We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Kington B&Bs / inns

The Swan Inn

Church Street, Kington HR5 3AZ, England
Hotel amenities
The Swan Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Swan Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 12 Kington B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014
Martin B Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

After giving new owners the chance to settle in we decided to call by one Friday night for a bite to eat. On entering we were pleased to see the place had been spruced up and looked clean and tidy. The woman behid the bar gave us a warm welcome . We ordered a drink and ordered our food. Both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for one night on 27th May 2014. New managers have been in place only since April this year and have certainly changed things for the better since the last review (James T). Our room was very comfortable, hosts were extremely welcoming and the full English breakfast was excellent and set us up perfectly for a day walking in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed March 2014 for one night unfortunately. Overall a pretty terrible place to stay, mold in the coffee machine sachet receptacle, half finished paint jobs, unbelievable junk room, old tyres in car park, half built/demolished shed, ash trays outside full of water and cigarette ends, broken fencing in car park, virtually no cereals at breakfast (old and nearly empty containers),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SEAN B, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Well thankyou for your review. AS you were made aware on arrival we were in the middle of moving so things may not be as they should of which we apologised and can only apologise again. Previous reviews do not add up to the experience that you suffered..again we apologise for the dreadful stay you had but if WE had... More 

Bristol, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very warm and friendly welcome from the new owners Steve and Gay. Our room was clean and comfortable with lovely views. We stayed on a B&B basis and the food was cooked to order with amazing bacon and some of the best scrambled eggs we have tasted. There are several National Trusts properties near by and the area is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stopped bed and breakfast here on our journey while touring Wales and were on our way home. The pub has a great atmosphere and the staff very friendly. The evening meal was good but they had run out of certain things on the menu but that wasn’t a problem we just picked something else. The beer was excellent and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked our room only hours before arriving, and the previous owners had only just passed the information on when we turned up to find the new owners in rubber gloves, scouring the place out, ready for the summer season. In spite of this, we received a warm (apologetic) welcome and a comfortable en-suite room had been prepared for us,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SEAN B, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for such a great review regarding the leaseholders Steve and Gay, we cannot say how happy we were that you enjoyed your stay.. Steve and Gay only returned from their home in Portugal on the thursday evening so its been a very stressful few months waiting for the lease to take place. . The original date had to be... More 

Maldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
68 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have just returned from a 2-night stay here. This is an Inn and a tea room, and closes to the general public at 5, but remains open for food and drink to residents. I saw a comment that the place is "confused". I can certainly see what they meant by it because there is so much going on and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SEAN B, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for such a kind review. it made me smile Lynne serving scrambled eggs with smoked salmon when i only ever get porridge. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us we are full of quirky bits and pieces. The swan has changed dramatically over the time we have had it all for the better. Im proud of Lynne the way... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We've just returned home from two nights at The Swan. We were met by the lovely Lynne, proper tea, an open fire and Jezabel the cat - great welcome. Lynne kindly gave us the four poster room even though we were there on a discounted Go Groupie deal. Really appreciated the thoughtful personal touches. Bed really comfy and would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SEAN B, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou so much . we enjoyed having you stay with us. I'm glad Lynne gave you the four poster its our favourite room and if we have the room free we are always happy for people to use it. . we have stayed in that room ourselves and you are right the bed is extremely comfortable. Glad you enjoyed your... More 

Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely place. What a find great find...our hosts Lynne & Sean were the best! So friendly & helpful what a super couple! Lynne advised us the best places to eat out locally. Breakfast at the Swan was excellent and certainly plentiful.. All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SEAN B, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for such a kind review, we certainly enjoyed having you coming to stay with us. the open fire is certainly homely and very welcoming. Lynne goes out of her way to make sure people enjoy their stay, i'm very proud of her. we hope to see you again soon. its always a pleasure to have such nice... More 

Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Staying in the area for the weekend and spent a day exploring the local area. Arrived in Kington at lunch time and looked for a pub for lunch. Saw The Swan Inn and found that they were dog friendly so went in. Initially was quite confused with fairy lights, mixture of furniture and tablecloths. Was it a pub, was it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SEAN B, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for such a kind review, we do try hard to please all our visiting guests , Lynne is extremely welcoming and does go that extra mile to make people enjoy their time with us. we did smile at the confused part, yes we are a Licensed Tearoom, we will be having signs in place soon plus we have had... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: Church Street, Kington HR5 3AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Inn Kington, England

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay