We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    196
    196
    66
    19
    3
See reviews for
167
106
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (480)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (158)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed one night 30th to 31st Aug. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Would definitely use again as perfect for jumping on a train straight into London. Breakfast was good as well. Decent buffet selection. Kids enjoyed the stay. Thought it was a fab adventure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a wedding in the nearby area. The room was clean, quiet, bathroom was spotless and the bed super comfy. I used the air con due to the warmth and the busy road out front which worked great, slept like a log. Breakfast was good and the staff friendly. It's basic but very good, would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had an extended stay at this hotel. Although I cannot give the hotel much credit as being a very nice place to stay, as a result of my lengthy stay, I did get the opportunity to know a few of the staff and they did everything possible to make my stay as pleasant as possible. If you have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review and may I apologise that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I am also sorry to read that you found the rooms to be small and the breakfast not to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on offering our guests a comfortable stay with an inclusive breakfast so may I apoloise... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Was staying there to visit my family spread around Hemel. I was politely greeted by the Manager Martin and as I was a bit early he very quickly found a room for me offering a drink on the hotel whilst I had to wait for literally 4 minutes. What a professional approach. He explained to me hotel amenities, breakfast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and review about your recent stay. It is always so lovely to read when the staff are mentioned by our guests, this really does mean a lot to them and I know Martin & Charlotte will be so pleased to see your feedback. Comments such as yours really do make our day so thank... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Well located, near the Universal studios- Harry Potter, Hotel rooms abd beds are relatively small, but this is only the HI Express. Room was recently renovated, which is good. Breakfast was bad. Many people, lack of food, standing in line for food isn't fun, and . what you get eventually is not much AT ALL. Good free parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be conveniently located and value for money for your trip to the Harry Potter Studio Tour. I am sorry to hear that your breakfast experience was not a great one. The breakfast area has been... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall a pleasant place to stay. Very much a corporate hotel with the usual facilities.Breakfast was average but lacking imagination. Clean, comfortable and does what it should. They advertise free parking but be aware it's been farmed out to a PARKING COMPANY. Enter your reg correctly or risk a hefty charge. Watch the exit, it's guarded by tyre laceration device.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review. I am pleased to read you had a pleasant stay and that as a Holiday Inn Express we met all the expectations of the brand. Thank you also for your comments regarding parking, due to our car park not being very large and situated next to the train station we have had to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night while visiting friends and was pleasantly surprised. There was free parking and the room was definitely one step up from basic with a comfortable bed, few wifi, tv & coffee, etc. The breakfast in the morning was fairly standard, nothing to write home about, but was included in the room price. Perhaps the biggest bonus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and may I say how pleased I am to read that we exceeded your expectations. We are set in a lovely location and it always makes me happy to read when our guests have had the time to walk along the canal and enjoy the views as... More 

Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here while we had a short break for our wedding anniversary. To be honest, Hemel did not give us great expectations, but it was cheap at the time we wanted. Delighted to say it was brilliant. Lovely location by the canal, restaurants within easy walking distance, as was train station for London. Fresh, clean interior (apparently due for an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your lovely 5* star of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations and I am so pleased to read you had a lovely Anniversary. We do hope that when you are in the area again you will come and stay with us where we... More 

West Stockwith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for one night after visiting Harry Potter studios. Rooms clean , beds comfy clean sheets etc. no complaints. The problem we had was with parking. Got a space no problems when we arrived. Decided to go to supermarket at 7.00 to get some supplies. When leaving the space we were nearly rammed by a woman determined to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you also for your lovely feedback about the rooms and hotel in general and I am sorry to hear about the issue you had with car parking. The hotel's car park is limited in spaces and does work on a first come firsty... More 

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few days but were not happy with the free breakfast. We paid around £73 per night. Our room hadnt been cleaned properly and I had to mention this to the cleaners because we were there for a few days ( 4 nights ) and all they had done was just turned the sheets. The maid did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for you review. It is always disappointing to read when a guest has had a disappointing stay so please be rest assured that we do take all feedback very seriously so that we can learn and improve from this. I have fed back your comments to the hotel team and housekeeping department and I know they... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very clean(5)
  • Sofa bed(4)
  • Car park(3)
  • Train station(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay