We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rockstone Cottage

Certificate of Excellence
Colwell Chine Road, Freshwater PO40 9NR, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockstone Cottage
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rockstone Cottage
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Welcoming and friendly B&B. Room 3 was very clean and comfortable. Lovely touch with cakes in room on arrival and bag of biscuits for our journey home. Breakfast was very filling and nicely cooked. Bit disappointed that we had to cut trip short by day due to a close family bereavement but still got charged for the full amount. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Motcombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3weeks while working on the island. It was just what we required , lovely furnished room very clean with fresh cakes left for our return every day. A lovely touch from Sheena and Gary. Sheena and Gary are wonderful host made you feel very at home during our stay. Wonderful breakfast, and nothings to much bother just... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

From the time we arrived to the time we left, we are totally spoiled. We stayed in Room 1 which was very large, beautifully decorated and furnished and with a very large en-suite shower room. We arrived to home made chocolate brownies in our room and left with a parcel of home made shortbread. The breakfast was superb with a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Rockstone Cottage we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon More 

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

This is a fab little B & B which I feel offers real value for money. I received a friendly welcome and the room was immaculate with usual information about the local area. There were lots of nice little touches such as the chocolate brownies in the room on arrival, which were clearly home baked and the shortbread on departure.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Rockstone Cottage. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

we really enjoyed our stay at Rockstone Cottage. We were greeted with a warm welcome, breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and options for the cooked breakfast. There was homemade cake every afternoon. The room was warm and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

10 days before we were due to go to the Isle of Wight we booked a room of Rockstone cottage. One day later I cancelled the booking online. When I phoned to ask the owner if she would consider refunding the booking she was rude offhand and refused to give any refund and then she hung up on me while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this review

You booked through a booking agency where it clearly states that deposits are non-refundable, yet you cancelled the next day because you found somewhere cheaper. You phoned us 14 days later demanding your deposit back. We informed you of the T&C and that deposits are non refundable refusals often offend and it did in your case. The telephone conversation ended... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

A very well positioned B&B just 3 minutes from the beach. Bus service into Yarmouth just up the road and very efficient. Right on the Coastal path for walkers, great location. We had a warm welcome to our luxury room on the top floor. Lots of little details, free wifi, a choice of home made toasted bread with our breakfast... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Lovely B&B with lots of extra little touches and amazing breakfast. Great location as only a couple of minutes walk from the beach (wonderful sunsets) one way and if like me you don't have a car, the bus stop is only a couple of minutes walk the other way. Loved it and hope to visit and stay again some day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We had a wonderful 2 days in the Isle of Wight and it was the first time we had stayed at Rockstone Cottage. We were given a very warm welcome and our room was spotless and had everything we needed. Lovely thick, soft towels and cake daily. The breakfasts were delicious and freshly cooked and it was a bonus to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed 6 nights recently and had a brilliant hol. Hosts very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable apart from the bed which we found to be a bit too soft for our liking. Yummy homemade cakes in room daily and for trip home. Excellent breakfast everyday in a lovely modern dining room. Beach within... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question