We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shendish Manor Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shendish Manor Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    223
    163
    67
    25
    24
See reviews for
83
185
9
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (502)
  • Mar-May only
    (150)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (105)
All months
USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed a couple of days recently at the Shendish for a family wedding and was quite impressed with the overall experience. Shendish sits on a beautiful area surrounded by large open green areas and a golf course. The service was attentive, the rooms spacious for an old hotel and the staff took care of our needs. The breakfast was quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a two night stay at the Hotel which included breakfast and we also ate in the restaurant on one evening. The hotel staff were very friendly and the room was a good size with comfortable beds. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast was a buffet, but contrary to other reviews, we found that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon arrival the check in lady was very nice and friendly. The room was like a sauna with a view overlooking the tradesmens' courtyard/entrance. The airco was noisy but worked but as soon as it was turned off it was like a sauna again! The bed was huge and comfy and the room was clean but you would expect something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked hotel for my sons birthday.when we arrived to place some balloons in the room the room was upgraded. On my sons arrival the room was further upgraded to a suite and the staff had transferred all of the balloons and presents to the new room. I have also used this hotel for entertaining and weekend drinks and food and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review

I hope your Son had a lovely birthday while staying with us. Thank you for posting this review and we hope to have you back here very soon. Kind regards James Barker Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our wedding night, one that should be remembered and that should be special. At the end of a very very long day after months of planning and having booked our rooms well in advance, upon our arrival we had to wait around for what seemed like an eternity to be checked in. We were not happy to say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Superlatively1>>>> Thank you for your patience whilst I have looked into your complaint>> in detail.>>>> Firstly I am very sorry that you have left Shendish Manor>> dissatisfied from your stay with us. As I say I have looked into this>> in detail and I'd like to respond to some of your comments.... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is situated in very nice grounds with beautiful garden areas and a golf course and the older part of the building is very beautiful. However, once you get off the grounds the location isn't that great. The hotel has nothing much to offer in its immediate surroundings. Its a couple of miles outside Hemmel Hampstead (so the town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At the time of booking we were quoted 1 price but the price was increased when we received The confirmation and sent it back due to an error written by the manor. But the manor would not budge on the price despite their mistake in writing the confirmation. Location wise this was an easy drive from North London. There were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax
Level Contributor
187 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with a party of 9 (work). Beautiful grounds and very relaxing. The room was adequate, absolutely no grumbles and the restaurant was also very good. Hard to believe how close to centre London you really are. Definitely would visit again next time I was down here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
shendishmanager, Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review

I’m glad to hear you had such a relaxing stay with us and you enjoyed the hotel and surroundings. Thank you for posting this positive review and we hope to welcome you back to Shendish Manor in the near future. Regards James Barker Hotel Manager More 

scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son bought us a gift to go to this hotel through booking .com, so this trip was all paid for up front, we arrived at the hotel tuesday 7th july we went to reception to book in, the hotel staff asked for my bank card to pay for my stay, I replied by saying my son has paid for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MabonScotland I’m sorry if there has been any confusion with your billing. When you make a reservation via an online booking website such as booking.com we do not take payment upfront. At the time of booking you have to enter in your credit card details to secure your booking. We will only take payment on check out of your... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I choose the hotel for my wife and friends for a two night stay as we were booked in to go to the local Harry Potter Studio tour. The hotel lies in its own grounds/golf course. On our arrival we realised that two weddings were booked for that weekend. This did not detract from our stay although on the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you HeroSurrey for this lovely review. It’s great to hear you all had good time staying with us and enjoyed all the hotel has to offer. I’m sorry if Kitchen ran out of vegetables, this is very abnormal as we have fresh produce delivered daily. I will inform my Head Chef of this. I look forward to hosting your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
De Vere Venues Hunton Park
De Vere Venues Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
5.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Pendley Manor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tring
3.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay