We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Whiteley hotels

Solent Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rookery Avenue, Whiteley, Fareham PO15 7AJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Solent Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Solent Hotel & Spa
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Whiteley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
RMAllen42 Colchester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (395)
  • Photos (59)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    117
    51
    15
    11
See reviews for
108
109
13
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were bumped from the Holiday Inn in Fareham despite having a booking, but they booked us in here. The staff were very friendly & helpful considering the very short notice. In the morning went for a swim in the pool, which was lovely & warm, very clean, the jacuzzi was great too, very relaxing. Breakfast was good, plenty of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked two family rooms for a weekend trip with family. Our rooms were ready on arrival and the children were thrilled with their cookies and bathrobes when they got to the rooms! Breakfast was lovely and we ate in the hotel on both mornings - the staff and service was consistent over the whole weekend, from the housekeepers to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted to read your family had an enjoyable and relaxing break here at the Hotel. The small touches we offer our little v.i.p.s are a Shire Hotels standard, so I am pleased your children enjoyed these. We believe we offer a very good breakfast food and service experience, so I am... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night so we could visit Peppa Pig World for my daughters 3rd Birthday. The reception staff were fab with our children as we arrived at the hotel asking them about their first day at Peppa Pig and showing them lots of attention. They were also welcomed with chocolate bars, cookies and a birthday card for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us as part of your Peppa Pig World break, and you welcomed the small details we provide for our little v.i.p's. It is our dining policy for families dining with small children in the Hotel to eat with us earlier, and we also... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel looks lovely and staff are friendly. It is clean and tidy but our group booking was thwarted with problems. We hadn't been advised that the sauna was out of use; items charged to our accounts that were not ours; kept waiting for unreasonable amount of time for breakfast when the table could visibly be seen to be empty the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your trip advisor review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the Hotel and our facilities, and found all staff friendly and hospitable. I am aware you met my Operations Manager when you stayed at the Hotel to discuss your feedback from your group. I am sorry that the Sauna was out of order when you arrived... More

Baldock, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I just took our 15month old down to Southampton for a friend's wedding. We stayed two nights at the Solent hotel and spa and I have to say it was wonderful. When we got into the room, there was a cookie with my son's name on it as well as some chocolate and a juice box. How... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted to learn you had an relaxing and enjoyable family stay and welcomed the small details we deliver for all our guests. I am pleased you found our facilities, service and hospitality to you liking, and I will pass on your kind comments regarding our staff. We do hope that you... More

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The 1st thing that impressed me with this hotel was how helpful the staff were at reservations, we had initially booked a night stay for coming home from France after a weeks holiday, only due to problems in France, we found that we was coming home 6 days earlier then planned. Anyway, reservations went beyond my expectations in sorting the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind feedback. I am delighted to read my team have looked after your family so well, and I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am also very pleased to read you have now booked to return at Christmas - we look forward to hosting you over this special time of year.... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on Saturday afternoon for our 3night stay. We were made so welcome and our rooms were first class. The staff were very friendly all around. Our meals in the restaurant were delicious and what a lovely menu to choose from. All three of us were not disappointed with the choice. We all enjoyed our three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your praising and kind review. I am delighted to read you had a very enjoyable and relaxing three night stay with your friends, with us. I shall pass on your feedback to all my team who will be very pleased to read we have looked after you so well. I look forward to seeing you return again... More

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visiting friends who were celebrating a 50th Birthday, we chose the Solent as I had staying in a Shire Group hotel in Bristol and liked it. Just off the M27, this 4 star hotel was full and busy when we arrived, thanks to two large wedding parties. Despite the number of guests, the place seemed well organised and our welcome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to read you already use Shire Hotels, and enjoyed your stay with us. We provide fresh milk and bottled mineral water in all our guest bedrooms, as part of our 'small details, big difference' standards across all our Hotels, so I am delighted you appreciated this. I am sorry you did... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last night to celebrate my husbands birthday. We booked an incredible package called "girls night out" which although not girls the inclusions were too good to refuse. As busy working parents, it's once to have everything wrapped up for you in advance. We had a lovely room, large and comfortable. View was not good, as straight into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank your for your kind and praising review. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay to celebrate your husband's birthday. Our 'Girls Night In' packages are very popular and I am pleased you had an excellent evening meal also. I do hope we can be welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Steve Woodrow, General... More

Versonnex, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant enough, but the room we had was in need of redecorating (chipped paintwork and a general feeling of tiredness). For the price, one is entitled to expect rather more. The spa was pleasant, though it would have been nice if costumes had been optional in the sauna rather than compulsory, breakfast average, staff friendly and competent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SolentHotel, Steve Woodrow - General Manager at Solent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you had a comfortable stay with us and your kind words regarding our staff I will pass onto all of the team. We have undertaken refurbishment of bedrooms, our ground floor lounge and lobby areas recently, and we have a regular and planned maintenance programme in place within the hotel, however... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Solent Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Solent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solent Hotel & Spa

Address: Rookery Avenue, Whiteley, Fareham PO15 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham > Whiteley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solent Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Solent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solent Hotel And Spa
Solent Hotel Whiteley
Solent Hotel & Spa Whiteley, UK - Fareham

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The luxurious 4 star Solent Hotel and Spa nestles in acres of glorious Hampshire woodland and provides a haven of peace and tranquillity for both business and leisure guests. Located just minutes from Junction 9 of the M27 motorway, the Hotel is midway between Southampton and Portsmouth, and less than thirty minutes from the New Forest. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
270

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;