We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Wigan Hotel

Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Wigan Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    35
    93
    94
    101
    251
See reviews for
94
204
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (574)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (177)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went. As part of a National Holidays 3 day package. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean bed was comfortable. Coffee and tea tray in the room and you get mugs, my top top would be to take these to breakfast with you as you only get small cups at breakfast and the drinks are self service. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

They say there once was a dream that was Wigan: jewel of the north-west, birthplace of Kay Burley and, most importantly, home to this Britannia hotel. I am not a man given to hyperbole but, upon arriving in Wigan with high expectations at around 11pm, my first reaction to the Britannia hotel was nothing short of awe. Its towering glass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

stayed at this hotel at the end of june for 2 nights (fri & sat), we did not arrive at the hotel until 8pm on friday eve only to find out that we could not eat at the hotel restaurant as it closes at 8pm. This was disappointing after a 6hr drive so we ate in the pub opposite. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eastyorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with National Holidays. Yes you get what you pay for and it was nt expensive. But it has to be said between the tour operater and the hotel management we are stuck in the middle, with shabby accomodation, and no enertainment but for one night. A happy hour that you are not told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Standish hotels

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I booked two nights at this hotel because of its location, close to the M6, and our expectations were not too high. We were not disappointed as it is probably one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The first thing we noticed on our arrival was that the automatic glass entrance doors were filthy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Buffet dinner comprised soup or smoked fish(not sure what fish) and salad followed by roast pork or stew(guests were discussing whether it was Irish stew or scouse)frozen mixed vegetables or what appeared to be vegetable stew which I chose. This was a mistake as these vegetables were shocking, the flavour was indescribable and totally spoilt the rest of the meal.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for your review of our Bar & Restaurant. Over the last few months we have made a number of changes and vast improvements, not only to our food but the range of options available which has produced a large amount of positive feedback from the majority of the guests using our hotel and with 3... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Please do not book this food is poor. Nothing to do also rooms are very dated broken sink taps not working.do not book any trip from travelstyle because they hotels have all bad reviews better off paying extra and getting a good hotel as they always use britannia hotel which are all run down

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

All feedback is highly important to us and we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We would like to make you aware that we have a maintenance team on hand to resolve any such problems and our staff are trained to help rectify any issues you may come across. As per décor, we run a... More 

scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Most definitely a modest 3star just off the motorway budget hotel Decent enough entrance but the rooms as so 70s decor Cold and dreary bed was clean but the bathroom cistern took an age to refill shower was ok but then again no heating in bathroom Breakfast was self service the usual stuff stodgy and cold The tables were all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, As always, your feedback is appreciated, and as such use it in our constant efforts to upgrade, refurnish and redecorate our hotel. I can only apologise that you felt let down by your stay and hope should you return again in the future, you will see this first hand. Also, unlike your recommended alternative, we are a... More 

scunthorpe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled here with Travellstyle holidays for a five day break. The holiday was to see the Lake District and surrounding area. I had read the reviews on trip adviser after we had booked the holiday and wished I hadn't! The comments of the hotel were very mixed with most of them being bad. Well we found the hotel o.k.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to make your review and all your positive feedback is highly appreciated and all our staff will be made be aware of this. I do apologise that you felt slightly let down by the standard of your room and hope on your next visit you will see the improvements we are constantly... More 

Level Contributor
175 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good sized carpark on arrival. The receptionist was okay spoke fast so had trouble understand her. The room itself was okay bit dated and mixed match decorated style, the bed was comfortable enough and the shower was okay in the morning. Breakfast was your self service style , no fresh fruit nor yogurts on offer. In the brochure it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (152)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay