We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Margate B&Bs / inns

The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill to your Saves list
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #7 of 15 Margate B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Darren G
  • Overview
  • Reviews (85)
  • Photos (61)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    10
    12
    17
See reviews for
9
33
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was very small and stuffy. Tiny bathroom. Bed comfortable. Skimpy towels. Very noisy plumbing. Leak from bathroom ceiling. Very tired decor, needs to be modernised. Breakfast lovely. Location excellent. Staff very nice. Was a last minute booking so adequate for one night. Would not have stayed any longer. Will not recommend it. Overall cramped and uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed for two nights whilst working in the town, Helen was so helpful and nothing was too much bother. I will be recommending this to my employers to book again and again. Room was spacious and overlooking the sea.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our guest house. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a few days whilst visiting family. We stayed in a family room overlooking the oval and had beautiful views accross the ocean. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and we would happily stay here again if we visit the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review

thank you for reviewing our property we hope to see you again soon More

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needed to soak a badly infected ingrown toenail & asked Helen if she had an old bowl I could use. She very kindly lent me her Babyliss foot spa - was so grateful! Nothing too much trouble for her. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review

thank you for reviewing our property we hope to see you again soon More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a seaview room that was clean and quiet. Breakfast was good and plenty of it. The evening meal (chicken tikka) was delicious. Short walk into town spoilt a bit by the litter.A friendly hotel with a good atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
themalvern, Manager at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to leave a review regarding your recent stay at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill. More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ideal room and breakfast. V. friendly and welcoming. Ignore poor reviews these seem to be from a few years ago. Absolutely no complaints. If it's good enough for Jake & Elwood, it's good enough for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property. It's always very much appreciated and rewarding to know you had a great stay. We hope to see you again soon! More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location a stand out. Staff friendly and attentive during my 10 night stay. Breakfast equalled those of the 5 star London hotel where I paid £500 per night. Decor is tired but my showers were long and hot and the bed comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. It's always very much appreciated and always good to hear what our customers are thinking and experiencing. We hope to see you again in the near future! More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

... And I love the blues brothers! However, I felt the room I got on the night for what I paid was incredibly basic and we had to share a bathroom a floor up... The was an unnecessary door in our room, even though locked, found that it linked to a toilet all could use (it would be best bricked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review

Hi many thanks for taking the trouble and time to review our property. The room you booked was with a shared bathroom and the room itself is new with new decor and carpet. The door you speak about in your review is there for a reason as we are currently transforming that room into an en-suite room. Hence there being... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Room 6 is definitely in need of an overhaul. And please get rid of the plastic flowers so old fashioned and dusty. Bed dipped in the middle luckily we are good friends it also creaks loudly when you move. Didn't see other rooms and we booked last minute so perhaps they are better. It was incredibly difficult to get the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our guest house. We hope to see you again in the future. You will be pleased to know that all our bathrooms are scheduled for renewal at the end of this season! More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I had typed a long review but it hasn't posted so I'll retype as best I can! We stayed in a large family room that easily acomodated a double bed, bunk bed and cot bed. The ensuite was spacious and towels were in ample supply for us all. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and provided ample supplies of fresh milk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Guest House More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill

Address: 29 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill Margate, Kent

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill is a family run business and is a 3 star graded family run guesthouse with bar and restaurant.(Please note restaurant reservations must be made prior to arrival) Central location with free parking.1 mile from Margate Main Sands. Most rooms are en-suite with free WI-FI, tea/coffee facilities, flat screen TV & guest toiletries provided.Some rooms have sea-views. All rooms have been freshly decorated and have new carpets as of Jan 2013. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

See which rooms travelers prefer