We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Gillingham hotels

The King Charles Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The King Charles Hotel to your Saves list
The King Charles Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
64%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Gillingham
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Traveller781 Ashford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (319)
  • Photos (23)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (64)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    117
    59
    30
    34
See reviews for
72
101
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stay at the hotel regularly while working locally. I have always found all hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. I request a quiet room which is always accommodated. My room has always been clean and comfortable. Breakfast is more than adequate with a good selection. Vegetarian and gluten free diets catered for. It has to be remembered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review We always strive to offer value for money, and it is nice when guests understand our values. A returning guest is always the best review we can ask for. More

Sheerness, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A rather depressing exterior belies a cosy interior. I stayed here for one night to attend a wedding reception at the hotel and found my single room clean, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was too "white" and glaring and smelt of "medical" cleaner, but there was plenty of space and the shower worked efficiently. The highlight for me, however, was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review We feel that breakfast is a very important part of the day, and to charge extra for something that was once always included in the room rate of a hotel is definitely a NO in our book! More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night. Nice hotel, rooms clean and spacious, free wifi a bonus, travelling with my husband who was on business didn't want to go far for an evening meal after a long drive so had a meal from the bar menu which was excellent. Breakfast was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review We have recently included FREE Wi-Fi in our room rates, and we are happy that you were able to take advantage of it. We offer an extensive bar menu for guests that prefer something light and easy. More

sheffield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner never reads reviews before booking hotels, he leaves this to me!! So after reading the reviews was very optimistic as always. They seemed to be a mixed bag, but as always don't judge a book by its cover. On arrival, plenty of parking, this was good, as we were in my partners very large white van. Very run... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review It seems that we met your expectation on all levels, and that is always good to read. The pine headboards are being replaced, but as an independent hotel that does take time. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future. More

Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After years of driving and walking past, I finally had a reason to stay here. I've watch the King Charles change over the years and I think it has changed for the better but without losing the local charm that big hotel chains have. I was pleasantly surprised at how big and how many rooms it has, there was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I think the saying that ‘You never know what is on your doorstep’ is quite true. I am glad you finally decided to stay with us, and that we didn’t disappoint you when you were here. It is true that we have changed a lot in thirty years, and I am sure you remember... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night while travelling it was clean and comfortable and the staff where very friendly. Breakfast was nice with no long waits the bar meals were very nice no long waits there either. If I go to this area again this is where I would stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review Friendly and helpful staff are always our priority, and as a family run hotel I hope this comes across well. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future. More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was booked at short notice. The price was very good, we had a family room which was really well set out with the third bed in a little rom that has a door, this was very good for privacy. On arrival we were checked in by really helpful, polite and friendly staff. The parking facilities were really good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review We have various family rooms here, and the majority of them have two separate rooms, which we believe offers exceptional value for money. I am sorry that you didn’t like our orange juice at breakfast. If you had bought it to the attention of one of our staff, then they would of checked it... More

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived to be greeted by a friendly receptionist. Check in was quick and easy. We were in room 114 which was of the main corridor on the first floor so was very quiet. The hotel itself is a little dated but nothing offensive or falling apart. After checking in we went to the hotel bar and had a nice chat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am glad we could cater for your wife’s requests at breakfast. We do try to accommodate all requests whenever possible, and hopefully nothing is too much for our staff. We have never tried to be a five star hotel, but we are happy that we are a good three star hotel, and I... More

Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we held my daughters wedding at king charles hotel the only thing i can fault about it was when we first arrived we was told where to go for welcome drinks but no staff served any drinks and we had to ask where they were and go and get them ourselfs this could have been because we arrived a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am glad your daughter had a good wedding reception at the hotel, and I am sorry if there was a small mix up with the timing of your welcome drinks. I hope they have a long and happy marriage, and come back again to celebrate their anniversary with us. More

Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had our wedding breakfast and reception here but also stayed for the weekend in the bridal suite and had family stay in other rooms for the night. Fiona was amazing from start to finish with our wedding, and on the day when i came down unwell she couldn't do enough to help. Apparently there were some rude members of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am glad you enjoyed your wedding breakfast at the hotel. We have been holding wedding receptions here for over twenty five years, and it is always nice when a bride recommends us to others. As an independent hotel we feel that word of mouth recommendations are the best review that we can ask... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The King Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Charles Hotel

Address: Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The King Charles Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Hotel
King Charles Gillingham
The King Charles Hotel Gillingham, Kent

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Gillingham with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The King Charles Hotel is a privately owned, modern, 97 bedroomed hotel, with a comfortable restaurant, bar, conference and banqueting facilities. Situated in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent, the King Charles Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London and the Channel Ports via the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, we are also an ideal base to explore Kent and South East England. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
97

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The King Charles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer