We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Whitstable hotels

Hotel Continental

29 Beach Walk, Whitstable CT5 2BP , England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
53%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Whitstable
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
KVH0518 Lewes, United Kingdom
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    66
    37
    28
    33
See reviews for
26
94
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (203)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for just one night, 31st August - superb location just across from the beach - no through traffic as the sea-front road ended just by the hotel. Our room overlooked the beach and the views were out of this world! French doors led out to a large balcony with table and chairs - and even deck chairs. Binoculars... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was told when I phoned that the only family room available was unrefurbished hence the reduced price.I was very pleasantly surprised.Very clean with comforable double bed and interconnecting door to single room. Huge clean warm bathroom.The breakfast was very good indeed.We also had a very nice evening meal, lovely atmosphere overlooking the coast. Reasonably priced too.Only a short walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stopped for a short break as we love Whitstable. Currently (sept 2014) refurbishing rooms - and these are done to a great modern 'boutique' style - comfy beds, lovely bathroom, lots of facilities (tea, coffee, fridge, mini bar, big TV . . . ) Some of the hotel is also undergoing refurb and these parts too are good. Food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just stayed at the Hotel Continental for 1 night. All rooms were excellent - securing both refurbished and one unfurbished room. Unfortunately though, the quality of service delivery from some of the staff lets the hotel down. At the time of booking, I was assured that whilst we had a 3pm check-in, housekeeping would be notified of our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Hotel Continental for 2 nights from 9th September. Room with sea view absolutely lovely. Beautifully decorated and very restful. Comfortable king size bed and well appointed bathroom. Needless to say this room is newly refurbished.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Hotel Continental for 2 nights from Sunday 7th September. Our room (room 3) was beautiful, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. A chaise lounge was provided to enjoy the fantastic view over the beach (as well as some binoculars). Super comfy bed, big bathroom and rooms well soundproofed, as we didn't hear our neighbours at all and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a standard room for £105... It was appalling .. Threadbare carpet, torn curtains, peeling paint and broken tap... I was told it was one of the rooms that hadn't yet been refurbished. I feel that they shouldn't take bookings for these rooms anymore... They are worse than bad... Receptionist was very apologetic and accepting of the complaints... Tried to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was pretty tired, but I was not ready for no curtains in the bathroom and a window that faced scaffolding and a ladder! Effectively meaning I had no bathroom. As I had checked in late, due to attending a wedding, I unfortunately did not realise this until the next day. Which was not the worst thing, the attitude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

The unrefurbished are clean and very reasonable we only charge £65 for all the unrefurbished rooms inc breakfast. When you book we always tell our customers the payment policy and there are details again on the confirmation we send out. We are upgrading the hotel at the moment so there is scaffolding up at the side-again this is made very... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We managed to get a booking in the recently refurbished family room for 5, at very short notice, and we were very pleased with everything. In fact our 6yr old was asking when we could come back, within 5mins of being in the room. As we entered the room there was a single bed, wardrobe, minibar etc, and a bathroom,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Great you enjoyed Rm 4. I will have a look at the fan noise to see if there is anything we can do. We hope you make it back to us soon cheers james More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Despite the nightly rate, no multi stay discounts at this hotel, some of the room facilities are not replenished on a daily basis eg. Shower gel, milk and water. When we inquired at reception staff are unsure of what you get or when you get it? Also signs in the fisherman's hut advise you to phone reception if you have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

hi Fresh milk is provided on arrival for a nice cup of tea-I hate UHT!!!!! (never noticed before anag. hut!!!) The nature of the huts means that if you are staying for longer we have found that most people do not want to be disturbed daily with people replenishing the milk etc. but the cleaners are more than happy to... More

Do you own or manage Hotel Continental?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 29 Beach Walk, Whitstable CT5 2BP , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Whitstable
Hotel Continental Whitstable, Kent

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay