We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Gillingham hotels

The King Charles Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Hotel amenities
The King Charles Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The King Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gillingham
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
rebeccamarie2014 Kent, United Kingdom
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    133
    62
    31
    35
See reviews for
79
110
16
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (351)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Kent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is perfect! A comfy bed, exceptionally clean, a full length mirror, hairdryer, a massive power shower, carpeted room, it is definitely value for money - plus breakfast is included in the price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family consisting of 6 adults and 4children went here for new year and stayed the night. Hotel rooms were clean, warm and very comfortable. They catered excellently for children with face painting, clown and games etc. The meal was very good and service excellent. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast next morning was delicious, all in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All of the the staff were really helpful, polite and I was greeted with a very warm welcome. As I work for a hotel I do tend to be more of a critic then most, and I did notice a few imperfections - but nothing that would stop me staying at the hotel. I did have to call down for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am sorry that your towels were not acceptable, but I am glad that my staff dealt with the situation promptly and efficiently. The best recommendation we can get is when a guests returns to the hotel, and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel room was clean and the evening was great lots of thought and detail, the meal was nicely served and hot I had the beef which was very fatty but everyone else's meal ok so I was just unlucky.Dogs were allowed in the hotel which for me is a downside not that I don't like dogs just not in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am really happy that you enjoyed our Family New Years Eve Party. Our event sells out very quickly every year, and I do think that it offers exceptional value for money if you are staying in the hotel as well. Tickets are already selling quickly for New Years Eve 2015, and I hope... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Second stay at the hotel, food great especially evening meals in the bar, barmaid very friendly, reception staff very helpful Only downside was the bed was very small compared to what we're used to, room very clean and spacious. I also think they should make main car park reserved for hotel guests rather than guests coming for the night

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am sorry if you found the car park to be busy, but did you know that we have an overflow car park at the back of the hotel? I am glad that this is your second stay with us, and I hope we will see you again in the future. More 

Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here when we went to a party in one of their function rooms. We brought our dog with us, which wasn't a problem at all. We have a greyhound, so most places wouldn't allow as they only allow small dogs. The room itself was basic, and very dated. It could do with a bit of an update. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review We are currently refurbishing all of our rooms, and these should be finished within the next month. I am sorry that you had a wait to be checked in, but our check in time is normally 3pm and I understand that you did arrive early. I believe that we did get you checked in... More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Had our works Christmas party here. The night was BRILLIANT!!! The night was full of entertainment, food was serviced promptly and hot which is usually something that doesn't happen with large groups of people. The lamb was so tender and hats off to the chef the potatoes were better than aunt betties!! The dance floor was always full and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am glad you enjoyed your Christmas party with us and I will make sure I pass your comments onto the Potato Chef. He is a very valued member of our team, and he will enjoy reading your review. I am glad you took up our offer of reduced priced hotel rooms for cabaret... More 

Rochester, Medway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

we had our works do there on Saturday. Music was good, the DJ played a good mix and the tribute act of Rolling Stones were excellent. what wasnt so good was the fact that the hotel had crammed in as many people as they could and sat us all at great long tables. we had hardly any elbow room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Christmas party with us. Most of our Christmas Parties sell out, and we do feel that the number of guests we allow is comfortable for the size of the room. I am happy that you enjoyed the food and the music on the night. More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

I booked a room for my family, we stayed the last weekend of November, on the 28th there was a function but we heard nothing of this in our room. on the 29th there was another function and boy did we know, my Husband , Son and i were disturbed by people running in the corridors, banging doors on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am sorry that you were disturbed by other guests during your stay with us. Unfortunately as you did not tell us at the time, we did not know that you were being disturbed. Had you made a call to reception, then we would of sent somebody up to deal with the situation immediately.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gillingham hotels

Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We had our work do this Christmas at the King Charles. It was a great night. All organised good food. Very good value for money. Well organised and efficient staff who were friendly and obliging throughout. Good cabaret act and DJ. Right in the middle of gillingham. Very enjoyable evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am glad you enjoyed your Christmas Party with us, and I hope you will return again next year. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Charles Hotel

Address: Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The King Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Hotel
King Charles Gillingham
The King Charles Hotel Gillingham, Kent

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay