We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Yarmouth hotels

The George Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Hotel amenities
The George Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
79%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TLC6491 Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    51
    21
    17
    3
See reviews for
31
88
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed four nights in order to continue the cicumnavigation - mainly by using public transport to access previous stopping points. Booking was straightforward; warm welcome; a well appointed room (24) overlooking the Solent. Attentive staff, for example the prompt organising of vacuum cleaning of the bedroom carpet when we brought in mud inadvertently. Breakfast was prompt, well presented and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a delightful stay at this charming hotel. Staff were friendly and professional and our room had a truly wonderful view of the Solent, pier and mainland. Although the stairways and corridors were a little faded, the hotel is clean and the entrance hall contains a spectacular flower arrangement. We didn't dine there but found the breakfast was good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, wonderful to read such lovely comments – you must dine with us next time you stay. More

Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazingly Grand hotel. We had a 4 poster bed and a sea view it was very nice and we did it with our 2 year old. A roll out bed was supplied for him. More of an adult hotel but we felt very welcome with a toddler in toe. We still have the love of beautifully rich hotels...fortunately we have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, great to hear you received a very warm welcome and that you and your lovely toddler enjoyed your time with us. More

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sunday lunch with some friends - took one and a half hours to serve two courses! The head waiter apologised consistently saying the kitchen was under pressure! The food was average and very overpriced. The problem is in the kitchen - I watched as several groups walked out. This hotel used to be wonderful - the new owners need to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Although disappointing to read we thank you for your recent review. As you will see from other reviews, this is not our usual standard of operation and we will take your comments on board. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We totally enjoyed our stay at the George. The room was spectacular, huge bed, very clean, bright and airy, even though it was a hot week. The outdoor bar is a lovely area and enhances the dining room very well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon! More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

The rooms at the front of the hotel face onto a quaint little street of shops and restaurants all of which take their deliveries from 5.30am. The vans park, leave their engines running shout their greetings and slam their doors. Unless you are an early riser it is impossible to sleep the windows are paper thin I felt I may... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we were disappointed to hear your sleep was interrupted. Some of our rooms do overlook our quaint high street and therefore noise from traffic is always a possibility. For guests wishing to enjoy complete peace a sea facing room can be requested. Please do come back again and we will endeavour to allocate a... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The could not be a better situated place with a stunning view, I have visited this hotel four times and had good food and a great time, although there doesn't ever seem to be enough staff. Tonight was NOT good though. dinner took nearly an hour and a half to come, when it did the steak was blue when it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Although disappointing to read we have noted your comments and will discuss with the team. Please do not let this one occasion deter you from future visits. As you are aware from your previous great times, this is not our normal level of operation. Kind regards. More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is a review of the restaurant not the hotel. I booked a large party of 19 for a Saturday lunch. We booked the table on the 24th July for lunch on the 23rd of August. The day before the lunch (22/8) I received a phone call from The George to confirm our reservation and to advise they could offer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and although disappointing it will enable us to improve our operation. We are sorry you were not advised of our group menu policy when making your reservation. We offer this to all parties of 10 or more to help smooth the speed of service. However, your comments will be discussed and operations reviewed. More

Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We love the Isle of Wight but sadly the hotel where we used to stay in Seaview is not what it was so we have been on the hunt for a replacement. Having never visited Yarmouth before we were delighted by this fascinating little town. A busy harbor and ferry terminal, delightful shops and some excellent eating (we enjoyed Salty's,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – great that you have found us! We very much look forward to welcoming back to your “new favourite”. More

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We do not normally write negative reviews, but in this case, we were so disappointed, we thought it only fair we pass on our experiences. If you have enough money to easily afford high prices, and don’t worry too much about service, then read no further, the George is fine. For us, over £300 a night B&B is a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As you will see from other reviews, this is not our normal level of operation .Your comments have been passed to the new owner. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage The George Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Yarmouth, Isle Of Wight

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay