We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8
Add Your Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    144
    44
    18
    15
See reviews for
123
56
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (359)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel was clean and room was clean but fridge was a awful smell staff was terrible there were so cheeky and prices at the bar were not cheap the Hotel at night was poor bcause there's no entertainment and food was awful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations and for this I apologise. This is not our normal high standard of service that we offer all our guests. If you wish to discuss further please contact me via the hotel number and I can reassure... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the holiday inn hemel hempstead overnight as we were going to Harry Potter world. The hotel is very clean the rooms are light and airy. towels are soft and fluffy and when I rang reception to ask for a shower cap it was delivered within five mins. The only down side is the restaurant. The are just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased you found the hotel to your expectations but that you were disappointed with the food in our restaurant. This is not our normal high standards and for this I apologise. If you wish to discuss further please contact me via the hotel direct number. I trust this will... More 

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't have anything negative to say about this hotel at all! Everything from the warm welcome we received at reception, the décor and decent sized clean room, was all wonderful. In comparison to the Holiday inn express, the Holiday inn's brand standards do allow cooked breakfasts and therefore we were greeted with a lovely variety of choice for breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Dear Roseanna C, thank you for your feedback after your recent stay, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and gave us 5*s. It is great to receive positive comments from our guests and our staff take pride in their hotel which is reflected by all the feedback. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.... More 

Chania Town, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was clean, and the staff was friendly. The food was... the only thing that´s keeping them from reaching a 5 star review. I chose to upgrade to a superior room, which i didn´t regret. The beds were really comfy, and the surroundings were calm and quiet. I´d stay here again if needed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Dear PeterR7, thank you for your review after your recent stay. I am pleased that we met your expectations but sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food. This is not our normal high standards and trust that this will not prevent you from returning so we can restore your faith in our hotel. Kind regards Steven Coulam General... More 

Sheffield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed overnight at the Hemel Holiday Inn and was really pleased with our choice. Thanks to previous TripAdvisor reviews we thought we'd give it a try as it had a good rating. We were a family of 4 with older lads ao we wanted use of gym and swim. The facilities were ok with a reasonable sized gym with 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Dear baird29, Thank you for a great rview after your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you and family enjoyed the time at the hotel and found everything to your satisfaction. We are proving very popular with visitors to Harry Potter Studios due to our location. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.... More 

Ruthin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here for a weekend to allow us to visit the Harry Potter tour and nip into London. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The room was adequate - not the most comfy bed, pillows or duvet that we have ever had but we all slept well and despite having a room at the beginning of the corridor there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review after your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and you were looked after well. We do receive many great comments regarding our staff and our friendliness which we are very proud of. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Steven Coulam General Manager More 

Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here many times , most recently Feb. 2015 . Hard working and polite staff regardless of job title . We ate breakfast twice , four adults and 2 toddlers who all found it excellent as usual . Having family in the area we didn't eat in the evening but there was a three course cavery meal on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Dear sandwich Dave, thank you for a great 4* Review after your recent stay in February. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and that all the teams looked after you well. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Steven Coulam General Manager More 

Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights this week (work related). Check in & out were quick, easy & friendly. Evening meal choices excellent and substantial, breakfast also excellent. I am back in the area next week and have asked my company to book me accommodation again at this hotel (which they have)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Dear Karen NM24, thank you for your great comments after your recent stay. I am pleased that we met your expectations and that you will be returning this week. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Steven Coulam General Manager More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night recently and was blown away. Wasn't expecting a great deal in all honestly, but the staff were amazing - so friendly and helpful. They actually seemed like they cared and not just fulfilling a role. The room was great. Large enough for the family and really clean. The kids especially loved their beds! The leisure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Dear Eddie J, thank you for a great 5* review after your recent stay, I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you were well looked after by the teams. All staff do take pride in the hotel and their work which is obviously recognised by the guests. We hope that we can welcome you back... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Stayed here with my partner for one night, after visiting Watford. Room was very clean, and more than I was expecting. Freeview tv, shower and bath, settee in room, fridge and trouser press. More than I bargained for, considering the price! Had free unlimited access to the gym and pool, including jacuzzi and steam room, and were given fresh towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Thank you for your great 5* review after your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and that our teams looked after you well. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Steven Coulam General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question