We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Cowes hotels

The Fountain Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Fountain Inn to your Saves list
The Fountain Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
74%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Cowes
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Chomsky2013 Beverley
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    59
    19
    18
    5
See reviews for
13
60
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beverley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've stayed here on a number of occasions and it's perfectly fine. What i would advise anyone to do though is pay the extra tenner for the superior room, well worth it. My colleagues room was the size of my bathroom, I had a suit with a king sized bed and very large tv. The food is ok, bog standard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nice, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very good time at this hotel. Bedroom was clean, good bed, perfectly located next to the ferry arrival/departure and on Cowes main street. I had the chance to be there for the carnival and had a bedroom with a view on the street. Had a really good time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We pop over to the island usually for a day out from Southampton, we decided to stay for the night and booked in the fountain hotel. The room was just right ,clean and all things you needed was at hand ie hair drier soaps , tea coffee biscuits !! Food was good had an evening meal and breakfast was hearty,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We posted a review some months ago after a dreadful dining experience. At that time there were no redeeming aspects of the evening. Food, staff, and atmosphere all poor. However, we tried the Fountain again last weekend and were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were attentive warm and efficient. The food was well cooked and reasonably priced. In fact the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to Cowes twice this month as day trippers on our sons boat and both times we went to the Fountain for lunch. Really good pub grub and nice atmosphere. The meal deal of two meals for £9.99 was fantastic value, the pieces of fish were huge and ample chips with mushy peas and tartare sauce - it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Only stayed one night and for the price was not expecting too much but what a surprise. Check in was quick and very smooth (despite the bar being very busy) the staff in the restaurant were attentive but not overly so and the food was great. Had a very tasty mixed grill which was just what I needed after quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We are really pleased you had a great stay at The Fountain & we look forward to seeing you soon! Chris Francis General Manager More

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Spent two nights there for a weekend family get together. A very friendly welcome when we arrived. We had the Superior room at the front overlooking the high street. What a beautiful room, very tastefully decorated and a huge bed. A large ensuite bathroom with a bath and shower was lovely. The only thing needs changing in there was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We are really pleased you had a great stay at The Fountain & we look forward to seeing you soon! Chris Francis General Manager More

Ryde, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed one night recently with my husband for a night out in Cowes. We had room 1 a superior room right on the high street. What a room! It was beautiful. The lovely lady on reception even let us have a late check out. Breakfast was perfect, great waiter. Lovely staff, you can tell they have had good training. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We are really pleased you had a great stay at The Fountain & we look forward to seeing you soon! Chris Francis General Manager More

Nuuk, Greenland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Cute clean room, hearty breakfast, friendly staff, great food - there was nothing to complain about :) Takes some drive from the Red Funnel ferry, but after all the island is tiny, so it wasn't a hassle. However I found near the Parade a better parking lot than the one recommended in the reception. Anyways, that was really relaxing short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We are really pleased you had a great stay at The Fountain & we look forward to seeing you soon! Chris Francis General Manager More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Amazing food, lovely helpful staff and two great entertainers Helena and Grant who made our day fantastic. Best performers we had ever seen, top class, and the food was out of this world. Location was beautiful and the bar was clean and friendly service

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OEIGK, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We are really pleased you had a great stay at The Fountain & we look forward to seeing you soon! Chris Francis General Manager More

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Cowes
Fountain Hotel Cowes
The Fountain Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight
Address: High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.