We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rockstone Cottage

Certificate of Excellence
Colwell Chine Road, Freshwater PO40 9NR, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockstone Cottage
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rockstone Cottage
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
58
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Best B & B we have ever stayed in - spotlessly clean, room quiet, well appointed and beautifully decorated, bed very comfortable. We had delicious full English breakfast but plenty of other choices available. Information in room about local eateries with distances etc. Attention to every detail and lovely surprise extras like homemade cakes in room and biscuits for journey... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are both glad you had a good time, and it was our pleasure having you both as our guests. We hope to see you both soon More 

Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our double room at the back overlooking the pretty garden was very comfortable, beautifully decorated & furnished, with lovely little finishing touches. Good sized shower room with large fluffy towels. Lovely comfortable bed, very quiet surroundings for a good night's sleep. Everywhere is immaculately clean. Breakfast was excellent, with home made toasted bread, locally sourced marmalade, honey etc, fresh fruit... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very comfortable bed and room, and lovely hosts, made us feel very welcome and there was a fantastic range of choices for breakfast! Stopped here to go to the Isle of Wight festival 2014 and it was an amazing feeling waking up in luxury, not a grubby old tent! Bus stop just around the corner and a nice little pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank for your lovely review. We are so glad you had a great time at Rockstone Cottage we welcome you back soon More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you prefer visiting small towns and the countryside then this B&B makes a great place to stay. You get an excellent level of comfort, superb food and plenty of local knowledge and advice. There are enough breakfast options to please everyone with some lovely touches. Sheena and Gary are very entertaining and go out of their way to please.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed travelling around this beautiful island. We hope to welcome you back soon More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Welcoming and friendly B&B. Room 3 was very clean and comfortable. Lovely touch with cakes in room on arrival and bag of biscuits for our journey home. Breakfast was very filling and nicely cooked. Bit disappointed that we had to cut trip short by day due to a close family bereavement but still got charged for the full amount. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review. We were very sorry to hear of your loss and your disappointment of being charged for your last night but we were unable to re-let your room at such short notice. That is why we advice our guests to take out adequate travel insurance to cover unforeseen circumstances. We... More 

Motcombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We stayed for 3weeks while working on the island. It was just what we required , lovely furnished room very clean with fresh cakes left for our return every day. A lovely touch from Sheena and Gary. Sheena and Gary are wonderful host made you feel very at home during our stay. Wonderful breakfast, and nothings to much bother just... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are both very pleased to have you stay at Rockstone Cottage and hope to see you again More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

From the time we arrived to the time we left, we are totally spoiled. We stayed in Room 1 which was very large, beautifully decorated and furnished and with a very large en-suite shower room. We arrived to home made chocolate brownies in our room and left with a parcel of home made shortbread. The breakfast was superb with a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Rockstone Cottage we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon More 

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

This is a fab little B & B which I feel offers real value for money. I received a friendly welcome and the room was immaculate with usual information about the local area. There were lots of nice little touches such as the chocolate brownies in the room on arrival, which were clearly home baked and the shortbread on departure.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Rockstone Cottage. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

we really enjoyed our stay at Rockstone Cottage. We were greeted with a warm welcome, breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and options for the cooked breakfast. There was homemade cake every afternoon. The room was warm and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

10 days before we were due to go to the Isle of Wight we booked a room of Rockstone cottage. One day later I cancelled the booking online. When I phoned to ask the owner if she would consider refunding the booking she was rude offhand and refused to give any refund and then she hung up on me while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

You booked through a booking agency where it clearly states that deposits are non-refundable, yet you cancelled the next day because you found somewhere cheaper. You phoned us 14 days later demanding your deposit back. We informed you of the T&C and that deposits are non refundable refusals often offend and it did in your case. The telephone conversation ended... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities