We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Lion

Certificate of Excellence
High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Lion
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
White Lion
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    101
    68
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
123
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Hotel is olde worldly but tastefully furnished and very clean. Our room was lovely, not crammed with furniture but had everything we needed. The staff are friendly and we were told on arrival that if we needed anything just ask, no problem. We only had breakfast which was continental and included in the price of the room, if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a late booking overnight in order to attend a function nearby. We stayed in a small double room ( St.Mildred's) which was fine for one night, though might be a bit small for longer. The bathroom appeared to have been quite recently decorated, but had a low ceiling so the shower over the bath was very low so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, both good and disappointing! Some of our rooms on the 2nd floor have lower ceilings, as would be expected in such an old building, it is always useful to know if you book with us direct that someone is particulary tall. Our breakfast policy is under review at the moment, so your comments are particularly... More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 1 night here on 17th July.The room was very pleasant and staff very friendly. However, We ate lunch there while waiting for our room. There was a bear and sausage festival on there my partner divided to try the the sausage and beer which cost £8. When it arrived he was very disappointed. He was given 1 sausage in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we take them all on board and try to address the relevant issues. It was certainly a very busy weekend and in general, a huge success. Hopefully, you weren't overcharged for your ale and baguette, this should have been £6.80. The seafood linguini is meant to be a lighter option with no sauce, but your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a vibrant pub with rooms. There are plenty of thoughtful touches and the staff are friendly. The pub on a friday night was busy with a loud live band, to be expected if the place is thriving but the check in was efficient and the manager professional. I don't mind this at all, if you book a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we take them all on board and try to address the relevant issues. It certainly was a very busy weekend and in general, a huge success. Hopefully, you weren't overcharged for your ale and baguette, this should have been £6.80. The seafood linguini is meant to be a lighter option with no sauce, but your... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi .my wife booked a room at the white lion witch was fine .However it went sadly down hi there. We booked a table for7.30 we were told there would be a wait of about 30 mins for our particular order . Our meal turned up an hour and half later . Ordered a cheeseboard half an hour later it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, albeit somewhat disappointing for us. We are in the process of reviewing our policy on live music and would like to offer our apologies for your poor experience in the restaurant. It was an extremely busy weekend and overall, a huge success. The manager, Martyn has asked that you call us on 01580... More 

Kent, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight while visiting the Chapel Down Winery. Our room (Rye) was at the front so there was some noise from the road and the tables outside but we managed to have a pretty good night's sleep (although that may have been the wine....). The room was quite large, the bed was comfortable and we had fresh milk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We strive to provide the perfect atmosphere for our guests and are proud of all the added extras in the rooms. We hope you have occasion to stay with us again and look forward to seeing you. Kind regards The Management Team More 

Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I decided that we both needed a night away from the stresses of life, and that Tenterden and the White Lion would be a good place to go. And it was. The rooms were lovely - clean, comfortable, a bit quirky. There was proper coffee and home-baked biscuits - whoever commented on this website that the biscuits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write some lovely comments for us. We can only apologise for the delay you experienced at breakfast and take on board all your niggles. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again. Kind regards The Management Team More 

London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very happy to get the last room at the White Lion on a Saturday in June, as part of a sponty weekend away in Kent. The renovations have clearly been done with an eye for quality and there are plenty of really nice touches - also everything was spotless which is always so important. Our room on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments We are proud of all the extra touches our rooms provide and do strive to make the guest experience as perfect as possible. I am pleased to hear your garment was returned successfully. Kind regards The Management Team More 

Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Arrived unannounced at the hotel as we decided at last minute to stay overnight when visiting friends nearby. The hotel is, i think an old coaching inn with a large pub/restaurant on the main road through Tenterden. There's free car parking at the rear thought this was a little difficult to find initially. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your most positive comments. Such a pity you missed the opportunity to sample our freshly cooked English breakfast. We can only apologise if there wasn't a menu on the table but would like to offer you a complimentary breakfast of your choice from the menu , for the next time you visit us. Please ask... More 

Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We had extremely high hopes for our family meal here, fantastic wood fired pizza oven, dogs allowed in the bar, live blues guitar and children welcome. Sadly after about an hour it became obvious that our food wasn't coming - our food order had not been communicated to the kitchen. Boys were so disappointed. Ended up having fish and chips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Further to your tripadvisor review, we just wanted to say how sorry and saddened we are to hear that your family didn't receive their food that was ordered. Although we now know it was due to a technical hitch in the kitchen, this is no compensation to you. Please call us and speak to Martyn so we can discuss the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
1.5 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
1.5 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
6.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay