We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fountain Inn

High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW , England
Hotel amenities
The Fountain Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
CharlesE49 Whitstable, United Kingdom
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    79
    31
    23
    6
See reviews for
19
76
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Welcoming, friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Great food. Couldn't be nearer ferry - its right there as you step off. Its also right in the centre of West Cowes. I'd never been to the Isle of Wight before -I loved it. Will definitely return & stay at The Fountain Inn again - soon, I hope.

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback,, We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. I will share your feedback with all of the team. Kind regards More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good hotel in Iow food good standard pub food breakfast server deserves a mention she was charming,excellent server and efficient ,shower did not work properly and manager agreed took on board ,room large and comfortable at front of hotel and although this is not hotels problem on the Friday night the noise was pretty bad and went on late from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review with constructive feedback which we will use to improve our standards, Kind regards More 

Heathfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is a good welcome at this hotel which is very convenient for the Red Jet and buses Newport. My room was clean and so were the hotel's public areas but decor is a bit tired in places, although this works really well in the dinning room as it has a lovely old country pub feel. Service was very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you all enjoyed our very popular breakfast. I would like to apologise for the issues that you have mentioned in your review and I will discuss this with the management team at the Fountain, your feedback is extremely important to us, Kind regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I have spent amazing time here. We had room number 20 on the third floor, it had amazing view overlooking the harbour. Overall the room was excellent, very clean, well stocked, we had towels and sweets restocked, it was quite big and nice considering it was a standard room not a superior. Breakfast was great, and it was included in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback, . We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. I will share your feedback with all of the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We stayed at the Fountain Inn for 2 nights whilst visiting relatives - we booked it as it looked good on the website and had reasonable reviews on tripadvisor - also for the convenience to Redjet having a heavy case - due to an accident in London - when we arrived my daughter was on crutches - on checking in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise for the standards that you received during your visit with us. We take all of our customer feedback on board and have used your comments to ensure that service, food quality and general maintenance has been improved upon. We all hope to welcome you back soon More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This is in a prime location in Cowes, the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, my room was directly opposite the pub, the Vectis and the room did not have double glazing, so I had to use my phone head phones to drown out the noise. Whilst the place has obvioulsy been updated, my room had three problems. Firstly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your kind remarks regarding our food quality and breakfast experience, I have noted the issues you have highlighted with our bedroom and service standards and we will take steps to correct the issue with the management team at the Hotel. Kind regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

The swankiest hotel in East Cowes! Once jumping off the ferry we asked for directions to the hotel, being told it was the best places to eat in town. The location is superb, bang in the middle of the quaint high street, surrounded by pubs and restaurants. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist. The room was on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jacob, What a great review and thank you for posting your lovely comments for the Fountain, I will pass over your review of your experience to the team at the Fountain, Kind regards More 

Gidea Park
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Located almost opposite the Red Jet terminal, so very convenient, very nice hotel, clean, staff very friendly, good selection of pub grub in the main bar, also very nice restaurant set separately from the bar for a more intimate dining experience. Very pleasant sitting at the outside terrace with a cool drink in the sunshine overlooking the marina!

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, It is pleasing to read that you both enjoyed your recent stay at The Fountain and that also you could both enjoy a drink in the sunshine, Kind regards More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

My friends and I popped into this pub to grab something to eat. After the waitress took our order, we were then told we had to wait as they don't start serving food until midday. When our food did arrive, we were all very disappointed. My friend had chips that were still frozen and a burnt veggie burger. The girl... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion. We will be taking steps to correct all the issues that you have kindly highlighted whilst visiting the Fountain, Kind regards More 

Dalyan, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

A lovely welcome from Joe to the restaurant and very attentive service throughout our meal. The hickory smoked burger was super yummy! Great choice on the menu, we will be back for more. Nice to see the live music back in the bar. A lovely evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Fountain and we will share your comments with the Team, Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities