We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5
Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    282
    174
    101
    63
See reviews for
165
276
34
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (858)
  • Mar-May only
    (197)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (237)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (205)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (219)
All months
Accrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've been traveling to the UK from the USA since January and have spent about 10 week so far at the Dunkenhalgh and it's the only place I want to stay. The hotel is very cool and has a great history behind it. The rooms are large and spacious and the bathrooms are big and updated. The beds are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Todd A Thanks for the great feedback. I will share it with the team, particularly Taryn and Sara. I'm sure you're comments will be welcomed. It's great to hear that they are looking after your needs well. I look forward to welcoming you over the future weeks Kind regards Ivan Lynch General Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After travelling from Devon to Blackburn for a football match, this was an amazing place for us to stay in. On arrival our room was not quite ready so we were sent to the Spa for a swim. Receptionist was friendly. Family room was big and very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hannah Kirsten Thank you for posting feedback in relation to your recent stay at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa. Your feedback is very much appreciated. I was delighted to hear that you had a great time using the facilities. I will definately share your feedback with the team and thank Saki for his continued efforts in providing great... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I received a free nights stay at the Dunkenhalgh as a free gift upon becoming a member of the gym at the Dunkenhalgh gym. Upon arrival we was greeted by lovely and welcoming staff who directed us to our room. The room was large, but the layout, furniture and colours seemed quite dated. However, the bathroom was modern, the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lydia C, Thank you for your kind words, we are commencing with a refurbishment plan of the building and over the next couple of years we hope to have completed all bedrooms ae well as public areas. We hope you enjoy your Gym membership and good luck with any fitness programmes. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager More 

Cusco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I visited for a weekend in march. There are lots of good points about the hotel - the staff are very friendly, the food is wonderful and served quickly in a lovely dining room with large portions and 3 courses, the swimming pool and spa are both nice with 2 saunas, 2 steam rooms and a laconium... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hannah Kirstin Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I was pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay in March and I hope to welcome you again in the future KInd regards Ivan Lynch General Manager More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decent hotel in excellent surroundings and scenery. The room however was below average and I found it very used, tired looking. Out of date decor and in need of a spruce up and something needs to be done about the very thin walls! Also I was disturbed at least 3 times by housekeeping until they gave up and rudely hoovered... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MustafaArab Thank you for providing feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I was pleased that you felt the hotel was set in a nice location. I was a little disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the quality of the guest room and that you were disturbed by the housekeeping team. Please allow me to express my... More 

Travelers are raving about these Clayton le Moors hotels

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here with my partner for one night, the room was very clean and comfortable, shame about having two single beds instead of a double though. Partner was also very happy that there was sky sports one on the television! Haha! We both had full body massages and facials done at the spa, and was very very relaxing, Im not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Josiemarieh Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I am pleased to hear that the treatments were excellent and that the rest of the team looked after you well. I hope to welcome you back to the Dunkenhalgh in the near future Kind regards Ivan Lynch General Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

stayed for two nights, food and service excellent. Spa was amazing, but didn't try treatments this time around. Lovely big room, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly, and local knowledge about area, eg where to walk canal nearby, beautiful circular path 3 miles. Hotel is full of history going way back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Helen J, Thank you for your positive feedback, I shall share with the team. I hope you enjoyed your canal walk and benefitted from the recent good weather. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Ivan Lynch General Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pro's - The staff. From check-in to check out, every member of staff, from reception, restaurant and spa was professional, helpful, attentive and pleasant. The food - Our package included Dinner, Breakfast and Afternoon tea - all were of exceptional quality. The evening meal in particular was outstanding. Spa facilities - a good thermal suite alongside the pool, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear K_stan85, It is great to see some aspects of your stay were enjoyable, our staff do receive lots of positive feedback, especially for the friendliness shown to our guests. I am disappointed that some maintenance issues let us down during your stay and I shall get the issues dealt with as a matter of urgency. I was unaware the... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for four nights on business , eating in restaurant on 2 evenings . Restaurant food perfectly acceptable - starters best , mains variable - great fish but massively overcooked stir fry . Lovely breakfast with great made to order selection inc eggs benedict ( perfect !) Rooms large & comfy with decent toiletries though dated and in need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jo M, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the standard of food on offer. We get many positive comments regarding staff friendliness and it is good to hear. We have already begun a refurbishment programme and over the next couple of years hope to complete all bedrooms and Public areas. We look forward to... More 

leicestershire, england
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff are the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered. The hotel itself is clean and modern despite the long history. My room was in the court yard which is a lovely area and was very comfortable. My only complaints are that the hot water was unreliable and erratic in the shower and the main hotel building was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chris 171063, Great to hear the staff looked after you well during your stay, sorry to see you have had issues with the shower in your room, we have experienced issues with water pressure in the Courtyard recently and the Maintenance Team are working hard to rectify. The many entrances and exits make it difficult at times to maintain... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question