We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Add Photo

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    214
    112
    29
    16
    11
See reviews for
95
133
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (382)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went for a cream tea as a treat , well attended too. Had a corner table to ourselves, never went short of food or drink supplied to your personal taste requirements . All staff and those we came in contact with were most presant and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The White Horse is a former coaching inn located in the centre of the picturesque town of Romsey. A business colleague and I had dinner together in the Brasserie, selecting from the set menu. The food was well presented and of a high standard -although portions were a bit small. The service was good without being intrusive. The White Horse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the set menu and had to order extra vegetables as the main courses are so small.My sauté potatoes were very hard athe portion of fish was only about 4oz.The bake well tart was unpleasantly underdone and the syllabub was more like a posset.Service was very good but we could have had a much better meal elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a two night stay which was lovely and good value for money. My only criticism has to do with a complicated billing system. We were potentially over charge by £80 and it took some time and effort to resolve it. There was also no apology. The waiting staff are done if the best. They should really think about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. My sincerest apologies for the overcharge on your account at checkout. I can assure it was totally unintentional and once we had indentified the mistake your account was immediatley rectified. Best wishes More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another pleasant evening at the White Horse but sorry to see that the monthly set menu has gone up in price. I know what the response will be but what was an affordable monthly night out has just tipped over the £25.00 mark (per person) for what is a small, though lovely meal. Unfortunately we will be trying a different... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear guest I am pleased to read you had another enjoyable evening however it upsets me that you will not be returning. As you mentioned the 2 & 3 course menu has been increased but only to accommodate our rising costs and the increase has been kept to £1.00 . I still believe that £18.50 for a three course meal... More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A girlfriend who lives in Wiltshire suggested that as we never have long enough to catch up over a lunch, we should treat ourselves to an overnight stay somewhere so we could talk to our hearts' content over a lunch, dinner and breakfast. Romsey looked a super place to do just this, positioned as it is about halfway between our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your delightful review. I am only too pleased to see that what we set out to achieve for each and everyone of our guests was graciously received by yourselves. We very much look forward to your return visit. Best wishes More 

Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughters and I celebrated my birthday here yesterday. All the staff were exceptional and looked after us so well. The food was well presented and very tasty. The decor and surroundings were beautiful. A lovely place and we shall definitely go there again. Thank you to everyone

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your complimentary review. I am delighted you enjoyed your celebratory lunch and very much hope you will visit us again soon. Best wishes. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently had a lovely impromptu lunch in the bar area with my family. The food was lovely and the atmosphere/interior great but what really stood out was the excellent, knowledgable staff who were very friendly and attentive to all members of our family. Thank you and keep doing what you are doing!!! We will defiantly be back😎

Was this review helpful? Yes
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your very complimentary review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent visit and were well looked after by my excellent team. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes More 

Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My brother and I got together with our mum on her 80th birthday for a very rare family special occasion, with me flying from Scotland to surprise her. The restaurant team were wonderful and surprised her with a little Happy Birthday treat complete with candle and singsong! The food was exceptionally good and they even provided a starter not on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your complimentary review. What a wonderful surprise for your mother on such a special day! I am delighted that you were so well looked after by my team who are very professional yet discreet and great to work with! Happy memories for you all. Your comments regarding signage will be taken on board - thank... More 

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There were eight of us for a birthday lunch which was much enjoyed by us all. The service was good and the ambiance of the Brasserie just right. The food was presented well and tasted jus as good as it looked. We shall return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WHR1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your celebratory lunch at the hotel and I very much hope you will return soon. Best wishes More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay