We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Whitstable hotels

Hotel Continental

29 Beach Walk, Whitstable CT5 2BP , England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Standard Rooms £65!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
53%
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Whitstable
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Helenpatt
  • Overview
  • Reviews (196)
  • Photos (41)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (51)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    37
    27
    32
See reviews for
24
90
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The room was pretty tired, but I was not ready for no curtains in the bathroom and a window that faced scaffolding and a ladder! Effectively meaning I had no bathroom. As I had checked in late, due to attending a wedding, I unfortunately did not realise this until the next day. Which was not the worst thing, the attitude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

The unrefurbished are clean and very reasonable we only charge £65 for all the unrefurbished rooms inc breakfast. When you book we always tell our customers the payment policy and there are details again on the confirmation we send out. We are upgrading the hotel at the moment so there is scaffolding up at the side-again this is made very... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We managed to get a booking in the recently refurbished family room for 5, at very short notice, and we were very pleased with everything. In fact our 6yr old was asking when we could come back, within 5mins of being in the room. As we entered the room there was a single bed, wardrobe, minibar etc, and a bathroom,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Great you enjoyed Rm 4. I will have a look at the fan noise to see if there is anything we can do. We hope you make it back to us soon cheers james More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite the nightly rate, no multi stay discounts at this hotel, some of the room facilities are not replenished on a daily basis eg. Shower gel, milk and water. When we inquired at reception staff are unsure of what you get or when you get it? Also signs in the fisherman's hut advise you to phone reception if you have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Fresh milk is provided on arrival for a nice cup of tea-I hate UHT!!!!! (never noticed before anag. hut!!!) The nature of the huts means that if you are staying for longer we have found that most people do not want to be disturbed daily with people replenishing the milk etc. but the cleaners are more than happy to... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night last weekend. We had a refurbed room with a seaview.Yes, scaffolding on the balcony but very nice room with a fantastic view. Helpful, friendly staff, tasty breakfast, great location. Would recommend to anyone and will certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and staying in one our new rooms, the scaffolding will down for the front of the hotel on friday. james More

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped for lunch and my partner and I ordered Moules à la crème with bread an an excellent meal it was to. Plenty of mussels served steaming hot in a delicious cream sauce with lovely fresh bread and butter. Service was quick, friendly and efficient. A lovely meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Thanks for coming and enjoying our mussels. Hope to see you again soon. james More

Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I needed a hotel for one night in Whitstable and choose the Hotel Continental. We were absolutely amazed that we could pay just £60 for bed and breakfast in a hotel located on the seafront. We knew the price was such because we were in one of the un-renovated rooms, and yes it was a little tired... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi The unrefurbed rooms are still available and are a bargain -by the spring all rooms will of been updated so take advantage now -only 65 pounds. We appreciate the positive comments. Thanks james More

Watford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Continental, although it is work in progress. Unlike some other recent reviews, my partner and I stayed in an unrefurbished room. It was perfectly clean and just about big enough for two, but definitely needed some money spent on it with some distinctly past-it carpets. Based just on the room it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi I shall make a mental note about the toilet taps when we get round to them!!!! Thanks for coming and hope we can see you again soon james More

Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here in August. We had one of the older style rooms as we booked last minute. We were so pleasantly surprised after reading a few of the other reviews. The hotel's location is superb; by the sea and just round the corner from the pretty town centre. So convenient! The room was functional... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Hi Thanks ever so much for your positive feedback it means a lot to us and hope you can make it back to us soon james More

London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights over Oyster weekend, paid £95 and were given a tiny, very tatty room (17). See photos. So much for the owners assurance on this forum that he was reducing all the unrefurbished rooms to £65 all through the summer. When I raised this with reception I was told that this promise did not apply to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi I dropped the price of ALL (inc sea view rooms) non- refurbed room in the middle of may to £65 B&B to try and give good value for money. You must of booked before then and unfortunately, as in line with all such bookings- we cannot give discounts retrospectively. Thanks james More

England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of only a few hotels in the increasingly popular North Kent resort of Whitstable. It is owned by the Whitstable Oyster Company along with the associated Fisherman's Huts on the sea wall. The rooms that have been refurbished are very pleasant with minimalist New England style tongue and groove boarding and pale colours. Try and go for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Non of our rooms have air conditioning so please do not book with us if that is a necessity. We are in the process of replacing all the existing wooden sash windows with sympathetic wooden double glazed ones. The kitchen area is next on our list for attention and should be completed by the end of the year. We... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 29 Beach Walk, Whitstable CT5 2BP , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Whitstable
Hotel Continental Whitstable, Kent

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Continental is the only hotel in Whitstable that enjoys a seafront location within 5 mins walk of the centre of the town. The rooms are currently undergoing a major refurbishment so be sure to ask reception for details. We also manage the very popular Fisherman's Huts accommodation. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Continental staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer