We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seahaven House

36 St Thomas Street, Ryde PO33 2DL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Seahaven House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

In terms of price this hotel was reasonable until you actually get there. The entire place had a bad odour (like a combination of cigarette ash and a sock that had fallen behind a radiator). Limescale all over the shower (well, I say shower but it resembled a leaky tap more) and there was a dirty black mould around the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lbur4288
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well, its cheap, so you get what you pay for, but generally you are.pleasantly surprised, not this time. On arrival, the smell hits you, we.couldn't decide if it was wet dog or sweaty men,.we decided it.was a.mixture of the two. We were told that we could choose what time we had breakfast, because the place was empty apart from a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley Jayne M
biggus000, Manager at Seahaven House, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. Having looked into this we aren't surprised you signed up on Tripadviser purely to post this bogus nonsense - you threatened to do so when using foul language to staff on checkout (almost one hour late) so credit to you for sticking by your word. Please let us address your points: the smell you refer... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ryde hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

The place is convenient located, right next to the ferry link. The rooms are okay and clean and the breakfast is fine. You can't call it a hotel, but is a B&B. The room had a nice view to the sea, however it was right above a busy road. I was surprised to find little shampoos and lotions in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank B W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

Twin bedded room one bed had a very lumpy mattress awful. Old t.v in room. Ceiling paper coming away. Hot water coming from cold tap. That's just the bedroom. We had two nights there @ £79 a night I was expecting better accommadation for this. On departing I made my complaints to the owner and he had a right go... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon B
biggus000, Manager at Seahaven House, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. We take these kind of accusations very seriously and having looked into this we feel clarification is required. You were extremely aggressive at checkout, raising your voice and disrupting other guests who were having breakfast. Your intial complaint was that we had a group of cyclists in and that we shouldn't be accepting "these sort... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

The location is brilliant everything is in walking distance. The room was pleasant, the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. James (the owner) was extremely helpful and very kind. The complementary breakfast was delicious as well. Would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Emma L
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Ideal location no need to drive as the buses are over the road,loads of good restaurants. Get down stairs if you don't like climbing? Breakfast was good.Will be back when the sun is out. Fourteen characters to go,made it!

Helpful?
Thank John M
FARNHAM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

Room was basic, but clean. Hot water plentiful . Beds comfortable but pillows could have been thicker, but I'm fussy over pillows. Breakfast was well cooked and hot and Amy the waitress was very sweeyt and helpful. Parking adjacent to hotel is £1 an hour during the day but Free overnight until 08h00.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan53
Epsom, Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

The slowly crumbling exterior gives you a clue as to what to expect inside. Up the stairs (uncleaned on the sides) past the wood chip wallpaper, through the marked and dirty fire doors to your room. Open the 80s style double glazing window with its corroded handle for some fresh air and watch the cobwebs sway gently in the breeze,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank M_S69
biggus000, General Manager at Seahaven House, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. If only you could have shown the imagination used to write this sprawling review while at breakfast, you wouldn't have been wondering where the milk was? It is served by our young waitress, Amy, to courteous guests who don't bark at her while she's in the middle of taking someone else's order. Perhaps a little more... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Seahaven house made my visit to the island truly enjoyable! The host was very welcoming and his breakfast amazing! I often come over to Ryde and could not think of a better place to stay. It's location is ideal with beautiful views from the breakfast room. Thank you ever so much and I hope to see you again soon!

Helpful?
Thank Alex R
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

This is a good basic and well run guest house. Hotels cost significantly more and if you pay more you expect more. Taken for what it is it is good. The owner was good enough to wait for my arrival on the first night as I was on the island on business and could not accurately predict my time of... More 

Helpful?
Thank John M
biggus000, Owner at Seahaven House, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, John. We appreciate you understanding we are just a small Guest House and are priced accordingly. Sadly (and increasingly) some folks expect hotel facilities at b&b prices :( Glad you enjoyed breakfast! If you're working here again please give us a shout. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.1 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#8 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorset Hotel
Dorset Hotel
#10 of 18 in Ryde
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay