We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fountain Inn

#4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW , England
Hotel amenities
The Fountain Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Barbara1London London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    78
    30
    23
    6
See reviews for
19
75
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have spent amazing time here. We had room number 20 on the third floor, it had amazing view overlooking the harbour. Overall the room was excellent, very clean, well stocked, we had towels and sweets restocked, it was quite big and nice considering it was a standard room not a superior. Breakfast was great, and it was included in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Fountain Inn for 2 nights whilst visiting relatives - we booked it as it looked good on the website and had reasonable reviews on tripadvisor - also for the convenience to Redjet having a heavy case - due to an accident in London - when we arrived my daughter was on crutches - on checking in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is in a prime location in Cowes, the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, my room was directly opposite the pub, the Vectis and the room did not have double glazing, so I had to use my phone head phones to drown out the noise. Whilst the place has obvioulsy been updated, my room had three problems. Firstly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your kind remarks regarding our food quality and breakfast experience, I have noted the issues you have highlighted with our bedroom and service standards and we will take steps to correct the issue with the management team at the Hotel. Kind regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The swankiest hotel in East Cowes! Once jumping off the ferry we asked for directions to the hotel, being told it was the best places to eat in town. The location is superb, bang in the middle of the quaint high street, surrounded by pubs and restaurants. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist. The room was on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jacob, What a great review and thank you for posting your lovely comments for the Fountain, I will pass over your review of your experience to the team at the Fountain, Kind regards More 

Gidea Park
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located almost opposite the Red Jet terminal, so very convenient, very nice hotel, clean, staff very friendly, good selection of pub grub in the main bar, also very nice restaurant set separately from the bar for a more intimate dining experience. Very pleasant sitting at the outside terrace with a cool drink in the sunshine overlooking the marina!

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, It is pleasing to read that you both enjoyed your recent stay at The Fountain and that also you could both enjoy a drink in the sunshine, Kind regards More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friends and I popped into this pub to grab something to eat. After the waitress took our order, we were then told we had to wait as they don't start serving food until midday. When our food did arrive, we were all very disappointed. My friend had chips that were still frozen and a burnt veggie burger. The girl... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion. We will be taking steps to correct all the issues that you have kindly highlighted whilst visiting the Fountain, Kind regards More 

Dalyan, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely welcome from Joe to the restaurant and very attentive service throughout our meal. The hickory smoked burger was super yummy! Great choice on the menu, we will be back for more. Nice to see the live music back in the bar. A lovely evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Fountain and we will share your comments with the Team, Kind regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fountain Inn Cowes is located feet away from the Red Jet passenger ferry terminal. Central position on High Street. It has, I guess around 20 rooms. Staff at reception give a warm welcome. There’s no lift. The building is old. There’s bars and a restaurant. Single room was quiet and big enough for a 4’6” bed, a junk shop quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your kind remarks regarding our breakfast offer,I have noted the issues you have highlighted with The Fountain and we will take steps to correct the issues with our bedroom standards, Kind regards More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Lawrence, he was very attentive and helpful. Our room was small but clean and cosy. All the staff were so happy to help and always smiling. Tom and Ruben were great bar staff and helpful in terms of what to do in the area. The food was yummy especially the roast mmmm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review, we appreciate your feedback and we will share your comments with our Team, Kind regards More 

Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

Ok, so this isn't the best hotel I've stayed in by a long shot but I was impressed by the managers and staff here. Despite being short staffed, despite having complaining customers as they had to wait a while for meals etc the staff never failed to lose their positive attitude and genuine smiles. Well done! It's apparent how hard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question