We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Tring hotels

Pendley Manor Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5QY, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pendley Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Pendley Manor Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
64%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Tring
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Lola48-07 Liverpool, United Kingdom
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    140
    81
    46
    15
See reviews for
72
168
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Pendley Manor hotel has lovely staff and superb breakfast. We stayed (Mum, Dad & 1 child), in a twin room with 2 double beds. The bedroom was tired and would appreciate a refurbishment. The metal soap holder dropped off the wall due to rust when my daughter was in the shower, completely un-provoked, and bruised her ankle! But the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Lola48-07 thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly with the presence of the peacocks; they often try and check-in themselves! Please accept my apologies about the soap dish I do hope that your daughter was ok. I am sorry you did not find the evening menu... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived early to change for a wedding in the hotel. The hotel had previously agreed that there would probably be a room but I was brusquely told that there wasn't - no apology. When I protested I was offered the swimming pool changing rooms

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Helenapple, thank you for your Tripadvisor review, I do hope you enjoyed the wedding! We have many people who stay at the hotel who are either attending a wedding taking place here or in the locality of the hotel. Due to the general timings of weddings and travelling time, often people will ask us for an early check-in, our response... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent! Family celebration weekend of adults and children. Used and enjoyed all the facilities and fabulous grounds. Private murder theme dinner for 14 in the evening with fine food and wine.The staff were good and catered for all our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Peter H, many thanks for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, including the Murder Mystery. Thank you for highlighting the service offered by the team members – I will pass your comments on to those on duty.... More

watford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for my husband's birthday. I purchased a deal from the travelzoo website. The hotel is easy to find and in a good location close to Tring. Upon arrival at the hotel the friendly receptionist checked us in early and the helpful concierge showed us to our room. The room was a little disappointing as needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Lucyt2906, thank you for your recent visit and subsequent review. We are in the process of planning for our bedroom refurbishment programme – we appreciate your comments about additional sockets and will certainly pass these on to the design team. On a more positive note, I was delighted to note that you were well looked after by all of our... More

U.K.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent surroundings; service;and value for money in lovely countryside. We were provided with a brief history of the building which was very informative Will certainly visit again for hopefully a stay this time

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Ednkay, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Pendley Manor for afternoon tea. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience, especially the history and setting of our historic hotel. Thank you for scoring us highly for ‘service’, I will certainly share your kind comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming... More

London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a lovely four-poster room with separate sitting area on a special deal for £100 for one night. We loved the olde-worldness of the place and the quality feel of the building and rooms. We didn't use the bar or restaurant as we ate out somewhere cheaper! If you can get a deal like we did I would highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Swissisbliss, many thanks for your recent visit to Pendley Manor and for taking the time to review your stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and were able to book using one of the many special offers available. We look forward to welcoming you again soon and certainly hope that you try our Restaurant and Bar... More

Stevenage England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The old Tring family home of Dorian Williams, horse commentator, now a much extended hotel of 173 bedrooms. Although the grounds may extend to 35 acres much of it is impenetrable woodland with just the old tennis courts, bowls green and the grounds near the hotel tended. We got a 4 poster bed in a large bed room with plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Brit1 222, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are indeed the old ancestral home of Dorian Williams, although the history of the current building goes further back than that to 1875. Your points about the bedrooms are noted in anticipation of the next phase of our refurbishment. I am glad you enjoyed your dining experience with... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First can I say that the staff for our visit was always courteous, friendly and helpful. There were, however, some issues which led to us cancelling our second night. First of all the room was dusty, tired and the furniture was worn and tatty. The information pack was a laminated piece of paper with very little useful info. A hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Legohead84 thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have already corresponded with you directly about your stay. May I say thank you for your kind words about the team at Pendley Manor it is good to hear that the team members you encountered were friendly and helpful. I am sorry to hear that you decided to... More

Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a one night stay in a nice room overlooking gardens and were given a warm welcome by staff and resident peacocks ! My husband enjoyed the leisure facilities and then we had coffee in the nice bar. The room was comfortable and clean . Had read reviews about old televisions but it was perfectly adequate. We had luckily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Podengo for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that the staff received you warmly, as well as the peacocks! I am glad you enjoyed your restaurant experience too. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a two-night stay at Pendley Manor. What a disappointment. Very poor breakfast experience one morning with long delays for buffet replenishment and, even worse, no sense of urgency to fix the problem. Our room had the worst shower we've ever encountered anywhere in the world - no exaggeration. Add to this mix noisy guests at two in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review

SturgisBoy I am sorry to read that you have had a disappointing stay with us recently. I note that you said you experienced delays on one of the mornings you were here. I hope that this was due to the volume of people taking breakfast at same time, cooked items can take some time to replenish. We do have someone... More

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor
Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, sited in 35 acres of landscaped gardens, ideal for special occasions such as weddings, private dinners, Christmas Parties. Also suitable for outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Conference facilities suitable for 250. Hotel is now fully Wi-Fi, air-conditioned in function rooms only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendley Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.