We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Scunthorpe B&Bs / inns

Normanby Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Normanby Guesthouse to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   9 / 11 Normanby Road, Scunthorpe DN15 6AR , England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (37)
  • Photos (6)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • More
Normanby Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 12 Scunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scunthorpe
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
2
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warrnambool
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

After a shaky start,(no one around to check us in for about 40 minutes at round 3pm), we were met by owner Jo who'd been out shopping and said she didn't get my calls as her phone was broken. She took us to our room upstairs, then saw all our luggage and gave us a much nicer, larger downstairs room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived on a Sunday evening was greeted by the owner & the boss (the dog) was shown to room had No12 room was clean and tidy nice au-suit shower & WC all done out in modern décor, with good size TV, given keys to front door and room, so could come and go as I pleased, was only staying one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was informed that they cannot cater for vegans so my booking was abruptly cancelled. How hard is to provide a breakfast for a vegan from the range already available I am sure - Beans on toast, fruit, herbal tea - even if they don't want to go to the expense of buying a carton of soya milk!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josephinde H, Owner at Normanby Guesthouse, responded to this review

Beans on toast, or any combination of hot non meat breakfast food is always on offer. In addition, there is a choice of brown or white bread, a wide selection of cereals. Plain and chocolate muffins, brioche,, croissants, fruit, nuts, herbal and fruit teas. I politely informed the guest that we do not provide the nut or almond milk and... More

Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed for just a single night while away with work. Rooms are clean and well decorated, everyone was pleasant and they made sure that you had everything that you needed. Free wi-fi is good and the breakfast was excellent too. Parking can be a bit limited out front but there are enough free spaces around if needed. Will happily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

As a group of 13 travelling down from Scotland we booked the Normanby for one night. The location was perfect for our business in Scunthorpe. Perfect would be the word to describe our visit, Jo was a great host, rooms comfortable and clean, facilities good and the full English breakfast was just what we needed in the morning. We have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I think the owner is very rude lady, she also lets her dog walk around the kitchen whilst cooking breakfast, she goes into your room while your not there and checks on u. There is no parking, the showers are shocking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josephinde H, Owner at Normanby Guesthouse, responded to this review

We welcome any feedback from our guests, but in this case the lies written are hardly worth a response! This review was left to cause maximum damage. The guest was told to vacate the room as we do not tolerate drugs being used on the premises and also have a strict no smoking policy. I am also very unhappy that... More

Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had the great pleasure to stay for two nights at the Normany Guest house. It was even more beautiful than I expected it to be. The location is perfect because one is very close to the town centre and in my case it was important because of the new Baths Hall. Josephine was fantastic. No matter what I needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josephinde H, Owner at Normanby Guesthouse, responded to this review

We welcome any feedback from our guests, but in this case the lies written are hardly worth a response! This review was left to cause maximum damage. The guest was told to vacate the room as we do not tolerate drugs being used on the premises and also have a strict no smoking policy. I am also very unhappy that... More

UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Had to stay over for a night in Scunthorpe for work purposes. I was a little early than expected but was able to park up and leave my bag in the room. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was great and listening to the other guests there seemed to be alot of repeat business with the guests talking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I had a one night stay on business, my room was warm, comfortable and well kept. Jo was efficient and welcoming without being intrusive, just what I like I will definitely stay there again. Bob Bridge

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night on 10/12/13 as we was in the area for a works Christmas party. On arrival we was welcomed by Jo the manageress and Lloyd the lovely dog we was promptly shown to our room. The room was lovely and clean with a modern feel to it. A decent size tv occupied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Normanby Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Normanby Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normanby Guesthouse

Address: 9 / 11 Normanby Road, Scunthorpe DN15 6AR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Normanby Guesthouse 3*
Also Known As:
Normanby Guesthouse Scunthorpe, England

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Scunthorpe with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Normanby Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer