We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Wigan Hotel

Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Wigan Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    95
    97
    105
    254
See reviews for
97
209
30
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (586)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (189)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
There are newer reviews for Britannia Wigan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We travelled here with Travellstyle holidays for a five day break. The holiday was to see the Lake District and surrounding area. I had read the reviews on trip adviser after we had booked the holiday and wished I hadn't! The comments of the hotel were very mixed with most of them being bad. Well we found the hotel o.k.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to make your review and all your positive feedback is highly appreciated and all our staff will be made be aware of this. I do apologise that you felt slightly let down by the standard of your room and hope on your next visit you will see the improvements we are constantly... More 

Level Contributor
190 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

A good sized carpark on arrival. The receptionist was okay spoke fast so had trouble understand her. The room itself was okay bit dated and mixed match decorated style, the bed was comfortable enough and the shower was okay in the morning. Breakfast was your self service style , no fresh fruit nor yogurts on offer. In the brochure it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peterlee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

we travelled to wigan with National holidays for a 4 day break and we liked this place from the very start our room115 was family room with a great bed it was reasonably clean a cool room the bathroom was a bit basic but adequate the meals were good and a good timetable for eating and on wednesday dinner the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write to the review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team at Britannia Hotel are proud to hear such a nice review. We all look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you enjoy many more visits with us. Kind Regards From all the... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

It is two years since I last stayed here, and the standard has fallen so much in those two years as to make it virtually uninhabitable for my needs. The staff are friendly and helpful but cannot make up for the shabby, neglected and downright dirty accommodation. Sad to say this is one Brittania Inn off my list.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. As a hotel we are constantly refurbishing and updating as part of an ongoing basis, over the last couple of months alone, we have refurnished a large number of our rooms as well as making a number of changes to our public and outside areas. These... More 

Travelers are raving about these Standish hotels

Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

I had my wedding here on the 21st Febuary this year and I could not praise it enough if you are looking for a cheap and cheerfull wedding experience. It was lovely and clean, the food was really nice and the staff were amazingly helpful, nothing was too much trouble for the wedding co ordinator she was lovely and extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. All feedback is important to us but it is especially rewarding to hear such positive comments. Again thank you for your review and all the best for your future! Kind Regards All the staff at Britannia Wigan More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Booked and prepaid for this hotel 4 months beforehand. When arriving at the hotel, was told the room was unavailable as a conference had been booked in instead! The manager was unhelpful, really did not seem bothered that we had prepaid for the room, and verged on being blatantly rude. In the end, we had to get a refund and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and review. I apologise if you feel let down by your booking. We are rest assured that our team were on hand to help rectify the situation for you, nevertheless, we have sent out a personal response following your direct contact with ourselves and hope you find the information and details within satisfactory to your... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

When booking this hotel we were attracted by the photo's and description of the heated indoor pool and health club facilities . We booked on what they showed and arrived expecting to have use of the facilities . After an efficient check in and room allocation I went down to the pool. However while it was as on the website... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor as all feedback is highly appreciated. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. I apologise for the misunderstanding regards to the prices of our health club. We will take the time and care to make sure... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

My husband and I stayed overnight as part of a coach tour. The hotel advertised "Traditional English Fare, International dishes and delicious carvery. We had driven down from Scotland and had a few hours in Chester before arriving at the hotel for evening dinner at 7.00pm. The meal was a disappointment to say the least. Tomato soup or salad for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of the Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were disappointed to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us. Within the hotel on any given day there are many different guests all with their own wants and requirements as to how and when... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights due to work and was worried on reading reviews on the hotel after booking but was pleasantly surprised on arrival, lovely friendly staff and on check in lovely spacious room with bath and all amenities. Room 211 had 2 beds,a single and double plus desk top with seats to sit and watch TV in evening.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to write your review. All your comments are highly appreciated by all our team. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I stayed here as part of a national blind tenpin bowling competition. I was not looking forward to it from reading previous reviews. However I was very pleasantly surprised. It is an older hotel but the rooms were spacious and very comfortable. There were a couple of small issues with the rooms but these were rectified quickly. We had breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is highly appreciated and all your suggestions and comments have been taken into appreciation. I am also very glad to hear that your association has rebooked for the future and all our team look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Macdonald Kilhey Court
#2 of 4 in Standish
3.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan - M6 J27
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre
0.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay