We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Freshwater hotels

Albion Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gate Lane, Freshwater PO36 8AH, England
Hotel amenities
Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Freshwater
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freshwater
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
24
72
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The position of this hotel is fantastic but it is so badly run that we are unlikely to return unless it improves. As the years have gone by we have watched the grime build up around the washbasin plug hole and overflow and this year grime was also under the rim of the loo. Our bed had dust and other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
adelaide, south australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

At first, I wondered what I had let myself in for as the front forecourt was pitted and the entrance uninspiring. However, when I was shown my sea front suite, I was delighted both with the view as well as the rooms. Meals were home style and very good. Dining staff were attentive and helpful. On the downside, reception and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Englishman
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Visited this hotel for the last 5 or 6 years but it could do with a facelift as its becoming a bit dated and tired.Its great for peace and quiet a really caters for the older, retired guest.Overlooking Freshwater Bay its location is one of the best but I think its time to redecorate and spend some money....difficult in these... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our fifth or sixth visit and although its never been the most plush hotel the location made up for this. We thought we knew what to expect but this time the hotel had really gone down hill. We know to take our own loo roll and tea bags as theirs is so inferior. However it would appear that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
albioniow, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your on line review, and I am so sorry we were unable to meet in person during, or after your stay to discuss your clear feelings of dicontent and disappointment. We work really hard to ensure customer satisfaction and quite clearly our intent was not to cause you any discomfort or inconvenience. If you would like to... More

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked this hotel as we had stayed there a few years ago and enjoyed it -then read the Trip Advisor reviews and wondered what we would find when we got there ! The hotel is an old fashioned style, with some art deco style features, but it is clean and well decorated. We liked the quirky old style dining room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fittleworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hotel bedrooms were clean & comfy. Restaurant- Food & service was very good, Dinner an excellent choice. Cost of drinks in the bar were rather high which may have been the reason it was only used by a few. Could do with some evening entertainment. Need to complete swimming pool area. Staff were helpful & pleasant. We would return earlier... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked a room with a balcony facing the sea for 3 nights and were allocated a room on the first floor facing the noisy road and partial view of the sea, also a public footpath running below the balcony. Whenh we asked Reception for another room they replied that there were no other rooms available and this room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
albioniow, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your online review and I am sorry you were disappointed with your room allocation. These matters were discussed on arrival, during your stay, and on your departure, and I am saddened you have felt the need to post this review. To call us the Hotel from Hell is most unfair; your complaint simply is that you were... More

Tiptree, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were looking for a short break in a quiet part of the island and found the Albion Hotel on an advertisement in the Daily Express and it seemed to fit our requirements. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff at Reception who even offered to help us with our luggage. Our room overlooked the bay and had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mytchett, camberley
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our friends booked the hotel and after reading the reviews I was worried. We arrived at 5pm to be greeted cordially, booked in and shown to our rooms which were spacious, clean and welcoming with a good sea view of this pleasant unspoilt cove. Dinner was excellent, tasty and well presented in a very pleasant dining room which had linen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Let me make it clear that I have not stayed at the hotel but merely stopped for lunch midweek. Well, we would have stopped for lunch but they didn't serve anything. Not sure if this was a one-off as we had lunch there in July 2012 - excellent sandwiches. I was irked at having to pay for parking in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Freshwater
Albion Hotel Isle Of Wight/Freshwater
Address: Gate Lane, Freshwater PO36 8AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel is a 41 bedroom hotel situated right on Freshwater Bay, just a stones throw from the sea.We have double or twin rooms at the hotel - twin rooms offering two double beds as opposed to two single beds - and all of our rooms have ensuite facilities with both a bath and shower.If you book to stay with us we can offer a dinner, bed & breakfast rate or a bed & breakfast rate and can also include a free car ferry providing full payment is made at the time of booking.Adjacent to us in the Bay is the Sandpipers Hotel which we purchased in July 2012. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Albion Hotel to your Saves list