We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Thorness Lane | Thorness, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    231
    176
    96
    79
See reviews for
533
92
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (799)
  • Mar-May only
    (227)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (360)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I haven't visited the Isle of Wight since my childhood and decided to book Thorness Bay through Sun Holidays. This park is literally out in the sticks which is something I like getting away from the hustle and bustle of normal urban life. We arrived around 1.00pm and couldn't get to our chalet until 4.00, so decided to take the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunstable
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the second site we have stayed at with this company on the Isle of Wight. It is quite away from most of the tourist areas which tend to be on the other side of the island, even it's own beach is a hike or drive down from the bottom of the site. The result being that things are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good to be able to book a pet friendly Gold caravan which was of a high standard with super central heating. Park is in a beautiful setting and maintained to a high standard. Although swimming pool is oldish it is clean, warm and a sensible shape for a swim although could do with new lockers! Pool staff were excellent. Entertainment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in a caravan for a weekend, kids really enjoyed them self, the caravan was lovely and felt like home from home untill night time it was freezing and the water was cold so we had a cold shower not good first thing in the morning! The park and entertainment was good and got all the kids involved but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Milton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here a week ago and would recommend it. We booked at the same time as some friends of ours and once we had both booked called reservations to ask that our booking be linked so we would be close to each other which they said they would try to do but could not promise... anyway we were delighted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shoreham-by-Sea
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My brother and I took our two young boys (3 & 4) for a short break. We booked into a Silver-Plus caravan with central heating (a must). The caravan is as we had expected; clean and tidy but did note that the lights in the lounge were hosting cobwebs. Having previously stayed at Park Resorts Landguard site in April last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked up to stay here then read the reviews- and sad to say if we had done it the other way round we probably wouldn't have booked. Pleased to say the place was lovely. Caravan clean and good size- everything worked. All amenities were good too, although we didn't use the evening entertainment etc Staff were very good, pool and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

I am so glad that you booked and then read the reviews. Unfortunately guests who do have an experience that is not so good will always put a review on but the majority of our guests do have a good experience and they just don’t share as willingly! I would like to thank you for such a positive review with... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a week in April half term. We stayed in a platinum lodge which was lovely but we had issues which included bins not emptied when we arrived and incorrect dated passes but when I called reception it was sorted very fast. The kids love the night time entertainment and team star Lauren is so good with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

A fantastic review even though your initial start was not how it should have been but I am glad that the response was swift and everything rectified. It is pleasing to read how much the children liked the entertainment and that Lauren shone throughout the stay. It is also really encouraging to read that Callum, lifeguard, was so helpful and... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great short break at Thorness Bay just after Easter. The site is in a lovely location with great views out over sea. A few niggles that should be easy to sort. The caravan (gold class) was nice but could have been better cleaned - the inside of the fridge was horrible , covered in what looked like old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you seem to have had an enjoyable stay with us despite a few small niggles. Our cleaning standards are usually higher than this and any issues would have been addressed immediately if you had made us aware of them. We are working through a programme to ensure that all areas... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very grateful to the reception staff and management who were kind and extremely helpful when our 9 month daughter became very ill while on holiday and had to go to hospital for the duration. The caravan park immediately offered a free extension to the stay to help until we were able to leave hospital and told us in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

I am just pleased that your daughter has now been given the all clear after what was a horrible experience for yourselves. I am so glad that myself and team were able to help in a small way to ease the burden on you and, please, do not worry about insurance - call Vanessa on Reception who assisted you throughout,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

231 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (224)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question