We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitehall Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Off Ross Street | Park Road, Blackburn, BB3, Darwen BB3 2JU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Whitehall Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, there were some very positive aspects. The room was ok, generally clean, with a very comfortable bed and good bed linen. Good TV, and a nice tray of tea and coffee making materials. Despite a wedding party being present, we slept well with no noise or disturbance during the night. The breakfast was again quite good. The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hollinsman
Lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have used this venue in the past for an event, as well as recommending it for hotel stays to friends and relatives. I also used to frequent MJ's restaurant before it closed. However, it is clear that return custom matters not a jot to them. They were shockingly disinterested in my small wedding enquiry. Condescending, unprofessional and patronising. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank littlebuddha
Neil-Bullows, Owner at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

This is not my first response to the reviewer.This incident took place over a week ago and we were informed by the reviewer she had secured an alternative venue. It is quite apparent that she holds a grudge against a very good employee and is consumed in attempting to further discredit the business because we would NOT say yes to... More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attended New Year Dinner Dance and Stayed overnight. The food and service was very good and the management were helpful and efficient The Disco by Harvey was brilliant and well pitched to the attending clientelle. The bedroom was small but warm and cosy. The bar was a little understocked and the staff inexperienced and charged me £3 for a spirit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
Neil-Bullows, Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Peter. Delighted that you enjoyed the evening and very pleased the bar service was managed to your satisfaction. Harvey, is currently working on organising various tribute acts for the year and would hope we may have one which may encourage you to return. We will be publishing the events on our face book page... More 

Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

I was part of a party of eight people who attended a new Year Eve Dinner Party. We have been attending this function for a number of years, and was always greeted with a glass of bubbly and canopies which is a small gesture but in my opinion a nice introduction to the evening. To my surprise this year it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

On the 14th of November my grandson Simon Leeming married Laura Mariner at Whitehall. The Wedding went off perfectly. The Venue wedding arrangements accommodation were perfect. Every member of staff that we came into contact with could not have been more helpful. The food at the reception was hot and plentiful. The evening reception disco and buffet really good. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank 518Cookie38
Neil-Bullows, Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you and delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding day. We also wish Simon & Laura every happiness in the future. More 

Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

We stayed at the Whitehall for a long weekend. The room was so quiet I had the best nights sleep in months (room 37). They also did a vegetarian breakfast for me which I'm really grateful for and it was delicious! The staff were the friendliest I've ever come across and welcoming and warm. If I need to be in... More 

Helpful?
Thank susm164
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Yet again had a brilliant time Elaine couldn't do enough for us , the staff waiting on and behind the bar were fabulous , food was excellent , And what can I say about the dj no words can say how good he was .From my feed back as one of the organisers every single one enjoyed it .All I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronabrown
Neil-Bullows, Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your Christmas party. We are delighted that you will be returning to us next year! I will ensure Harvey (DJ & Quiz Master) is aware of your feedback - we still have the winner's bottle at the hotel for collection -:). More 

Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Arrived Saturday 5th December for our annual Christmas party we were greeted on arrival and quickly went through then process of booking in. Our room was lovely we've actually stayed in this room about three times s we know it quite well, yet again it was a lovely clean and welcoming room. The food for the party was excellent and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tez144
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Myself and the fiance have just come back from a meeting with Neil about our wedding day next year, and it was a lovely, stressfree chat about what we want and how the day will pan out. Neil made us feel special, all our ideas were talked through and considered and we are so happy to have confirmed our big... More 

Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
Neil-Bullows, Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Veronica for taking the time to post your feedback in respect of your pre-wedding arrangements. It was my pleasure to meet with you and as discussed we will be as involved as you require us to be. We appreciate how stressful it may be in the lead up to the big day. Please do not hesitate to contact... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Very friendly staff that make you feel welcome, I always stay here when in town, the rooms are reasonably modern. This place is highly recommended, the owner can regularly be seen working the check-in desk giving the hotel a family run feel, I'm sure I will be staying here many times more in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Jonny G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwen
0.4 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#2 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
18.6 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
The Maple Lodge
The Maple Lodge
#1 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
7.0 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#1 of 4 in Blackburn
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay