We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Rate this Hotel

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    101
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
85
125
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (345)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived to see construction works that we hadn’t been warned about, every weekday from 8.30a.m. At reception we weren’t acknowledged by either staff member until one barked “Yes?” at us. The double bed we’d requested was two singles pushed together, and I spent the first night trying not to fall down the gap in the middle. The water on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Sir First and foremost, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. In response to your review I would like to make the following comments. The construction work you mention has been hidden from view by a cleverly constructed and decorated hoarding to minimise the inconvenience to our guests. Your arrival on Friday for... More 

Winchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We celebrated our anniversary in style! We were able to enjoy fabulous, locally sourced and wonderfully produced food and drink in a relaxed environment on Saturday evening. Thank you for making our evening out special, relaxing and for the opportunities to try out different foods (in particular cheeses) that we wouldn't normally have tried.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary! Delighted you had a good evening and sampled our wonderful cheese selection. Best wishes. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel uses old and new architecture to remind us of the old days. Excellent staff and very pleasant to interact with. Heating was good to keep you warm. Overall the charm of the hotel was excellect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the ambience of the hotel. Hopefully you will make a return visit in the near future. Best wishes More 

Wiltshire UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night at the White Horse while we explored Romsey. It is an old hotel (C.1500) which is being very stylishly modernised, without losing its charm. Reception was warm friendly and efficient, with Sophia offering to carry our bags! Our room was modest in size but clean and modern and had a very smart new bathroom. Unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for such a complimentary review. As I have stated on many of my responses my team are a pleasure to work with and are genuinely happy to work in such a lovely environment. We look forward to your return visit - maybe for longer! Best wishes More 

Chandler's Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Five of us ate at the White Horse on the 15th March. We had a lovely meal all beautifully cooked and served in the Brasserie. We had a round table in the corner. The lunch was accompanied by an excellent pianist who played a variety of music at a volume that still allowed comfortable conversation. This is our third visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We have had many compliments regarding Mother's Day and although it was a busy day for us it all ran very smoothly. The pianist was superb and added to the relaxed ambience of the day. We have invited him to play on Mother's Day 2016! We thank you for your continued support. Best... More 

Stevenage
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our daughter gave us a joint Mother's Day/Father's Day gift of a night at this hotel. Very very nice. Our room was what I would term as mid sized but lacked nothing, including a lovely shower room. It was called Aldaniti rather than a number and was on second floor with several flights of stairs but very quiet. Our dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. A lovely gift indeed and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately due to Grade 2 restrictions on the age of the building we were unable to install a lift during renovation but we do have first floor rooms which are more accessible should the stairs prove to much of a challenge.... More 

Beaminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very convenient for the centre of Romsey. The room was comfortable and clean, although it would have been even better if the heating could have been controlled. The evening meals were very good. All the staff were pleasant, friendly, smiling and helpful .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your personal recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes. More 

Alresford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I came to dinner with you on Saturday night- the restaurant was busy but not overly crowded- food was lovely but service was terrible- We were seated promptly and our drinks order was taken- 15 minutes later our WATER arrived! When our order was finally taken the food did arrive in reasonable time- however, once we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Guest I have responded to you personally regarding your complaint. Best wishes More 

UK
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a weekend here in January to attend a wedding. They offered us a package which included one dinner, and two nights b&b. The room we had could do with a refurb but was comfortable enough. Where this place really scores is the staff, and the restaurant. Firstly the staff who are just so helpful, nothing is too much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. The team at the hotel are consistently helpful, polite and professional and are a great pleasure to work with. I am glad you found this to be the case. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of the hotel rooms, most of the bathrooms have been retiled and an... More 

Portchester, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited here as the second of my Christmas works outing. This place is amazing. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming, staff were smiling and the bar was well staffed. The food was luxurious! The starter, main and dessert were fantastically cooked and left all members of the party feeling very full and contented. One main point about this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Christmas does seem a while ago now but I am delighted that you all enjoyed your works do and hope you will be returning this year. Best wishes More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (36)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question