We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Whitstable hotels

Hotel Continental

29 Beach Walk, Whitstable CT5 2BP , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
48%
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Whitstable
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014
Jackie C London
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    46
    33
    23
    31
See reviews for
21
72
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are just driving back from a night's stay at this hotel. We have had many enjoyable stays at this hotel in the past but sadly after yesterday's visit we will never return. Our arrival was soured by the rude and unsympathetic receptionist, who, when told that we had to cancel a room due to our colleague's father suffering a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Hannah who was working on reception that day is a valued member of our staff, I have spoken to her. She did not say you were 'lying'. Our company policy when people unfortunately tell us of something that has affected their ability to stay with us within the cancellation period is to email the details to the hotel so... More

Rochester
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had stayed at the Fishermans Huts for a friend's wedding in 2013 and been really impressed. So hubby decided to book us and our friends a night for my birthday in early February as a surprise for me. He wasn't able to book two huts for just one night when he booked a couple of months ahead but was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

HI We normally only book the huts out for fri and sat together to make it easier to clean the huts in time. Sometimes we will let people book single nights at short notice if it looks quiet. It was a mistake to make a note on your booking about single night availiability as this is something that can be... More

London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised. We had booked a non-refurbished room at a lower rate so was not expecting anything special but the room was lovely. Everything was nice and clean and the view from the window was beautiful. Fortunately the sun was shining and this did help! We did wonder about a wardrobe but as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Hi thanks for coming to stay and glad the sun was shining- unfortunately it is not something we can guarantee!! Hope to see you again james More

Blackheath, London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

When you spend £50 on a hotel and get a decent night's sleep and a view of the sea you can't really complain much. Staff also were unfailingly polite and courteous. Downsides were that the kitchen had closed before 9, corridors were dotted with rubble uncleared up from the builders who are renovating the hotel (which incidentally looks nice) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Thanks for staying with us. We are sorry that the building work interfered with your stay, as you comment we try not to start till 9. The kitchen should always be open till 9pm-I will look into this.Hope Keep an eye out on our website for special offers out of season. thanks james More

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We weren't sure what we'd find having read some poor reviews from last year but could have been more pleasantly surprised. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and now offers excellent standards of cleanliness, facilities, and service. The staff were welcoming and efficient, the breakfast was superb, and the evening meals outstanding value for money. The proprietors have clearly gone to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your positive comments, they will encourage us to carry on the good work james More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have visited Whitstable all my life, and remember it well as a quaint but authentic old Kentish port. I have visited the "new" Whitstable a few times now and it just plain lacks the charm of the old, pre-occupied as the various catering, accommodation and shop businesses are with making their money from the market drummed up by those... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Having lived in Whitstable for a while I also remember the 'quaint old Kentish port of Whitstable, one where there was little prosperity and few jobs and the High street was a no-go zone on a Friday night. What is contrived about a working harbour and people making a living from the tourist trade? The huts all have their... More

waltham abbey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

very clean great service an absolutely fantastic breakfast, but rooms in need off cleanup, the carpets were stained and in some places showing wear and tear,there was broken tiles in bathroom, the electric kettle lead didn't reach plug, i'm disabled an found this a problem as couldn't make myself a hot drink, it was on top off a tall chest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi thanks for your review. We are now in the process of a refurbishment that will hopefully resolve the issues that you brought up about your stay. I hope you will come again and try a refurbished room- if you ask to speak to james I will try and do an upgrade for you. thanks again james green More

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

hard to know where to start. i have waited weeks to review to try and calm down, but the memory still serves fresh. the woman (i believe she may be the deputy manager) is quite frankly one of the rudest people i have ever encountered, in any industry. Upon checking in, the room we were staying in was filthy. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

I know there has been a delay in responding to your stay but I have only just registered to respond to the reviews. I am sorry that your experience was so awful but we are doing our best to remedy many of your issues that are relevant. We now are upgrading the rooms and doing a major refurbishment over 2014.... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is right on the pathway of the Oyster Bay Walk with lovely sea views. Our room, whilst not luxurious, was spotlessly clean and our bed was very comfortable. We had great views of the sea. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms do not automatically have hairdryers, irons, tea making facilities but all are easily available via... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Glad you enjoyed your stay. Some of the sea view rooms are available at the same rate as a standard at certain times of year. We are upgrading the rooms at the moment so please come and try one these upgraded rooms soon thanks again james green More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A short stay but location & relaxed atmosphere suited our multiple party. Generous breakfast & friendly staff who kept the bar open very late. Service is more B&B than proper hotel standard. Bit shabby now; needs a bit of a makeover. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Glad you came and enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of a major makeover as your comments have been taken on board!!!!! james green More

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Whitstable
Hotel Continental Whitstable, Kent
Address: 29 Beach Walk, Whitstable CT5 2BP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental is the only hotel in Whitstable that enjoys a seafront location within 5 mins walk of the centre of the town. The rooms are currently undergoing a major refurbishment so be sure to ask reception for details. We also manage the very popular Fisherman's Huts accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.