We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    150
    44
    18
    15
See reviews for
126
58
21
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (367)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Used to stay here a lot but it was going down hill both in food and service, I am pleased to say that both have improved vastly. The hotel itself is very well positioned for commuters. Whilst it does need some decor refurbishment it is clean! The food has hugely improved both in choice and taste. Also so glad that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Dear Suggs1977, thank you for your 4* review after a recent stay. I am pleased to read that you are finding your stays with us vastly improved and that the teams look after you well especially Dylan. We are undergoing some updating throughout the hotel so hopefully you will also see the difference in that area too. We look forward... More 

Derby
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've moved in to this hotel from the Holiday Inn Express in the same town. So clearly the standard and the quality of the hotel is higher. I'm only one week in staying but initial observations are this. Reception: Staff are friendly and efficient. You walk in to a nice area that is the bar and the diner all in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4* review after your stay with us. I am pleased to read your feedback and that we met your expectations and our teams looked after you well. We are proving very popular with guests visiting Harry Potter due to our convenient location. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Steven Coulam General Manager More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ideal place for visiting some of the local attractions such as the Paradise wildlife park. Rooms were clean and a great breakfast. Staff were particularly good - very friendly and helpful. Swimming pool was great too and the sauna/steam room was a nice bonus. Our evening meal was tasty but £17 for a veggie burger with cheese and guacamole was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4* review after your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you found everything to your expectations and that the teams looked after you well. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Steven Coulam General Manager More 

Oxford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must be one of the minority of guests staying who isn't visiting the Harry Potter Studios judging from the reviews! The Good: - Ample and free parking - Nice welcome upon arrival and polite staff throughout - Quiet room on the second floor which was clean and overlooking the car park, so no problems with noise - Sky Sports... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4* review after your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that we met most of your expectations but apologise for the shortage of Bombardier which will be investigated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Steven Coulam General Manager More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night as part of a national holidays trip. Our room was lovely and clean and great value for what we had paid. The food was also lovely, we had both an evening meal and a breakfast which was fab. The staff in the food area are amazing, they couldn't do enough for us and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Dear terrilee b, thank you for a great review after your short stay with us. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you found all the teams welcoming and helpful. We hope that you will visit us again, perhaps for a longer stay! Kind regards Steven Coulam General Manager More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean and friendly place for a stop-over. Only stayed for one night following a friend's birthday party but had full use of all the facilities which were excellent. Use of swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room made for a very relaxing weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Dear jenziebobbs, thank you for a great 4* review after your recent stay. I am pleased to see that we met your expectations and that you were well looked after by our staff. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Steven Coulam General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here as a family to go to the Harry Potter Studios & for a sightseeing day in London. Found Hotel on the Internet, it looked lovely & when we arrived we weren't disappointed. Very easy to find from the motorway, clean, very friendly helpful staff, food was nice, room spacious & comfy although we did have to ask for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Thank you for a great 5* review after your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that we met your expectations and that the staff looked after you well. We are proving very popular with visitors to Harry Potter as we are so conveniently located. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Steven Coulam General... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we were attending a party there. Two adults, one child. Car park was really busy but we got parked ok. Location extremely convenient as just off M1. Next door to petrol garage with shop. Got allocated a room on the lower ground which we weren't thrilled with, especially as it was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Dear kriggie1, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed the party too. We hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Steven Coulam General Manager More 

Renfrew, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was clean and room was clean but fridge was a awful smell staff was terrible there were so cheeky and prices at the bar were not cheap the Hotel at night was poor bcause there's no entertainment and food was awful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations and for this I apologise. This is not our normal high standard of service that we offer all our guests. If you wish to discuss further please contact me via the hotel number and I can reassure... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the holiday inn hemel hempstead overnight as we were going to Harry Potter world. The hotel is very clean the rooms are light and airy. towels are soft and fluffy and when I rang reception to ask for a shower cap it was delivered within five mins. The only down side is the restaurant. The are just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased you found the hotel to your expectations but that you were disappointed with the food in our restaurant. This is not our normal high standards and for this I apologise. If you wish to discuss further please contact me via the hotel direct number. I trust this will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question