We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The St. James' Hotel Grimsby

St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The St. James\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    81
    65
    50
    49
See reviews for
34
59
24
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I'm not sure where the pictures of the nice room on the website came from but if those rooms were in this hotel we clearly drew the short straw. My room looked like it should be rented by the hour. I had a gander through the reviews and the person replying must spend a hellish amount of time doing this...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff were really helpful and friendly, catered to our every need without question. Check in was easy. The room was really clean (furniture and décor was dated but not a problem), had a lovely bathroom and wardrobe, TV and desk. Bed was quite comfortable, not the best but we had a good nights sleep. Really good for the price!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and after reading the other reviews I did not know what to expect. I arrived early and was given a room, which was great. The room I agree was tired however the bed was so comfortable I had a great nights sleep although the room was hot. The room was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bedfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dear, oh, dear . . . . how can one possibly recommend this tired old hotel with it's faded, terrible decor? Our bedroom had one of the worst mattresses we've ever experienced, cigarette burns on the bedside table, a dripping tap, rattling bathroom fan, water-ingress stains on the wallpaper above the exotic car-park view window, and smelled of stale tobacco... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. In the first instance, please accept my apologies for any disappointment you may have suffered during your stay at the St James. Secondly, thank you for your positive comments. There is no denying that the hotel requires upgrading in many areas,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Grimsby hotels

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My step dad, brother and me stayed here for the British superbikes. Excellent location but could do with a bit of an upgrade. It's clean and the staff are friendly so that makes up for the well used interior. Never sampled the food but seen some that a guy had at the next table and it looked really nice. Perfect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. All reviews are welcomed and gratefully received. On this occasion I am delighted to note you saw fit to reward us with a positive review. On behalf of all my team - Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For money its so so, not eager to please but passably clean apart from no toilet brush. If you want food don't go there. The normally below average food can fall below edible especially breakfast - deeply annoying if you are at work all day at sea and relying on a decent breakfast. Immensely disappointing and confusing why normal management... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are very grateful for all reviews and will always address any issues that arise from them where possible and reasonable. Generally the hotel and its team are consistent in their approach and service standards and very rarely fall short of them.... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this hotel recently for 2 nights and have got to say I had no complaints. My wife, 5 yr old daughter and I wanted to go to Cleethorpes for a couple of days but couldn't find anywhere available that was dog friendly. Although, this was a little further out of Cleethorpes than we would of preferred, it was pet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the St James hotel. I am delighted you, your family and pooch all enjoyed your stay. We are all very aware that the hotel requires attention in areas but I am very pleased you saw past these issues and saw the many positives... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Flippin 'eck! Unfortunately, grim is the most fitting word to describe this hotel. It wasn't horrific, as some reviews described. We booked in desperation, as we were travelling up from Birmingham to see 'The Karen and Kevin Show' (which was amazing beyond belief!!) It was reasonably priced and we weren't pushing the boat out for a romantic break or anything.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. All reviews are welcomed, both positive and negative and where possible and reasonable, action is taken to rectify any issues identified. I am delighted you enjoyed your evening's entertainment. The auditorium at Grimsby does put on some fantastic events. I am however a little... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We was rather disappointed with this hotel. It is very very dated, and for the price we paid we would expect more. We had a very old tired room, not sure where they keep the nice rooms from the pictures they advertise. Our bed was just a double which was lumpy and had a dip so we would both end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the St James hotel in Grimsby. In the first instance I would like to offer my apologies on what has obviously been a disappointing stay for you and your family. Our bed stock is currently under review and replacement beds and mattresses are... More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading the reviews after booking we were a little apprehensive and was dreading what was to come. As with some negative reviews... take with a pinch of salt! The hotel was nothing like! We stayed in a refurbished room and it was nicer and more comfortable than the travel lodges we often stay in! We stayed two nights and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the St James, all reviews are gratefully received regardless of wether or not they or negative or positive. I am delighted to note that in this instance it is more than positive - it is very positive! Thank you! We have worked very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Grimsby
Premier Inn Grimsby
#2 of 8 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
1.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#4 of 8 in Grimsby
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes
Premier Inn Cleethorpes
#1 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay