We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Hertingfordbury hotels

White Horse Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hertingfordbury Road | Hertford, Hertingfordbury SG14 2LB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added White Horse Hotel to your Saves list
White Horse Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mimidl Harefield, Middx
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    107
    32
    24
    11
See reviews for
45
97
2
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harefield, Middx
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked this hotel to have an afternoon tea at, because I had a Buy a Gift voucher that was due to expire. We got there and found there to be ample parking. The gentleman at the desk was busy with a couple, but after a little while was kind enough to explain to us where we needed to go.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWHHH, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, I am really pleased that you all enjoyed yourself so much. (by the way the waiter wont be in trouble for not charging the little one). I am encouraged that you appreciate both the venue and the content/quality of the afternoon tea. I do hope that you will... More

Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On Sunday 6th April I went to the White Horse Hotel for afternoon tea using a Group on offer for two people. It was extremely poor value even though it was two for one offer. The sandwiches were very minimal and cut really thin. When I asked if they would be replenished the answer was 'NO' The scones were obviously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWHHH, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry if you feel let down by the afternoon tea you had with us. I can only apologise that you were not happy with the 2 for £16.95 offer through groupon. As I was actually on the floor on the Sunday in question, I can remember just how busy we were with people taking both lunch and afternoon... More

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently had our wedding ceremony and reception at the White Horse in Hertingfordbury. The day was fantastic, the staff at the White Horse were friendly, welcoming and really helpful to us and all our guests. The whole day went perfectly and was well organised. The food was really good and the rooms were large and comfortable. We would definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMWHHH, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. It was a pleasure to host your day. Your review is very thankfully received. All the best to you both. More

london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I purchased a Groupon for 2 people which I used last week. It was easily the worst tea I have ever had. I didn't expect Claridges, but I assumed the plates would be clean and the food fresh. The sandwiches were made by a 3 year old, thick butter on uneven, cheap bread with mustard smeared everywhere including the plate.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMWHHH, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

I have read your review, and I'm not entirely sure that you had afternoon tea with us as your, comments do not in anyway describe the afternoon teas that we serve to literally hundreds of people every week. If we made a mistake I apologise, what a shame I wasn't given that opportunity at the time. I was interested by... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lovely room comfortable, big bed ,food was fantastic ,nice bar ,friendly helpful staff overall a lovely stay , I took my boyfriend there for his birthday as a surprise I hadn't been before but had read reveiws he really enjoyed and we will defiantly go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWHHH, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

"Fantastic" you can't get a better review than that can you. Hope we will see you again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Receptionist on Duty was a fellow South African and very helpful. There was a mix up with our reservation, but it was quickly sorted, with no further problems. The Hotel is charming and welcoming with a lovely wooden bar area and a roaring fireplace to sit in front of in the lounge. The rooms are a good size with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMWHHH, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

I'll let Maritsa how pleased you were, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. More

Voorschoten, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just a quick note to say how helpful Emily on Reception has been - I left a couple of bits accidentally behind after my recent stay and she very efficiently organised posting them to me in Holland. Nice place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMWHHH, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, I'lll pass on your kind comments to the receptionist. Glad you enjoyed your visit. More

hertford
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

over all a good one night stay. is a little dated. had to change rooms as the first one had no heating.kids running around in the bar area! had to be told. breakfast in room turned up 25mins late...(forgotten i think ) faulty towers comes to mind. but very clean and friendly tried hard to put things right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and did there best to help and accommodate our stay. The breakfast was very nice and hot , with a good choice to be had . The room was well equipped all be it a little dated but this added to the stay , modern isn't always the best The only thing that let... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWHHH, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments, I look forward to you coming to stay with us again, hopefully the floods will have gone away by then!! More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A lovely Hotel in a quiet area which is within a short drive to the centre of Hertford. Friendly staff, a suprisingly large comfortable room (no.19) and a pleasant reasonably priced restaurant made our short stay a relaxing experience. We upgraded our booking to include breakfast. The breakfast menu was extensive and there was something there to cater for all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWHHH, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much, really pleased you enjoyed your stay, come and see us again soon. More

Been to White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Hotel

Also Known As:
White Horse Hertingfordbury
White Horse Hotel Hertingfordbury
Address: Hertingfordbury Road | Hertford, Hertingfordbury SG14 2LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertingfordbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hertingfordbur...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 15th-century White Horse, Hertingfordbury, sits just outside the historic county town of Hertford. This coaching inn, provides great hospitality and accommodation. Newly refurbished the white horse offers great food and drink, relaxed causal surroundings and a warm welcome. The White Horse provides complementary WiFi, parking and is air conditioned throughout. Ideally located for visiting the numerous Hertfordshire’s sites such as Hatfield House, the Roman town of St. Albans, the Olympic Water park, Paradise Wildlife Park. We are in close proximity to Hertford, Hatfield, Welwyn Garden City and Stevenage. Central London (Kings Cross st. Pancras) is only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.