We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel

10 Market Place | 10 Market Place, Alford LN13 9EB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    4
    4
    1
    9
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Beeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I understood the owners were newish so things will improve slowly I am sure. The staff I met were lovely especially the young man that carried my bags up 2 flights of stairs without me even asking. The room was okay, some decorating or updating would make a nice improvement. I could not actually get any wifi my my 3G... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank these guests for their honest review and can assure them that major improvements are planned for the winter months. We only took over the hotel in February this year, and have been striving hard to upgrade the rooms where possible. Unfortunately, being a listed building means that repairs to windows etc. require planning permission and... More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked 2 rooms (one twin, one double) both were a good size with everything you would expect. Decor a little tired. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. As others have noted, on Friday and Saturday nights the pub part is open till 2am. So expect noise. If you want a cheap room, of reasonable quality but can put up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Being a listed building our options for improvement are somewhat limited. However, we will be re-decorating the interior during the winter months. We have only occupied the premises since February this year. Once a fortnight, on Friday nights, we have live entertainment in the Public Bar but this cannot be heard in the hotel bedrooms. There is occasionally exterior noise... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to celebrate a family occasion, four couples stayed overnight and had an evening meal here. First impressions were that it was very tired and in need of refurbishment throughout, our room looked clean and tidy, with some of the conveniences expected but not all of them. The stairs had minimal lighting with a lashed together sensor light that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

We accept that the premises are in need of refurbishment and re-decorating. However, being a listed building does restrict our options somewhat. Since this guest left the lighting on the stairs has been upgraded. I apologise if the cleanliness of the room did not meet the guests expectations however, the criticism of the bathroom is unfounded. As for wasting hard... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely people everyone very friendly good facilities in room bottled water, tea and coffee, toiletries, satellite TV plenty of plug points for all our gadgets. not noisy as reported in some reviews good breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

These guests were a pleasure to accommodate and we are delighted they enjoyed their stay with us. We thank them wholeheartedly and hope they visit us again. More 

Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel after a 4 1/2 hour drive and were greeted with, can we get you a cup of tea or coffee whilst we take your luggage to your room ? What service. The staff are very friendly and very accommodating 1st class in fact, we were booked in for 3 nights and enjoyed our time as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

We wish to convey our wholehearted thanks to these guests for their glowing review. We are also delighted that they enjoyed their stay with us and look forward to their possible return in the future. Guests such as these make the efforts of the staff thoroughly worthwhile. Once again many, many thanks More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived the staff were polite and helpful. When we got to our room we found it to be clean and well looked after, a little old in the decor but in keeping with the building so nothing to complain about there. We went out for the day and arrived back at the hotel around 11pm and the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Once a fortnight, on a Friday night, we have live entertainment and we accept that on these nights the noise levels are somewhat higher than usual. We were unaware, until this guest complained, that the music could be heard in the room above the bar. However, this was turned down on request. As for the level of noise, this guest... More 

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the family room, it was very clean, comfortable, and had every amenity we could possible hope for. The room was en-suite, with a large shower, no bath. We had a TV and DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities, towels, shower gel,soap etc. Biscuits and chocolates were also provided. We had our evening meal in the Indian Restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

These guests were an absolute pleasure to accommodate and thank them for their honest and positive review. It really is rewarding for the staff when their efforts are recognised like this. We look forward to seeing them again in the future. All of the rooms on the top floor are shower only and this is due to the heating arrangements,... More 

Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We stayed at this Hotel and were looked after wonderfully, nothing was too much trouble, if you asked for something you got it without a wait. The food in the Restaurant was excellent. All in all a brilliant stay and would definitely recommend the the Windmill

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of everyone at The Windmill I wish to thank these guests for their glowing review. It was an absolute pleasure accommodating them and we look forward to any possible return visit. More 

Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We stayed one night the food was great the staff were very helpful rooms very good would stay here again without a doubt The only drawback was the stairs for my mum as she is disabled but we were told that before we booked and the staff made every effort to accommodate her overall very pleased with the hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronald W, General Manager at The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

We wish to convey our gratitude for such an honest, but positive, review. We are aware that the stairs can be a problem, but if, as in this case, we are made aware before arrival, arrangements can be made. We are also delighted that despite the stairs these guests enjoyed their stay with us and would welcome them back with... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

I drove just over 2 & half hours after work to stay at the Windmill ready to enjoy a full day in Skegness the following day, we arrived just after 23:00, the man was demanding we pay upfront and not on departure, when we arrived in the room on top floor there were tea making facilities but no kettle, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ronald W, Manager at The Windmill Family & Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

The only problem with the room was the lack of hot water, a problem we were unaware of until the guests arrived. This was due to a blown fuse which could have been rectified had they been more cooperative. Incidentally, when the room was checked about 5 pm the water was hot. This problem did not affect the central heating... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
The Grange & Links Hotel and Sandilands Golf Club
9.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Clarendon Lodge
Clarendon Lodge
#22 of 26 in Skegness
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#20 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 26 in Skegness
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay