We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Master Builder's House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Bucklers Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
Hotel amenities
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
BertheUK UK
Add Photo Write a Review

613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    238
    188
    118
    48
    21
See reviews for
79
429
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (613)
  • Mar-May only
    (163)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (140)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (137)
All months
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location of this hotel is beautiful, add in a lot of history and it should be a recipe for a delightful experience. We arrived to find we had been allocated a double in the old part of the building, right at the top. It was a 'snug' room with low ceilings and the bath only had a hand held... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

As a surprise for me my husband had booked and planned a 9 day holiday for us both and this hotel was the first stop of my mystery break, but oh what a lovely start. Our room was very pleasant and welcoming and the weather great. Before dinner we took ourselves off to do the walk to Beaulieu, very recommended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location of the Master Builder's Hotel is fabulous, with a wonderful view from the main buildings' bedrooms. We had originally booked a classic room which we found to be a double storey block opposite the car park. My heart sunk when we arrived to see towels hanging out of open windows and a general run down look about this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although the hotel is famous for its old world charm it was disappointing to arrive with relatives from Australia at 10 am for breakfast only to be told they stopped serving at 10 am! The small bar which provides coffee and scones or muffins ( wonderful selection !) couldn't serve us until 10.39 am! I really wanted my cousins to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not able to get breakfast at the hotel. We are usually pretty flexible at breakfast, because a lot of our guests enjoy a lie in and come down late. Just to clarify the hotel service times, The Riverview Restaurant is open for breakfast from 8-10:00; lunch from 12 to... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is no doubt that the hotel and surroundings are unique and on the face of it; everything would seem at least 'good' if not 'outstanding' in tripadvisor terms. However, inflexibility in the restaurant, despite pre-written requests, spoiled a special day. What came out of the kitchen was well presented and well cooked; it just was not what was ordered.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your special requests were not delivered, but I am pleased to read that the meal and service were good on the day. I do hope you manage a return visit when we can make sure things are spot on. More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 1 night in a basic room as a treat after our camping holiday in the West Country. We paid a lower rate as it was a last minute booking special on the website. The location and history of the hotel are great. The room was clean, nice décor and comfy bed, great selection of tea and coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am glad you enjoyed your meal in the Yachtsman's Pub and breakfast the following morning. Hopefully we will see you again when you have more time to enjoy more of the local attractions. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for one night on a short break, having seen it recommended. The main hotel areas are pleasant and the bar food very good for lunch. We enjoyed a really fantastic dinner on the restaurant terrace, watching the sun go down over the harbour. Really attentive service, imaginative menu. The only slight disappointment was our bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Dinner on the restaurant terrace is quite a treat. Next time you are staying with us just ask for a fan as we have a number of them for those long hot nights. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was small but adequate. Cleanliness was only average. Bed comfortable. Decor very dark. Breakfast was good, although it was a lottery as to whether eggs were cooked hard or soft - I got one of each one morning!We ate in the bar once - I have reviewed this separately so as not to lower the rating of the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed in aspects of your stay. Your comments have been noted, and hopefully we will see you back to see the improvements. More 

hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were guess at a recent wedding and the whole operation was excellent. Staff were very pleasant and in attendance but everything was very relaxed, matching the guests. The food was of high quality and could not be faulted. The location is of course stunning, a historic place too, all on the Beaulieu river, one of Hampshire's finest. Definitely a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review of your wedding stop over. We do hope you can make it back for a short break later in the year. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited the Madter Builders Hotel at Bucklers Hard every September for the last few years as we visit the Southampton Boat Show. It is a nice quiet hotel full of historic charm. The restaurant, although on the small side, serves locally sourced produce and has a nice variety. When booking a room I advise asking to be in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It means a lot to us that such a regular visitor appreciates what we have to offer. See you back in September. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
1.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 12 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#3 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#2 of 6 in Lymington
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
9.0 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rhinefield House
Rhinefield House
#6 of 12 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay