We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant

12 - 18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    55
    62
    44
    26
    30
See reviews for
46
87
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i recently stayed here in the executive room . but there were no toiletries in the bathroom and the shaving light did not work above sink the bedroom carpet was very grubby , the breakfast service slow and not in order of who arrived first , the baked beans were cold too . defininatly not worth £94 ???

Was this review helpful? Yes
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to the Dovedale for my birthday afternoon tea, we walked into the bar area and there wasn't much of a greeting, once ordered our food we choose to sit outside as there was only one other table in and this was lunchtime, our drinks and afternoon tea came to us very fast, good value but, the sandwich was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel happily supplied gluten-free bread and soya milk. We stayed three days. The full English breakfast improved in quantity each day. Cheese omelette, beans on toast and scrambled eggs on toast all very bountiful, and they did not skimp on extra toast either. Yoghurt, cereal, juice, and a choice of marmalade or jam, tea or coffee. Lovely crisp sheets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Weekend break phoned on the Thursday before to confirm booking and explain diet requirements as I'm coeliac and need gluten free , my husband also let reception know the day before as its only right to give them fair warning , ordering breakfast this morning I was told they had nothing in as I should have told them before and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dovedale_Hotel, Manager at The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologise sincerely for the lack of communication. It was myself that was informed upon arrival. The morning staff should have had the facilities to provide gluten free breakfast upon request as this is a basic service for the hotel to provide. I will speak with them to ensure that they are always able to... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a quite attractive looking hotel situated in a side street in Cleethorpes. However, inside it is very tired and although very clean, is need of a good refurbishment. The restaurant is the highpoint with excellent food and friendly efficient service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a standard double, as walk in last minute stay, and, as we weren't intending staying overnight hadn't checked reviews beforehand, but, I am very pleased to say the reviews I read, must have been for some other Dovedale Hotel, as the one hubby and I stayed at in Cleethorpes, was nothing like the horrible reviews I read about. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

This hotel does not offer wot it states. Iam there now utter joke for wot we paid. They offer48 hours cancalation fee! Wot happens wen room not good enough ! They dont offer refund wot a joke. Management are a joke. Im in room 8 if managment want a chat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dovedale_Hotel, Manager at The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for participating in TripAdvisor's community. We always encourage customers to post factual reviews. The customer who posted this review has done so with the intention of a refund or compensation. Everything we state on our booking, on our website or over the phone is guaranteed and in this case, has been fulfilled. The room was booked online as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cleethorpes hotels

Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I went here supposedly for a lovely meal with friends however was disappointed. Despite the fact that we had booked and there were only one other table of people in there, we waited around 40 minutes to be seated. Our food came out fairly quick and was adequate. Nothing special. Around 30 minutes after finishing our mains we were going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We stayed in the executive room. It was okay, comfy bed. But was said to be 'amazing' so I was disappointed. There was stains on the bedroom floor and as for the bathroom, there was said to be toiletries, but there was only hand wash. The bed was made poorly and the room did not smell clean. As for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We stayed here one night in July in room 8, it was very clean well presented with a comfy bed, sofa & all the expected extras, the bathroom was huge but a little tired but still very clean, the receptionist was lovely when we checked in & arranged an early check in for us which we really appreciated. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes
Premier Inn Cleethorpes
#1 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clee House Hotel
Clee House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#3 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#4 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay