We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Cowes B&Bs / inns

The Union Inn

Watch House Lane, Cowes PO31 7QH, England
Hotel amenities
The Union Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Union Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Rabbitmomma Yorkshire
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
20
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dog friendly- the reason for our choice. Charged £15 for the dog- rather expensive compared to other places. Our dog isn't dirty and is non- shedding. The room was very clean. One of us had to climb across the bed to get in as it is against a wall ( not suitable for someone withobility problems ). Sliding off the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olivia A, Owner at The Union Inn, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review. I have to assume that you booked through booking.com as you were put in room 2, our cheapest, smallest room which is described on their website (and ours!) as a Small double. The room is small, and has a double bed, and if you were to call to book your room we would advise... More

Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here with my wife for a few days in October and was a little bit disappointed since I stayed there a few years ago. Our tap wasn't working properly, the shower handle was broken, we had no electricity on the second day due to the water leak that was coming through our roof in the middle of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We stayed in a family room during the Summer holidays, which looked spacious on the website and showed 2 single beds and a double, but when we got there we could not open the wardrobe as one of the single beds was crammed against it. Had we had known we would have put both children in one single bed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Olivia A, Owner at The Union Inn, responded to this review

Hello guest Thank you for taking the time to review our bed and breakfast. Since your stay we have reviewed the layout of our family room to ensure the wardrobe is accessible. Thank you for pointing out this problem. In terms of the dust I have sent the housekeeper up on a ladder to clean the top! the wardrobe is... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Booked last minute having been in the campervan and got fed up with the bank holiday rain! If you like quality, then this is the place for you. We arrived with our 2 children and small dog and were immediately shown to our clean family room with good quality furnishings and excellent shower. Decent duck and down bedding, refreshments in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olivia A, Owner at The Union Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review!! We would be so happy to welcome you back in future rain storms! Happy holidays! More

Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I am not a fan of the typical British seaside hotel and feel some are in the dark ages, but the Union is better than most and in a fabulous spot with gardens overlooking the Solent. Rooms were fine without being over-priced, though staying on a Saturday requires ear-muffs as there always seems to be something going on in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here last night when we attended a party in Cowes. The staff at The Union were really friendly, the room was beautifully decortated and clean. The Union is ideally placed to explore Cowes, we can highly recomend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Not a good experience. We were only staying one night and unknown to us it was Karaoake night, Sunday. Had we been told we would have looked for alternative accommodation. Loud singing and that is being kind as it was mostly yelling, went on till 23h20 . We were booked in by the bar man, very casual, very small room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Olivia A, Owner at The Union Inn, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review I must say, my local customers and some of my staff were surprised by your comment that the pub is not suitable for the over 40's!!!!! 90% of our customers are over 40 as our some of our staff! Our website is very clear that these are rooms above an olde wolrde pub and,... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Monday & Tuesday night, was given a warm welcome over a busy bar was shown to are room and explained how the keys and codes work, room cosy but clean and well decorated,the bed was amazingly comfortable only draw back was the sound of the down stairs door slamming but luckily stopped when the pub shut at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Union inn for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. We arrived around lunchtime on the Saturday and we're told our room would be ready at 1:00, and they stored our bags while we went out for a stroll and some lunch. When we checked in, we went up to our room (number 2, billed on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bexleyheath
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in room 2 which is described as a small double and it certainly is. There is no wardrobe or hanging space just a couple of hooks on the back of the door. We lived out of the suitcase which is fine just for the 2 nights. The bathroom although private is not actually en-suite, it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Inn

Address: Watch House Lane, Cowes PO31 7QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Union Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Union Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay