We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Wigan Hotel

Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Britannia Wigan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here 1 night as we have been to several Britannia hotels but the wigan wasnt the best hotel, room wasnt clean especially in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and the food was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from this Hotel, we booked Britannia Best Western for 4 nights, as a well known Branded hotel, with what we perceived as quality surroundings to relax between our work days. Upon arrival, the front of house staff at reception were excellent in our greeting and booking in process, and this is were it stopped. The noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barrie C

Travelers are raving about these Standish hotels

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

booked dbb wine break asked if meals were buffet told us yes went in for dinner only four booked in so asked for soup not on menu pate or somthing else supposed to be toast still dont know what it was it was so thin you could see through it ordered the steak pie when it came the chips were... More 

Helpful?
Thank elizabeth y
Warstein, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was not too bad, bedrooms where okay. The staff was very nice and always helpful. There are only a few things you need to improve like water overflowing on the roof. The breakfast was better than I expected and it was a hot breakfast :)

Helpful?
Thank marc12490
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here fortunately for just one night. The room I had was OK , but a bit run down. You could not use the WiFi in your room , it was only available in the reception or bar area. This is not really exceptable in 2016... ( subtle hint for the owners ) The breakfast was very greasy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel Barry H
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. The majority of our rooms have access to our free WiFi. i apologise that on this occasion the WiFi didnt reach your room but we will look to rectify this should you stay with us again. Our Breakfast buffet is popular amongst a large number of guests and the quality of our food... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in October after a wedding we had attended nearby. The Hotel is very basic but the rooms were ok for what you pay. The problem is the refugees that are being held in the Hotel, all men too? . They wander avoid the Hotel waiting to be called by the officials in the Reception area? It was... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank gem663
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. More 

Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

The place is a disgrace. The food is utterly disgusting. Nothing for a child to eat. Reception and bar area no heating - freezing. Room shabby window locks broken. Reported this but nothing done. Yes there are a lot of foreign people in the hotel but they do try to keep you away from them. You couldn't use the spa... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank calgaryflame
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We offer a range of food choices in both our restaurant and bars but should there of been nothing to meet your requirements, our staff and chefs are on hand to offer a range of alternatives for all of our customers. We do also... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

Stayed for one night on23/11/2015 the hotel is full of asylum seekers doors banging all night as they are in and out of each other's rooms constant noise,banging on the floor and loud voices untill early hours it was like being in student hall of residence,I have stayed at this hotel before but never again.

Helpful?
12 Thank sleepless347
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. However I deem this review unfair as it is not a honest and appropriate review of our hotel and as such, have asked for it to be removed. However, I hope that you change your mind and choose to use us again in the future and gain a much truer opinion of... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015 via mobile

My wife, our three children and I needed somewhere to stay during a family visit. Having stayed at this hotel around 10 years previous, I stupidly ignored all the terrible reviews and online news articles about this hotel. If you are considering booking this hotel for your family, please, do not do it. If you are reading the reviews after... More 

Helpful?
29 Thank richardmonks
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Customer feedback is important to us and is an imperitive part of our business. I apologise you was unhappy with the condition of your room, we are constantly upgrading and refurnishing our bedrooms and hope you will see this for yourself on your next stay. Be sure to visit our website for a range of fantastic offers... More 

Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

We had a 1 night stay at the Britannia Wigan Hotel recently. We have the following issues to report: 1. Furnishings, fittings and furniture very tired and jaded. 2. Wallpaper peeling away. 3. Grout in bathroom in need of repair, some tiles were sticking out. 4. Wi-fi reception in room non-existent. For a hotel chain, this is not acceptable. 5.... More 

Helpful?
24 Thank Meenzer59
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review, we have also received your feedback through our customer services emails and as such have sent you the results of our investigation into your complaint. I hope you find this satisfactory and will gain a much truer reflection of the hotel on your next visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Macdonald Kilhey Court
#2 of 4 in Standish
3.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
0.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay