We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    259
    299
    188
    105
    70
See reviews for
176
291
35
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (921)
  • Mar-May only
    (220)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (277)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (205)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (219)
All months
Blackburn Lancs
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am a member of the leisure club and really enjoy it. I recently referred a friend for membership and was rewarded with a spa treatment and guest passes. I booked a head, shoulder and back massage and Chelsea gave me the treatment. An excellent massage, very relaxing and certainly improved aches and pains in my neck and shoulder. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JeanieBlackburnLancs, We are delighted to see you are enjoying your membership and please do continue to recommend us to your friends. I shall speak to Chelsea and thank her for her efforts. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch General Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really disappointed with the stay. It appears to be pot luck as to which room you get and the standards vary dramatically. On a previous stay we had a really nice room, but this time the room was far from it...it was dated and shabby and the standard of cleaning was questionable. The shower was poor and not what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kezi S, Sorry to see you had a disappointing stay, as you have been before and suggested it was reasonable please do give us an opportunity to prove the first stay was more likely to be the norm. Feel free to contact me to make the necessary arrangements. Kind Regards Ivan Lynch General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Clayton le Moors hotels

Lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had booked a stay for an event. On arrival the less than welcoming sign below set the tone. Check in was like a war zone. We were told the room would be ready in 15 minutes, then 10 minutes, then half an hour, then that cleaning hadn't started...we were lied to. We demanded our money back and were given it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I spent a week here on business. The hotel was comfortable a mix of old and new. The rooms were bright clean and comfortable. Was a bit gutted that as the leader of of an event for 60 people, it was my assistant that got the bridal suite when I just had a basic room. (her PDP was not the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Belabout, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and glad to see you were well looked after. I will have to check, but in general we do ensure the person who books the event would get an upgrade where possible. Without getting anyone into any further trouble, if we were made aware and we had availability... More 

Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed here several times and have had the pleasure of staying in the newer part of the hotel, the rooms there are spacious, clean and modern. This time we were in the main building in rooms 73 and 74, the furniture was tatty and chipped, the windows were filthy, the windows did not open so we requested a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lynne5460, Sorry to see your stay was not what you have come to expect from us at the Mercure Dunkenhalgh. For some unknown reason your request for a ground floor room was not noted on your booking, we did struggle to find an alternative other than the rooms provided. There is no excuse for grouting or cleanliness and I... More 

Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There were plenty of positives - the bar and restaurant staff were very pleasant and generally attentive. Food was also good - we had a great evening meal and breakfast was good although they appeared to struggle to keep the hot buffet stocked up when the restaurant was busy. We also had to chase up tea/coffee and toast but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bowbell, We are glad to see you enjoyed the food at the hotel and thank you for the kind comments regarding the staff. I am sorry to see you did not have a comfortable nights sleep and will take a look at the mattress in that room. Please do stay again and if you let me know I will... More 

penarth - south wales
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in fine and pleasant Room was fine but bathroom missing a bulb and shaving mirror hanging off wall so not too easy to have a decent shave but good comfy bed and quiet room Went out for a meal and must say on our return the bar staff on duty at 10:30 was dire......we spoke to the bar person... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marcus_Rees_Davies, Thank you for your feedback and my humblest apologies you have received less than satisfactory customer service. Not how we want to be remembered and rest assured I shall deal with the situation. I believe it is possible you may be staying again with one of our regular corporate clients , please do say hello if this is... More 

Morecambe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and easy to find, we went for a Spa Break, the spa facilities were quite good but very busy. The Dinner was good though the inclusive menu very limited. Breakfast excellent , however the hotel looked tired and needs sprucing up, our room was clean but dated. A shame as hotel in lovely grounds but overall a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tracy D, Thanks very much for your positive feedback and am glad to see you enjoyed your food and appreciate your comments on bedroom cleanliness. We are aware there are areas in need of refurbishment and I am currently looking toward the new year for a full refurbishment of rooms.Please do come and visit again soon. Kind Regards Ivan... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed over night here for a wedding...We were attending the evening do. We booked a double room and received a discount, we paid £88 for two of us with breakfast. First impressions of the hotel were good.. nice grounds etc. Check in was OK, Although the route to our room meant we invaded the wedding party walking through with our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Brian2701, Really sorry you had a disappointing stay with so many issues at breakfast. Whilst we do have large numbers, particularly at weekends there is no excuse for such poor service, I shall discuss with the Restaurant Manager immediately and address going forward. I can also assure you that all our Pat testing is done annually and was completed... More 

Northants
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel as it was the perfect location for a party we were attending. The hotel is stunning & the grounds are beautiful. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the facilities - but they look amazing!!!! We had a courtyard room which was spacious & well equipped . The staff here are very welcoming & friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear AnnMac Northants, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, please do come and visit again soon Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton le Moors
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
12.1 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Maple Lodge
The Maple Lodge
#1 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
5.6 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#1 of 3 in Blackburn
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay