We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    179
    184
    61
    18
    3
See reviews for
151
100
27
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (445)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was good, although the bed was not as large as found in other budget hotels (no names, Sir Lenny). Location was good, as the hotel was just across the road from Apsley station - we went into London for the evening. Breakfast was excellent...and free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really good quality hotel, the room itself was immaculate and well decorated, no faults and a well functioning air con which was needed due to how hot it was! You really couldn't fault the room. The breakfast had a good variety and the staff was more than helpful. Overall, this is a well positioned hotel just outside of London especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Doors are noisy, carpet in my room was stained and ugly and had a connecting door between rooms. Holiday Inn Express is basic at best but there are variations on that theme. Of course breakfast is included, but I've never worked out why there is always Sausage, Eggs, Beans but never bacon. Ate once in the hotel, fish and chips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duty M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I was disappointed to read that the room and meal you had while you stayed here were not up to your standard. Our included breakfast consists of a continental breakfast with 3 hot items of Scrambled egg, Sausages and beans. Our sister hotel the Holiday Inn has a... More 

Bury, manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel as part of break for the Harry Potter tour. The rooms are nice and large and well maintained - try to get a canal side one - we had a road facing but didn't really notice the noise. There is a pub next to it and an Indian, Italian and for those of that persuasion a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to hear you were able to explore the local area, visit Harry Potter and take a trip into London. We are extremely lucky to be situated on the canal and I am pleased to read you were able to walk along here... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a room with a view of the canal, room was lovely and clean. The only downside was the breakfast, fine if you just want some cereal and toast but if your looking for a cooked breakfast then don't come here as that was awful. But then again it is free..

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your lovely feedback and comments regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your room with a view of the canal and thank you also for your comments regarding our breakfast. I do hope that it gave you a good start to the day. Hopefully we can welcome you... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here on the 13/6/15. The two ladies on reception (Charlotte and Chelsea) were fantastic. Very chatty and bubbly while at the same time very professional. They were very busy with a lot of people checking in at the same time but still managed to pour me a pint of Becks without me having to wait!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your lovely comments and review left about your stay last week. I am so pleased to read such lovely comments about Chelsea and Charlotte and I know they are extremely pleased also. We are all very pleased you had a good stay and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here when we visited Harry Potter studio tour. We were very impressed with the staff and in particular a chap called Tom. He was very helpful and a credit to Holiday Inn. The room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was good and I would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SuzannahR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your lovely 5* review of your recent stay with us, it is always so pleasing to read when our guests have a lovely time. It really does make our day and job feel worthwhile. Tom has been rewarded for your lovely comments about him and he was so pleased to receive these, thank... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved our two night stay here. Relaxed atmosphere, polite and friendly staff, and comfortable room. Not one of the newer refurbished ones, but clean and stylish all the same. Great range of choices for breakfast. Large free carpark and an in-house Starbucks were welcome. An added bonus was an M&S Food shop in the petrol station next store! Only niggle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SuzannahR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review. I believe from reading about the facilities of the hotel you stayed in you may have stayed at Holiday Inn rather than Holiday Inn Express to which this review has been posted to? Kind regards, Suzannah Richardson General Manager Holiday Inn Express More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We arrived very early in the morning with the intention of dropping off bags before heading to Harry Potter World for the morning and London for the afternoon, with the kids. The fellow on the counter could not have been more welcoming and helpful. He went out of his way to see if he could make a room available and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duty M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your 5* review regarding your recent stay, it is always great to read that our staff made such a big impression on our guests, and be assured that Ron and the other team member will be rewarded for your amazing comments. I was so pleased to read that you found us to be of better... More 

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

We needed a comfortable transit stop after landing at Heathrow. This place is ideally located near the M1 motorway and very competitively priced too. The room was modern and wifi was good. Breakfast was excellent too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duty M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your 5* review, I was pleased to read that we were a perfect stopover for your trip and that you found us to be competitively priced. I was so happy to see that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that the WIFI and room were modern and good. I do hope that if you stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay