We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Wigan Hotel

Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Wigan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    95
    97
    105
    254
See reviews for
97
209
30
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (586)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (189)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wasn't looking for the Ritz, just a shower and a bed for the night after a long drive. Staff were welcoming, room basic but clean. Furnishings becoming a little dated but nothing major. The room i was given is number 141, directly next to the pool. Woke up in the morning to strange loud gurgling sounds, which i can only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review as feedback is vital to our company and your comments are greatly appreciated. As a hotel we are always looking to improve and refurnish were neccesary and as such have an ongoing program to do so. As a note our wifi is free with a password required which is available at reception.... More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before we arrived at the hotel, my other half had read news stories and read other reviews here that briefly terrified us, and it was all largely based on the use of the hotel by Serco for temporarily sheltering people seeking asylum in the UK. However, we are not people who are quick to judge. We resolved to enjoy our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and we will notify the appropriate staff of your compliments. We value all our feedback and as such, look to improve our rooms and hotel where necessary in response. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and wish you all the best for your forthcoming arrival. Kind Regards... More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice welcome after our journey and THAT was the last 'nice' thing about this place. I'll maybe concede a reasonably comfortable bed. We were advised to phone on our way down to advise of our arrival time, so that the kitchen would stay open for us. Thinking this was very kind of them, we phoned and were told they would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 30
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank You very much for your review as feedback is very important to us. We are looking at each issue you have raised to address appropriately. I will private message you on this format with contact details to allow us to personally address the issues you have raised. Kind Regards Customer Services More 

Travelers are raving about these Standish hotels

north yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

stayed at this hotel through a national break, room was very nice, first evening meal on Monday was disappointing, very limited main meal.Breakfast next morning was nice, made up for the previous evening meal, Tuesdays evening meal was much better. Wednesday was a shambles, no fruit juice, no butter, no bacon , people queueing up for food, no staff, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 37
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Where do I start? A trickle and I mean a trickle of scalding hot water in the wash basin, water in the shower took some adjusting due to the dangerously hot temperature. Mouldy shower curtain, filthy bathroom floor and walls with a dead spider clinging to the tiles complete with it's very lengthy and intricate web. Window only opened slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 32
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

The hotel was really dirty. The room I had was mouldy, there was hair and dirt all around the bathroom floor. A packet of crisps was dropped onto the reception floor at 7pm, and the contents were still on the carpet the next morning when I left. The windows could not open properly. I will never return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however I encourage you to return and gain a much truer experience of our hotel and what we have to offer. Be certain to visit our website for a range of fantastic deals and offers. More 

Prescot, Merseyside
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We have stayed here a few times and last visited Saturday 25th July. We were checked in by a lovely lady who was very cheery and welcoming. Our room, as always was clean and everything worked fine. The room was warm, but it was a sunny day and there is no aircon. We had a drink in the bar and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We arrived on this hotel via Hotwire.com and the had it listed it as a 4 star hotel. Maybe a 2 star if lucky. The front staff was brilliant, however the rest of it lack - a lot! #1 I always bring my own blanket in case I need to sleep on it - which i did. Had to roll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
Angus
Level Contributor
288 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

This hotel is relatively straightforward to find just off the M6 motorway. A taxi to Wigan station will take 15-20 minutes. Check in was quick and professional. The bedroom was very spacious and modern. However, there was an interlocking door through to the adjacent room so I could hear the television and talking from the occupants. The reception area seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

The biggest positive for me was how helpful and polite and positive the reception, bar staff, manageress and waitering on staff were and the gym manager were. Could not fault them 1 bit. The room was big and clean and tea facilities were kept plentiful. The bar was quite cheap. The restaurant is quite big and the food is self... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Macdonald Kilhey Court
#2 of 4 in Standish
3.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan - M6 J27
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre
0.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay