We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Gillingham hotels

The King Charles Hotel

Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The King Charles Hotel to your Saves list
The King Charles Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
63%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Gillingham
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
kathleen h Manchester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    92
    47
    27
    30
See reviews for
60
84
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here overnight en route to our destination. We had paid only £35 for a double room, en suite plus breakfast on a Sunday night The hotel was in need of some TLC in places - but it was very clean and bright. The bed was comfortable and there was a cubicle with a hot and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'm writing this review whilst staying over for the night on a Business meeting early tomorrow. The room is clean and tidy, with a nice fresh smell to the bedding. I ordered lasagna for my meal in the bar.....one of the nicest meals I've had in a while, very tasty ( thank you Chef), the waiter was helpful with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dereham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have visited this hotel many times, and have always received a great welcome, and have found that nothing is too much trouble. Will organise a special dinner in the restaurant for that important occasion, and if things do go wrong for the visitor, everyone of the staff will do everything in their power to easy the situation and to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lydd kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

great hotel always made welcome very friendly staff very clean rooms food excellent naval reunion catered for and always good fun. stayed here many times and always been looked after well. close proximity to chatham historic dockyard. 10 min to Gillingham football ground.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed there 2-3 times in the last few months. On 2 occasions, people were smoking in adjacent rooms, on the second occasion I was moved to a better room, but the room wasn't totally ready for occupancy. Not enough towels and no cups. The room was cleaned the next day, but left a big wet towel on the sink! On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Used for a wedding reception and had a number of rooms booked... failed to deliver catering as per booking (gave money back for missing items but no compensation for upset caused to wedding party) and rooms had numerous issues from no soap through to remains of sanitary towel wrappings over window sill.... AVOID we wished we had gone elsewhere

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To about 1978. Room was clean and large, walls appeared to be made of thin wood, bit cardboardy but a quiet night. For dinner we had pizza (stone cold) and my partner had a roast (tiny). After that we went out into the town and looked for food. Bartender said that he'd stopped serving coffee three minutes ago at 6.30PM.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review Your review seems to be from May 2013, and we have been completely refurbished since that time. I am not sure why you chose post this review nearly a year after you stayed as it makes it very difficult for me to investigate the points you have raised. I can assure you that having... More

Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There is much to commend this hotel, the staff really are excellent, the location is convenient, the family rooms really are suitable for a family. Upon arrival we were assigned a room next to the function room, we called reception and asked if we could possibly be moved. The lady could not help enough, bringing the key up and helping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review We are just finishing a complete refurbishment of the bedrooms, and will be moving onto the corridors next. We are not trying to offer any excuses by stating that we are an independent hotel, but we do not have the budgets that the chain hotels have for refurbishment, and can only allow for one... More

stater41
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The former NAAFI club has worn well.A bit of nostalgia for an old Sapper from the 60s.Comfortable and clean and the staff were cheerful and efficient.Good location for a brisk walk on the lines.Good honest hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review It is always nice to hear stories from guests who remember the NAFFI club. Some of the things you used to get up to are best kept a secret!!! I hope you will visit us again if you are in the area. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff very nice and helpful would stay again nice hotel good location caters for everyone cleaners attended daily also clean towels daily, food was lovely, an ironing room was also available to use with ironing board and wifi

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our staff very nice. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Been to The King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Charles Hotel

Also Known As:
King Charles Hotel
King Charles
King Charles Gillingham
The King Charles Hotel Gillingham, Kent
Address: Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Hotel is a privately owned, modern, 97 bedroomed hotel, with a comfortable restaurant, bar, conference and banqueting facilities. Situated in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent, the King Charles Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London and the Channel Ports via the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, we are also an ideal base to explore Kent and South East England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.