We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Lion

Certificate of Excellence
High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Lion
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
White Lion
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    60
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
110
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (173)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
crowborough
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Beautiful sunny day for lunch at white lion Tenterden , car parking side of pub entrance through old coaching entrance tight squeeze my mercedes breathed in fees refundable on dining. Main course very large the pizza enough for two as all other mains. Dessert was minute and to expensive for that dish. (Accountants penny pinching here) service good a pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank for you review We are glad you enjoyed your experience at The White Lion and we accept your comments regarding the desserts for which our head chef is looking into We hope this hasn't put you off visiting us again and look foward to seeing you soon Kind regards The Management Team More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just recently moved to the area within the last couple of weeks and are still trying to find our bearings but quickly discovered that Tenterden is our closest town and my son and I had a wander round last Monday looking at the various menus on offer before he decided that the pizza here sounded "amazing!!". We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and welcome to the friendly town of Tenterden Our pizza Monday's are a great success as they really are a good buy at £8 for any pizza and a soft drink We hope that The White Lion becomes your local along with all the others We look forward to welcoming... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a fab trip away! Freshly ground coffee with a cafetière, white company goodies and freshly made biscuits- it was all the personal touches that made this stay great. Really friendly staff, brilliant value pizza deal on the Monday night. Definitely worth going for one of the bigger rooms, ours was beautiful! Parking fine and breakfast lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellant review your feedback is greatly appreciated Hopefully we will see you again soon Kind regards The Management Team More 

Guildford
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here last year for work. Very nice room which had looked like it had been recently renovated. Tea, coffee, homemade shortbread and sweets provided which was a very nice touch. Food in the bar was good as well as the breakfast. On checkout of my first week, the staff member I was dealing with mentioned that I should cancel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and full marks!! The White Lion was completely refurbished just over a year ago and we love all the extra touches. We hope to see you again soon Kind regards The Management Team More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited the White Lion with a friend for lunch I raved to my husband about the chips and that he would love it. So we turned up for an evening meal and I hoped that he , who is hard to please re food, would love it.... And thankfully he did. The triple cooked chips were the best he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We're thrilled you loved the chips!! and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards The Management Team More 

Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed last weekend, Friday 27th March till Sunday 29th March. Rooms clean and quite large. But very noisy at the front of the building, especially as they had a band playing until nearly midnight. The volume on the TV we usually have at 10, on Friday evening we had to turn it up to 72 to hear it above the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

We are rather confused by your comments as you were advised there was a band playing in the bar on check in and offered an alternative room at the rear of the hotel. Your response was " it's ok, we are not the type to complain on a website"! As we weren't full on this particular evening, there were plenty... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the white lion 1 night to visit Tenderten & wow what a wonderful Pub with amazingly beautiful rooms !!! Absolutely 5 stars !!! We arrived early , no problem! We had the Bodiam room on the 1st floor right above the front door & its was perfect , wonderfully done out , no real noise & views of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Wow what a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know what a wonderful stay you had with us Bodiam is a very popular superking bedded room situated on the front of the hotel where you can watch the world go by We look forward to welcoming you next time your this way Kind... More 

Herefordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great time at this hotel. Had a lovely room on the 2nd floor. Huge room, huge bed. Stylish and interesting furniture throughout the hotel. Huge TV. Quality towels and linen. Chefs nibbles in the room. Nice touches. We ate at the hotel /pub. Good busy pub atmosphere. Very good food and when we asked for starters as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great comments, your feedback is much appreciated! Tenterden and The White Lion are a perfect base for the many sightseeing opportunities in Kent and East Sussex. We hope you will visit us again soon Kind regards The Management Team More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We thought our one night stay was terrific. It was excellent value for money; the rooms were superb, staff friendly and we had an excellent Breakfast. We wouldn't hesitate recommending it to our friends. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully will see you again next time you are in this area Kind regards The Management Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Had to wait to be checked in. Got no sleep as very noisy room at front - late night music from bar, loud groups of people leaving, very busy road. Nicely decorated room though. Good range of beers in pub, Great pizzas made in own wood oven. Home made biscuits in room a nice touch but vile tasting. Staff hit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

We are sorry that The White Lion & Tenterden were not up to your expectations. It has been mentioned by one of our duty managers that on arrival you asked to cancel your reservation as you realised Tenterden was a town not a village, when he explained that you could, but would still have to pay you decided to stay.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question