We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fountain Inn

High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fountain Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    84
    35
    26
    7
See reviews for
25
85
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (214)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The place was great, ideal location, the food was lovely and the staff brilliant. All the staff were great! Very friendly and very professional. I saw them deal ,with great courtesy and expertise, with a couple of very rude, arrogant yachtsmen at breakfast one morning. VERY impressed. The staff bent over backwards to help at all times. Can't wait to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The food was acceptable. Steak cooked to requirements. Fish and chips ok, though batter quite greasy. Sadly the main problem is the service. The young man who served the food to the table was polite and diligent. For the rest, they were generally scruffy, off hand and in one case quite rude. We live locally and stopped using this venue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and leave us feedback - I have as you hinted in your review passed over your feedback for the management team to discuss and to help them improve once more, Many thanks More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent one night at this hotel which is slap bang next to the Red Jet ferry. The staff are FANTASTIC, friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room overlooked the bustling ferryport and the sun was out and it was generally lovely. We spent the afternoon in the outdoors drinking area and enjoyed an excellent bottle of Vionier. I understand what critics... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I like going here as the food is correct. They have also started doing breakfasts for £4.99 although I have not tried this due to wrong tides.... but the picture looks good. Nice staff and good beers, loos are a bit of a mess and need to be tightened up, too much pee on the floor.There s a nice terrace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely awful. I had the gluten free chicken salad Nicoise. There was no salad, not even a leaf, no feta cheese, about 20 olives, some reheated new potatoes, raw red onion, a few sugar snap peas and cherry tomatoes. No dressing. Not exactly as the menu advertised! My husband had rib eye steak which was not the best, some bits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us, I have passed over your feedback for the team to discuss and help them improve, kind regards More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good Room, Excellent staff, easy access to red jet terminal. One thing that let place down, items on menu at breakfast and evening times, not always available. Menu at hotel, for evening meals, differs to menu on line. (ie not as much choice as on line)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Fountain Inn is well located in the centre of Cowes and directly opposite from the Red Jet terminal. The hotel itself is 'tired' looking and in need of new bedroom interiors. The bathroom in our room was not cleaned to what I would deem an appropriate hotel standard, more attention needs to be paid here. The shower water pressure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit, your feedback will be discussed and used to help us improve on our customer experience, kind regards More 

Caterham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Fountain Inn is a great place to stay. It is right next to the Redjet Terminal and central for Cowes lovely shops and restaurants. As car parking is a premium in Cowes we decided to leave the car at home and use public transport which turned out to be hassle free. We were in room 11 (superior room) which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff are very pleasant here - quite young but clearly well trained in customer service. The room was small but the bed was ultra comfy and we slept like logs. The breakfast (full English included in price) however was awful! I ordered the Eggs Benedict and was really looking forward to it. When it arrived, the poached eggs were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Your feedback is important to us and I have passed over your comments to the management team to discuss and review, Many thanks More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a long thin building - pub and hotel that has the advantage of being right beside the Red Jet terminal and the water taxi ( to the Folly or Island Harbour) arrival and departure point. You can sit inside or outside with a water view ( unfortunately also with the smokers) . It has wifi. The service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawrence G, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, and your lovely photos of the fountain, and some of our surrounding areas. I am glad you were able to make use of our free wifi whilst you were dining. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps during Cowes Week. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.5 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#8 of 55 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 5 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay