We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Ryde B&Bs / inns

Seaward B&B

14-16 George Street, Ryde PO33 2EW, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (24)
  • Photos (6)
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #18 of 19 Ryde B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here during the Isle of Wight festival 2014. We stayed in the family room and it honestly wasn't that bad. It worked out that our room rate was £26 per night (I shared with two of my friends) and for what we paid you couldn't really expect more than what you get. It's cheap so don't expect the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

On ready the reviews and for the price I wasn't expecting the ritz, but I was expecting a basic budget B&B, basic ... but clean. I thought the poorer comments were exaggerated as they were countered by some better ones. I could not have been further from the truth! This place is filthy, the musty smell of the carpets and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Worcester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We recently stayed in the Seaward B and B and although it was centrally located it was very disappointing. We love the Isle of Wight and have been on many occassions but this was the first time at this accommodation and certainly our last. As many of the previous reviews suggest the hotel smelt of damp and was not very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

This place is a market leader in what it does: it offers comfortable, clean accomodation for a very competitive price. You could not get better value for the money you pay. We've stayed here several times, and not just because of the value - because of the convenient location, the homely feel and the welcome we've always received from Diana... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I am amazed reading all these reviews as couldn't have stayed in a more friendly more cosy B and B right in the center of Ryde if I tried!!!!! My room was cozy with clean everything :mugs/teaspoons/towels/basin etc and I had a really comfy clean bed with hangers in the wardrobe and a very quiet room: No 2 at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DianaJR, Owner's wife at Seaward B&B, responded to this review

Thanks, Emma! We always enjoy having chatty, friendly folk like yourselves staying with us, and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Good luck with the job hunting and hope to see you again. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

Our room was the 1st door on the left of the ground floor. It smelt and felt damp,the whole place could do with a refurbishment and clean. it was dirty even though the chamber maid had been in our room!! My husband and I slept in our clothes as it wasn't clean. The breakfast wasn't grilled it was fried and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DianaJR, Owner's wife at Seaward B&B, responded to this review

Yet again, a problem which could have been resolved with a little communication. The breakfast is not fried, but grilled. The room could have been re-cleaned. The good thing about Trip Advisor is that everyone is entitled to their own opinion. We can't please everyone, and in this business, as has been pointed out by these reviews - you get... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I can honestly say that this is one of the worst guest houses i have ever stayed in ,and i have been stuck in Kuala Lumpur during a volcano erruption two years ago ,and was forced to stay in a few flea pits along the way. After arriving and being informed that breakfast was served between 8.30 untill 9 .00,which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DianaJR, The gruff, UNAPPROACHABLE Owner's wife at Seaward B&B, responded to this review

How very lucky you've obviously been with accommodation over the years. Breakfast can be served earlier if wished. We do not serve breakfast after 9am as we are both very busy people, with other things in our lives. We are always open to talking to guests, and the most I ever say if people are in the breakfast room when... More

Wakefield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

After a 200 mile car journey and rough sea on the ferry, we couldn't wait to arrive! Then we did......... Had to park the car a mile away from the guest house due to lack of free spaces (as was the case for the entire stay). I appreciate that the island on the whole is very tight on parking, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DianaJR, Owner's wife at Seaward B&B, responded to this review

Unfortunately, we have no jurisdiction over parking, as there are no designated bays assigned to individual houses. All guests are informed of parking restrictions on booking, and, as a two car household, we are subject to the same restrictions as everyone else. We do try to accommodate guests by moving our own cars, if they are close by, and have... More

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This makes a perfectly adequate base for a single male who does not care too much about everything being spotless. Having booked a single room I was pleased to be given a twin, and with a digital tv with numerous channels and free wifi I was content. The staff, while certainly not over-friendly, were never rude and always accommodated requests.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DianaJR, Owner's wife at Seaward B&B, responded to this review

It is always a disappointment to read complaints on a site such as this, when no complaints have been made to us - the only people who could have rectified the situation. To complain in retrospect is pointless. More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

I contacted the establishment in advance to book four nights in a single room and was quoted by the owner the rate of £24 per night. On departure I was annoyed to have been given a bill for £28 per night by her husband. On querying this he said that his wife had made a mistake and quoted me the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Seaward B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Seaward B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaward B&B

Address: 14-16 George Street, Ryde PO33 2EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Also Known As:
Seaward Bed And Breakfast
Seaward Hotel Ryde
Seaward B&B Ryde, Isle Of Wight

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seaward B&B to your Saves list