We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Lion

Certificate of Excellence
High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BD, England
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
White Lion
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    103
    70
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
128
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Maastricht
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were at the White Lion for two nights and we had a good time. Staff is helpfull and friendly, room was nice, it is in the middle of the town. Breakfast and dinner were good. Parking at the backside of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive comments, they are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again at The White Lion. Kind regards The Management Team More 

London Colney, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here a year ago and this year has been even better. Lots of lovely smiles from all the staff...special mention for the two Vickys and Shawnee who made our breakfast times such a pleasure...after nearly a week we didn't want to leave. On our last evening we treated ourselves to a lovely bottle of Rioja served at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review, it is much appreciated and your lovely comments have been passed on to all the staff. We're so pleased you came back to visit us and look forward to seeing you again next time. Kind regards The Management Team More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room may have looked alright in the daylight(from a tiny window onto a car park) but it was far from comfortable. Bathroom looked chic but was freezing and draughty even in May and the quaint towel rack fell off! Lighting was totally inadequate for reading in bed (rights looked funky but we're ineffective.) We found that the whole of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, albeit a disappointing one for us. We do welcome constructive feedback and wouldn't be aware of some of the issues raised without guests' comments. Our restaurant is busy and can become fully booked, although the menu we offer in the bar is identical to that in the restaurant. As all... More 

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Did ask for a quiet room but got noisy room at front !! £110 for one night a bit steep considering my husband could not even stand up in the shower because ceiling too low Stayed in St Mildred's . Advantages staff very helpful Hotel very central for shopping and going on the Wealden Pullman which is just around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're sorry you didn't quite get the room you requested, we do try to allocate the rooms according to guests' tastes and needs. I'm not sure how the room was booked but it is sometimes more satisfactory to reserve a room directly with us by phone so that you can discuss your requirements.... More 

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've just stayed here for a few days. The hotel was excellent throughout. The room (St Michael's) was at the back and quiet. It was well-decorated, elegant and clean. The meals were good (including the breakfast). Staff were friendly and efficient. The car park is down the back down a narrow alley, but that's no problem (unless you've got a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much your great review and rating. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards The Management Team More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel is olde worldly but tastefully furnished and very clean. Our room was lovely, not crammed with furniture but had everything we needed. The staff are friendly and we were told on arrival that if we needed anything just ask, no problem. We only had breakfast which was continental and included in the price of the room, if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Tenterden and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards The Management Team More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

This was a late booking overnight in order to attend a function nearby. We stayed in a small double room ( St.Mildred's) which was fine for one night, though might be a bit small for longer. The bathroom appeared to have been quite recently decorated, but had a low ceiling so the shower over the bath was very low so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, both good and disappointing! Some of our rooms on the 2nd floor have lower ceilings, as would be expected in such an old building, it is always useful to know if you book with us direct that someone is particulary tall. Our breakfast policy is under review at the moment, so your comments are particularly... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Spent 1 night here on 17th July.The room was very pleasant and staff very friendly. However, We ate lunch there while waiting for our room. There was a bear and sausage festival on there my partner divided to try the the sausage and beer which cost £8. When it arrived he was very disappointed. He was given 1 sausage in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we take them all on board and try to address the relevant issues. It was certainly a very busy weekend and in general, a huge success. Hopefully, you weren't overcharged for your ale and baguette, this should have been £6.80. The seafood linguini is meant to be a lighter option with no sauce, but your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

This is a vibrant pub with rooms. There are plenty of thoughtful touches and the staff are friendly. The pub on a friday night was busy with a loud live band, to be expected if the place is thriving but the check in was efficient and the manager professional. I don't mind this at all, if you book a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we take them all on board and try to address the relevant issues. It certainly was a very busy weekend and in general, a huge success. Hopefully, you weren't overcharged for your ale and baguette, this should have been £6.80. The seafood linguini is meant to be a lighter option with no sauce, but your... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Hi .my wife booked a room at the white lion witch was fine .However it went sadly down hi there. We booked a table for7.30 we were told there would be a wait of about 30 mins for our particular order . Our meal turned up an hour and half later . Ordered a cheeseboard half an hour later it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteLion-Manager, Front Office Manager at White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, albeit somewhat disappointing for us. We are in the process of reviewing our policy on live music and would like to offer our apologies for your poor experience in the restaurant. It was an extremely busy weekend and overall, a huge success. The manager, Martyn has asked that you call us on 01580... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
1.5 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
1.5 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
6.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#6 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay