We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast

Rye Road | Hawkhurst, Cranbrook TN18 5DA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights to go to a friends wedding. We had an awful journey travelling from Leeds and we were delighted with this lovely B&B when we arrived. Susan the owner was there to greet us and she was so lovely. Offered to help us with our bags and more importantly, offered us a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Due to late booking we spent one night in the room with the 4 poster bed and bath and the 2nd night in the cream and blue room. The 1st room was bigger and also had a fridge but we preferred the cream and blue room. This had a shower only and the cubicle was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SuzzanneKent, Owner at Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give your review and pleased you had a relaxing weekend and enjoyed our breakfasts. It was nice meeting you both More 

Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our first time using a bed and breakfast. We couldn't have been happier. We were welcomed with a tray of tea and cake in the beautiful gardens. As pet lovers we were introduced to Algy the pug and Esmee the cat, so well behaved, and knew where they were not allowed to go. Superb large bed with excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SuzzanneKent, Owner at Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

So pleased you really liked staying with us - your first bed and breakfast vacation. We try to provide our guests a quality B&B experience in an area with a wealth of places to visit. We would look forward to meeting you both again. Hope you are pleased with the linen you may now have purchased from the company I... More 

New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we very much enjoyed our 4 day stay. Our bedroom with 4 poster was very comfortable with a lovely modern en suite bathroom and lots of nice bath goodies. Breakfast was amazing we enjoyed lovley creamy yogurt and a great fruit selection as well as anything cooked we wanted. Our landlady Susan could not have been any more welcoming, nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SuzzanneKent, Owner at Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thnnkyou so much for taking the trouble to write a review on your recent stay with us and so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was also a pleasure for us having you to stay and wish you all the best in your new home More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from a long UK holiday and have been reflecting on how once again, Southgate Little Fowlers provided the perfect first five days of our trip. Susan (as always) was the dream hostess - so welcoming, nothing too much trouble and totally professional. The house is spacious and attractive, provides a beautifully comfortable bedroom and great bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SuzzanneKent, Owner at Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

So nice to see you both again since your last stay of two years ago. Just wished we could have made the weather warmer for you during your stay! Thankyou for your comments and so look forward to meeting you both again More 

Tegryn West Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This 17th century house called Southgate, Little Fowlers is the most charming bed and breakfast you could encounter on your travelsIt is ideally situated in the Kent Weald which gives you access to numerous castle and gardens within 10 miles distance and on B roads without the hustle and bustle of major trunk roads. Access to several restaurants and inns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
antwerpen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We've booked this B&B a few days before we went to the UK,so we where looking for a place in Kent with many places to visit in the surrounding area .The location was ok for me,except the road who passes in front off the house,but if you wake up at an early hour it's no problem.Mrs Susan is really a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SuzzanneKent, Owner at Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was nice to meet you and Marc and thank you for your comments and glad you were pleased with your accommodation for the most part. We note your last comments but Southgate, Little Fowlers is a 300 year old rambling house and despite spending a good part of the day cleaning it is never going to be in as... More 

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed recently for two days with my girlfriend as we were seeing a local music festival in the area. Susan and Alan, who run the place are gentle and kind folk, made us very welcome in their country house. Very homely. No fraud issue / RMG As it happened her daughter was also going to the festival so we felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SuzzanneKent, Owner at Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us and it was a pleasure to meet you both. Glad you enjoyed your weekend away and thankyou for taking the time to write your review More 

Bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The fact that we have returned five times (so far) speaks for itself! Mrs Woodard is a wonderful hostess,the accommodation in both rooms is very comfortable, and nothing is too much trouble for her. The breakfasts, taken in the conservatory if weather allows, are fantastic, and apart from tasting wonderful, Mrs Woodard has the art of making everything look so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
berkshire UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We chose Little Fowlers because of its AA 5 star "premium" rating and its promising website. Our room was a disgrace. The beautiful view from the window was obscured by the filthy window and the equally dirty secondary double glazing fitted over rotting, peeling window frames. There was no wardrobe, just a built in cupborad, clearly used for other storage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SuzzanneKent, Owner at Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We were shocked and concerned to read your review regarding your experience here whilst we were away. We had every confidence that our usual high standards would be carried out during our absence and apologise for some things that clearly were unacceptable. At the time of booking we did mention we would be away and that we had no doubts... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
3.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
5.4 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
7.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Waters End Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay