bit limited out front but there are enough free spaces around if needed. Will happily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

As a group of 13 travelling down from Scotland we booked the Normanby for one night. The location was perfect for our business in Scunthorpe. Perfect would be the word to describe our visit, Jo was a great host, rooms comfortable and clean, facilities good and the full English breakfast was just what we needed in the morning. We have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I think the owner is very rude lady, she also lets her dog walk around the kitchen whilst cooking breakfast, she goes into your room while your not there and checks on u. There is no parking, the showers are shocking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josephinde H, Owner at Normanby Guesthouse, responded to this review

We welcome any feedback from our guests, but in this case the lies written are hardly worth a response! This review was left to cause maximum damage. The guest was told to vacate the room as we do not tolerate drugs being used on the premises and also have a strict no smoking policy. I am also very unhappy that... More

Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had the great pleasure to stay for two nights at the Normany Guest house. It was even more beautiful than I expected it to be. The location is perfect because one is very close to the town centre and in my case it was important because of the new Baths Hall. Josephine was fantastic. No matter what I needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josephinde H, Owner at Normanby Guesthouse, responded to this review

We welcome any feedback from our guests, but in this case the lies written are hardly worth a response! This review was left to cause maximum damage. The guest was told to vacate the room as we do not tolerate drugs being used on the premises and also have a strict no smoking policy. I am also very unhappy that... More

UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Had to stay over for a night in Scunthorpe for work purposes. I was a little early than expected but was able to park up and leave my bag in the room. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was great and listening to the other guests there seemed to be alot of repeat business with the guests talking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I had a one night stay on business, my room was warm, comfortable and well kept. Jo was efficient and welcoming without being intrusive, just what I like I will definitely stay there again. Bob Bridge

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night on 10/12/13 as we was in the area for a works Christmas party. On arrival we was welcomed by Jo the manageress and Lloyd the lovely dog we was promptly shown to our room. The room was lovely and clean with a modern feel to it. A decent size tv occupied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here last week whilst on business and was very impressed. I was welcomed so warmly, the room was fine and everywhere was immaculate! Jo is a wonderful host, nothing is too much trouble and her love for her work is evident in everything. Her team are great too and the only small problem I had was the Wifi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our second visit, and once again it was everything you could wish for in a B and B. Jo is a perfect host that clearly takes pride in what she does and it shows. The rooms are beautifully maintained and clean, the breakfast choices will suit anyone and you feel relaxed and at ease the moment you arrive.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Normanby Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Normanby Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normanby Guesthouse

Address: 9 / 11 Normanby Road, Scunthorpe DN15 6AR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Normanby Guesthouse 3*
Also Known As:
Normanby Guesthouse Scunthorpe, England

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Normanby Guesthouse to your Saves list