We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Thorness Lane | Thorness, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    233
    176
    96
    79
See reviews for
538
93
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (806)
  • Mar-May only
    (234)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (360)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
There are newer reviews for Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
See the most recent reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Arrived back from a family holiday Saturday, I absolutely love thorness bay it's such a lovely place to stay and the entertainment is fab!I highly recommend this place if you want to have a fantastic holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. It is so pleasing to hear from our guests, especially when they have enjoyed such a wonderful holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Thorness Bay Holiday Park 01983 523 109 More 

radstock
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We booked this on a sun promotion and paid apparently for an upgrade. We found ourselves in a filthy "lodge" covered in spider webs and a sticky layer of grot over everything. I appreciate you won't have the top accommodation buy surely every guest is entitled to basic levels of cleanliness? Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read your comments, and would like to start by apologising for not meeting your expectations. All of our accommodation is cleaned to a very high standard regardless of grade. It’s a shame that the cleanliness was not bought to our attention at the time as we would have done everything we... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Just arrived back from a fantastic week at Thorness Bay, the whole team was very friendly and helpful staff throughout, our girls loved thethe park and kids entertainment every evening making us happy parents. :-D We had a Gold+ caravan, it was fantastic very clean on arrival with everything we needed. Although we were about 10 mins walk away from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us. It sounds as if we excelled in creating some amazing memories for you and your family, and this is always our goal. I will be sure to pass your comments on to every department, as a great review like yours boosts morale and proves that all of... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We booked this holiday without reading any reviews and were a bit anxious. When we arrived we were impressed with the look of the campsite and delighted to have such a clean and presentable caravan. There was plenty of room for the four of us and we had everything we needed for a short break. We were lucky enough to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased that you had a great stay with us. All feedback is great for us, as it tells us when we are getting things right and can highlight where we need to improve. I will make sure that all departments see your review. The Isle of Wight is a beautiful part... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Always wanted to holiday in the Isle of Wight, so when my Granddaughter Jade was moved there to work, I thought this year I am going. I think Thorness Bay holiday is brilliant, with beautiful views. The caravan was lovely and well equipped. Where we were situated in Bluebell area was nice and quiet but lovely and close to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, your comments on all aspects of your stay are great to hear. I will be sure to pass your review on to all staff. We are indeed very lucky to be situated on such a beautiful island with plenty to see and do. Thank you once again for a great review, and... More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I know we only had a sun holiday but the first accommodation, a chalet, given to us was damp, smelly and unfit for habitation. On complaining about this we were given another accommodation. Well, this was a caravan that was worse than the first chalet. It was only fit to keep chickens in! We complained once more and decided that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I’m sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. We have not had anyone complain about our chalets before, but I have looked into this and acted upon it accordingly. I’m glad that you were happy with the accommodation that we upgraded you to. I hope that you managed to enjoy the rest of your... More 

Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Thanks for a lovely break! Our caravan was basic, but clean and had everything we needed as a home for a few days! The team we're friendly and helpful, our girls loved the park and there was plenty for them to do! Everyone was friendly and chatty...it's a lovely safe, clean site. We booked the holiday through the sun, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always so pleasing to hear that our guests have had a great time with us here at Thorness Bay. To us it does not matter how or what grade of accommodation you book, it should all meet a very high standard. I am glad this was the case and that you felt... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We enjoyed our first camping holiday and just got back today. Yes the site is on a hill but you just find a more level area. We even had the horrendous storm but survived. The toilet block was new ,clean and in good repair thanks to Melanie's fantastic efforts (some teenagers decided to have a water fight) she cleaned the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will pass your lovely comments on to the relevant departments and I am sure they will be as pleased as I was to read them. It is always great to hear such positive feedback. Thank you once again and should you wish to come back this year, be sure... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Having arrived at thorness bay and being given our key we were very anxious as to what may await us after reading previous reviews, and I wasn't surprised by the filthy caravan we we're allocated, the carpets were thick in hair, food, toe nails and much more!! Bathroom was filthy with poo on the radiator, kitchen blind left my hands... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I was saddened to read your review and I can only apologise for not meeting your expectations. I can only assume that you reported your concerns to us to enable us to rectify the situation straight away, although these should not have occurred in the first place and I will be speaking to the relevant... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
17 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After our big let down if Lower Hyde earlier in the week, we decided to give the Isle of wight another go, and found a company that hired caravans on this park with the ferry prices included. We stayed in Solent Village 73 a big 3 bedroomed caravan, parking directly outside. A great shower that stayed piping hot, everything that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was so pleased to hear that we have helped to provide a great holiday for you, whilst restoring your faith in Park Resorts. As you would have discovered we have two parts to our park. The original part is set in and amongst some beautiful woodlands and wildlife, while the top part is more... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

232 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (225)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question